People Are Who They Are!

Biological Stress

I've spent the last few weeks trying to soak up Biology 101 at 52 years old.  I was so stressed out over it.  I never cared for Science when I was young.  Guess what?  I still don't care for it!  Then it came time for the test.  I've known for 2 weeks it was coming.  I became the procrastination queen!  I have done everything in the world to avoid studying for this test.  Everything including debating with Zak for 2 hours last night.  HA!  Love ya Zak!  I got up this morning to as many problems as you can have in a single morning.  I had a couple of good excuses to blow off school and stay home and feel sorry for myself.  Instead, I sucked it up and went.  I spent thirty minutes cramming and thinking to myself, what's the use now?  The instructor came in and handed out the test. 

I went through the questions thinking, this seems too easy.  They must be trick questions.  I was finished relatively fast and started to go back through it and stopped myself.  Nope, I said to myself.  You are not going to change a thing.  I turned it in and went out to the hallway with the rest of the students to wait.  Everyone finished the test and the instructor graded them and handed them back out.  I almost fainted.  I made an A!!!!!!! 

I put myself through so much stress for nothing.  In all these years you would think I would have learned better, but I haven't apparently.  So far, an A on my Biology test and an A on my Economics test.  Woo hoo!  I'm excited!  Look out Zak, I might be back! HA!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

4 responses

  1. Wow, congrats! Isn't the stress just off the charts with this stuff? It's amazing how we can doubt ourselves, I just finished my grad work and I still have nightmares about high school tests. How about that!
    Blogging is a great way to procrasinate too, right?

    February 10, 2010 at 5:06 pm

  2. Yes, I just joined this site. Never blogged! lol But I love it! Thanks for the congrats. I live alone so don't get too many of those!

    February 10, 2010 at 6:03 pm

  3. Ran across one of your comments on Karen's blog and liked your attitude, so came by to visit. Two things–first of all, you look just like one of my relatives in Canada (and you either look really young for your age, or that picture is really old!) Second of all–I'm going to start school as an older adult student this year too! Flamingo Dancer inspired me. (If you haven't added her to your neighborhood, you're missing out! She lost her job a year ago, went back to school, and just now got her first teaching job.) I love hearing that other women are doing this too, and succeeding!

    February 10, 2010 at 7:39 pm

  4. Thanks for coming by Kimber. I'm from Atlanta and never ventured too far north for any length of time. Too cold for my southern blood! Thanks for the age comment. The picture is only about a year old, honestly! I will check out Flamingo Dancer.I actually started going back to school about 12 years ago. I was in my third semester when we found out my mother had cancer. I left school to take care of her until she passed away. Of course, life changes and I didn't get the opportunity to get back until now. I lost my job about 8 months ago and am going back to school on unemployment. I only need probably two semesters to finish an Associates Degree. It is a little harder now than it was then, but there is a lady in one of my classes that is 70 years old. Same situation, got laid off from a job. I can't believe she was still working let alone going back to school. Anyway, whenever I get frustrated I think about her and keep on trudging along. So glad you stopped by and hope you will visit often. I will come by your place and visit too!

    February 10, 2010 at 10:27 pm

Leave a Reply

