People Are Who They Are!

My Place

I thought since I had put as much as I have out there, I should show you what I'm talking about, why I would go through all of this.  We bought three acres on a main highway for $20,000.  We paid $7,500 down and made $1,000 a month payments for one year.  The final payoff was about $2,300 because of "extra costs".  I wasn't complaining.  The site had housed a trailer before so the electricity was already run, the septic tank already in place and a well dug. We bought a used 14' x 72' trailer for $2,000. Paid cash for it and spent $1,200 to have it moved. The trailer needed a lot of work, but it was doable. We had to buy a water heater (my brother corrects me if I try to say hot water heater because it's a water heater that gets the water hot. Don't ask me!).  We tore out all of the insulation underneath because the previous owners had chickens running loose in the yard that picked the dickens out of what had been there before. HA! Put new insulation under it and covered it with plastic.  Had to fix several windows that had not been attended to.  Because of that, there were rotted places in the floors under the windows.  To fix that, we went through the entire inside with 3/4" particle board (I think it's called OCB?) right over the top of the existing floors. (removed the old carpet and rotted wood of course.)  It made it sturdy enough that it is like walking through a solid house instead of trailer.

We've done a lot of stuff inside and out that was more work than money.  It still needs a lot, like underpinning would stop the pipes from freezing up (next on the list), need to build a deck on the front (can't go in and out the front door, that's alright though, the back door works fine), etc., etc.  I lost my job about five months into it all, so it put a big damper on things.  It is paid for though and it will come together.  It ain't Graceland, but it is mine!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

4 responses

  1. You sounds like a very hard worker!! Sounds like you are doing a great job!

    February 11, 2010 at 3:56 pm

  2. Thanks Freedom. It has been a lot of hard work. But there is finally a light at the end of the tunnel. Just talked to my brother on the phone and he ordered a load of gravel for the driveway. All the rain we've had messed up my driveway and I've been struggling to get up and down it. So he's going to fix it! He's such a good boy! One more thing to check off the list!

    February 11, 2010 at 4:06 pm

  3. You have trees! Beautiful! Moses Lake is all desert. I have learned to call it home, but growing trees is a real challenge.

    February 11, 2010 at 4:34 pm

  4. I open it and look out. Just have to remember not to step out! HA! My legs aren't very long. If I'm outside and don't want to walk ALL the way around to the back, I have a 5 gallon bucket out there I can climb in on. lol

    February 11, 2010 at 4:50 pm

Leave a Reply

