People Are Who They Are!

How often do you speak to your parents on the telephone?

Oh how I wish I could still speak to my mother on the telephone.  When she was alive, I talked to my mother on the phone every day.  She was my best friend.  I know a lot of people say that, but I mean it with all my heart.  When I was a young teenager, my mother was divorced with five kids.  I was the middle child.  My older brother and sister had both gotten into drugs and my mother was frustrated.  She told me one day that it didn't matter what I did, she would love me.  She said just please tell me the truth. I can handle it.  And so I did.  From that day on, I told her everything I did, or had done, or was going to do.  And she kept her word. She loved me unconditionally no matter what I did throughout my life.

One of the funniest things she ever did to me, was with a phone call one day.  Her birthday had been a few days earlier and I had taken her shopping.  My mother never had much and my husband and I were doing pretty good financially.  I took her out to different stores all day.  "Do you like this mom?"  I would say.  "No, not really."  or "No, I don't really need that." she would say.

After an unsuccessful day, we headed home.  My mother loved to work in the yard.  She always had a small greenhouse and loved her flowers.  On the way home, we passed a place that sold concrete statues for the yard.  They had birdbaths and tables and benches and all kinds of animals made out of concrete.  Mother had shown an interest when we went by there on the way out shopping, so I pulled in there on the way home.  We walked around and looked and the only thing that really seemed to catch her eye was a deer way over in the corner.  We walked over and looked at it and I asked her, "mother, do you want that deer?"  "Oh no" she said, "I just thought it was pretty.  I'm sure it's way to expensive anyway."  "Ok." I told her, and we got in the car and I took her home.

As soon as I dropped her off, I went back to the concrete place and picked out the male and female deer and asked the man to deliver it to her house.  She called me later ecstatic!  She was thrilled with her deer and placed them beautifully in the middle of her biggest flower bed in the front yard.  I was happy with myself.

A few days later, before I could call her one morning (which I did every morning), she called me.  She sounded almost panicked and said, "You've got to get over here."  I said "Is anything wrong?"  "No" she said "Just hurry up and get over here."  I told her I would and hung up the phone.

When I got there, I could tell she was excited about something.  "Come on." she said.  "I've got something to show you!".  She took me by the hand and literally drug me out to the flower bed where her deer were. "Look!" she said, giggling with a little girl giggle that I rarely saw from her.  "My deer had a baby last night!".  She was so tickled with herself, I saw the tears running down her cheeks.  She had gone the day before and bought the baby deer that went with the set.  We both laughed until we cried and I cry now to tell the story.  That was my mother.  Quietly funny.  She had to have been beside herself all night waiting to "get me" the next morning.

For months after she died, I would get my cup of coffee in the morning and reach for the phone. When reality hit, I would cry, morning after morning.  I miss her terrible!

Don't miss your phone calls to your mom. They are priceless to say the least.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

5 responses

  1. wonderful and sadI hope you have the deer in your yard now:-)

    February 7, 2010 at 11:40 am

  2. Thank you. They are actually in a nice serene little setting in my sisters yard. You walk back through the woods and come to a little clearing. There is peace and quiet, a nice wooden swing, and the deer. Our place to remember our mother. Though it does bring tears, because we miss her so much, it's actually a very happy little place to go.

    February 7, 2010 at 11:56 am

  3. What a lovely story – I think although it is bittersweet, it must be a nice memory for you .

    February 13, 2010 at 3:18 pm

  4. Thank you Emjay. It is a very nice memory.

    February 13, 2010 at 8:47 pm

  5. Okay. This one got to me because I can SO relate. You are right. Don't miss those special opportunities in life to connect with people we love. Your ending just did me end. I would give anything to be able to call my mom again.

    April 16, 2010 at 9:41 am

Leave a Reply

