People Are Who They Are!

No Water Again!

The pipes are frozen, again!  I was so proud of myself yesterday for getting it all thawed out and running again by myself. Now I get to do it again this afternoon.  Practice makes perfect. That means no coffee this morning. I get to heat the water I have put up in gallon jugs to brush my teeth and get ready for school.  I'll leave early so I can go to Burger King for coffee.  Maybe I'll have a croissant while I'm there. I hope the car door isn't frozen again and won't stay shut. I'm not complaining though. We bought this place last year and have it paid off.  Whatever it lacks, it's ours.  Nothing owed.  I'll live through the problems until we get everything done.  We've sworn off credit of any kind so it's slow but it's getting there. Just praying for spring.

Cold cold, go away,
I want to go outside and play.
I want to see the flowers bloom,
I want to loose this winter gloom.
I want to hear the new birds sing,
I want to feel the warmth of spring.
Cold cold, go away,
Return again another day.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

9 responses

  1. Oh no! That sounds a horrible way to start the day – no coffee! 🙂

    February 11, 2010 at 6:31 am

  2. You're right about the house being paid off and no debt as worth a ton of cold coffeless mornings and frozen pipes. I would trade my non frozen pipes in an instant if it meant having my house paid off.

    February 11, 2010 at 7:54 am

  3. We put up with a lot in the name of having the house paid off! Moved in with bare studs, no sink–did the dishes in the bathtub–no walls, doors, flooring. Six little kids. But totally worth not having the debt hanging over you! You do what you have to! Too bad more people don't see it that way in America.

    February 11, 2010 at 7:58 am

  4. Oh yes, I'll put up with anything and I have so far! Ha! Came in this
    afternoon and it's all thawed out though. Got a pot of coffee brewing
    now to make up for the lack of it this morning. As my brother says:
    "It's all good!" That's his favorite saying. He and I are partners in
    this home deal. We are both divorced and have sworn off the idea of
    trying it again. We were very close when we were youngsters, then got
    kind of distant as we raised our families, and then after our divorces
    have joined forces again. He travels for a living so I basically live alone. He puts out the money and I stay here and keep up the home front. Pretty good deal if you ask me. He and I very much alike so we get along great. Like I said in my blog, I'm definitely not complaining!

    February 11, 2010 at 12:01 pm

  5. I've lived most of my life in Los Angeles and Tucson. Never have I had to deal with frozen pipes or snowy weather, just wind and thunderstorms.

    February 11, 2010 at 12:08 pm

  6. You are a lucky man! It can be a very unpleasant experience. However, it does force conservation of water! It inspires creativity! It can be an extremely challenging experience. I am getting good at it! lol

    February 11, 2010 at 12:28 pm

  7. We have to keep a lamp behind the washer with a bare light bulb on all night when it is cold, to keep the water from freezing in the hose! I am glad you are dealing with frozen pipes not busted pipes! Awesome that your house is payed off. I would give anything to have our house paid off!! Bravo.

    February 11, 2010 at 12:33 pm

  8. thanks Freedom. It is a remarkably comforting feeling. Since my divorce 10 years ago, I have probably had to move 20 times for one reason or another. It's wonderful to know I don't have to do that again.

    February 11, 2010 at 12:48 pm

  9. I put up a new post so you can see what the place looks like Kimber.

    February 11, 2010 at 4:30 pm

Leave a Reply

