People Are Who They Are!

Autumn Leaves and Pickled Beets

When my son was little he used to follow me around and do whatever I did. His father worked all the time and his only sibling, a sister, was five years older than him. We did dishes together, he helped me fold laundry, he had a pint sized broom to help me sweep the floors, and of course a pint sized rake to help in the yard with. One day during the fall we were out raking the leaves. We had lots of fun piling them up and then jumping into the piles and raking them back up again.

He was probably about 7 or 8 this particular day. We had been out for a while, when he stopped and went in the house. He had been in there about 20 minutes or so when he stuck his head out the door and yelled "Mom, come in the house! I made us lunch."

How sweet, I thought. Walking in though, I began thinking that there was nothing in there to make a lunch out of. I needed to go to the grocery store and I knew there were none of the traditional lunch things in the fridge. When I walked in, I was so surprised. This was his first attempt at something like this and the table was set perfectly. He had plates set with a sandwich and chips, a napkin neatly folded in two beside each, and a glass of tea already made.

I was ecstatic! He was grinning ear to ear and waited for me to be seated. I could not see what was in the sandwich and curiously, I asked, "What kind of sandwich did you make me honey?" He grinned even bigger. "Well," he said, "There wasn't anything you usually eat, but I know you like pickled beets, so I made you a pickled beet sandwhich!"

"Wow!" I said. What else could I say? I was thinking to myself, oh my, a pickled beet sandwich! I picked up the bread and peaked under it, and it was indeed a pickled beet and mayonaise sandwich. "It's very colorful!"

"Yeah, it's pretty isn't it!" He was so happy with himself. We had a wonderful little lunch that day. I ate every bite of that sandwich and praised him heartily for his efforts. Though I have not made myself another one, it actually wasn't half bad.

My son is grown now, and is quite capable in the kitchen. We often laugh about the pickled beet sandwich. I miss those days.

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

25 responses

  1. That is such an adorable story! I do not think I could have made myself eat that sandwich but you did! Good for you. You described the scene so well that I can imagine the neatly folded napkins and the sandwiches and tea! Wow…quite impressive…and he used his imagination, as I am sure I have never heard of a pickled beet sandwich! Such sweet memories!

    March 21, 2010 at 9:30 am

  2. Thank you Freedom. It is one of my fondest memories of the kids childhoods. I am adding pictures to it. I was looking for one of him with that grin he used to get that was so cute!

    March 21, 2010 at 9:34 am

  3. What a beautiful smile and I love the pictures you added!! One of my favorite posts ever 🙂 Of course, you described things so well that I have the image in my head of what your lunch table looked like that day. What a precious memory!

    March 21, 2010 at 10:31 am

  4. Thank you Freedom…you are always so kind!

    March 21, 2010 at 10:52 am

  5. I like pickled beets … but not that much.Nice story, though.

    March 21, 2010 at 3:19 pm

  6. Thanks GOM…I didn't like them that much either! lol But you do what you gotta do with kids sometimes!

    March 21, 2010 at 3:32 pm

  7. In Australia we put pickled beets ("beetroot" as we call it) on hamburgers all the time. If you order a burger with the works, it will come with beets. I miss it so much I bought a can of picked beets the other week so I can put them on our next home made burgers. I don't know that I'd have liked eating them just with mayo though …. but if some person of the growing-up persuasion made it for me, I'd sure eat it too! 😀

    March 21, 2010 at 5:13 pm

  8. This is a wonderful memory. LOM beat me to the beetroot though – I love beetroot and like her I miss them on burgers here.

    March 21, 2010 at 5:38 pm

  9. Hey that sounds good! I do like them and always thought burgers needed something besides what they normally come with. I might try that.

    March 21, 2010 at 7:49 pm

  10. Thanks Emjay…it's always been one of my favorite stories to tell about him. He will joke sometimes when I go to his house now and say "Hey mom, you want a pickled beet sandwich?" lol

    March 21, 2010 at 7:51 pm

  11. A "works" hamburger, Aussie style: the beef patty (of course), a fried egg, fried onion, a fried pineapple ring, lettuce, tomato and pickled beets.

    March 21, 2010 at 7:54 pm

  12. What a precious story! When one of my sons was about the same age, perhaps a bit older, he decided to make me a birthday cake while I was at work. It wasn't perfect, but it was the thought that made to so special. What a wonderful son!

    March 21, 2010 at 8:04 pm

  13. I loved it. It reminds me of when my daughter made me a cake out of pancake mix. By the way, she is an excellent cook today.

    March 21, 2010 at 10:36 pm

  14. Thanks Cbd. I'm glad you enjoyed it. He was a sweet and thoughtful boy and is a good man today.

    March 21, 2010 at 11:00 pm

  15. Thank you Sharon. My son is a good cook and a good housekeeper today. He lives with his girlfriend and her mother and her sister and they leave a lot of the housework for him because they say he does it better than they do. HA! I think they are just smart enough to let him do it because he will!

    March 21, 2010 at 11:03 pm

  16. yum LOM. That sounds good! I love all of the ingredients and would never have thought to put them together. My favorite pizza is ham and pineapple and of course I eat pickled beets right out of the jar as a snack. Of course, living alone, I eat lots of things right out of the jar! lol One of my favorite meals though is a hamburger patty cooked medium rare (I don't care what they say about rare meat, animals eat it all the time! lol), a fried egg, and fried potatoes and onions together. Of course, meals like that are why I am now on a serious diet now!

    March 21, 2010 at 11:09 pm

  17. What a great story, I got real warm inside. Moments like these is when we realize that we haven't been all that bad raising them.

    March 22, 2010 at 6:26 am

  18. I might have to try that burger…I love pickled beets. Haven't had them for years though.

    March 22, 2010 at 8:02 am

  19. Very cute picture of your son!!

    March 22, 2010 at 10:12 am

  20. Thanks Louise, he did turn out pretty good! 🙂

    March 22, 2010 at 12:20 pm

  21. Thank you Sara!

    March 22, 2010 at 12:26 pm

  22. That actually sounds like a dream for when I'm craving pickled stuff. I love that he made tea also.

    March 22, 2010 at 1:08 pm

  23. It was so cool. He was such a sweet and thoughtful little boy. He's turned out to be a very thoughtful man as well! Thank you for reading it. I'm glad you enjoyed it Emmi!

    March 22, 2010 at 1:34 pm

  24. What a beautiful story! How I love little boys. I remember my youngest wanting to learn to knit, so I taught him and we used to have "knitting parties." He made several Christmas presents for siblings. Course now he's 18, those days are over, he has girlfriends and is excited about being a Marine. A long way from the knitting parties with mom!

    March 26, 2010 at 5:46 am

  25. Awww…that's sweet. I can't believe you got him to knit! Thank's for reading my story Karen, I'm glad you enjoyed it!

    March 26, 2010 at 2:41 pm

Leave a Reply

