People Are Who They Are!

Spring Flowers

All week as I have gone back and forth to school and work, I have watched in awe as so many trees and shrubs have begun to bloom. It is absolutely my favorite time of the year. I finally took the time today to stop and take some pictures. I hope you enjoy them as much I did!

I added this last picture in because I wanted you to see how big these azaleas are. Azaleas are generally very delicate and difficult to grow here. They require a certain amount of sun and shade mix or they don't survive. These were apparently in a perfect spot because they were huge. I found them at a little country church that sat back up off of the road surrounded by woods.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

16 responses

  1. These pictures are gorgeous. The close-up shots are breathtaking! Good job, Ladywise 😉 I would have wanted to stop and take pictures too! Wow.

    April 10, 2010 at 8:44 pm

  2. Glorious pictures. Bliss

    April 10, 2010 at 8:46 pm

  3. Thank you Freedom. I look and see stuff I want to shoot all the time and I am terrible to not stop and do it. Today, riding down the road, I told myself "you are absolutely insane if you don't stop!" So I did. I know a lot of flowers and shrubs, but I don't know trees very well. I'm sure this is not a dogwood, but I don't know what it is. Dogwoods don't normally get that full and they are not this white. These are so white they are literally blinding in the bright sun of the morning and they are truly breathtaking!The azaleas I found at a little country church I pass all the time. I hadn't really noticed the shrubs around it until today though. It sits back off the road up on a hill. The sun was hitting it though as I went by and I caught a glimpse of the pink. I turned around and went back and when I got up to it, these azaleas went all the way around the building. On the back side, the sun was hitting just parts of these. It was beautiful. It was like finding a little slice of heaven or something. I want to go back in a week or so, because the red ones weren't in full bloom yet, and there were also purple ones that hadn't opened. I took a bunch of pictures! lol

    April 10, 2010 at 9:05 pm

  4. Thank you Flamingo. It it so beautiful right now. I want to try to go down to the river tomorrow and take some pictures. There are so many things blooming and they are still so fresh.

    April 10, 2010 at 9:08 pm

  5. Good for you for taking the time to stop! We should all do that more often 🙂

    April 10, 2010 at 9:16 pm

  6. Beautiful, Iowa is far behind right now!

    April 11, 2010 at 10:18 am

  7. It is absolutely my favorite time of the year.I remain a winter wonderland kind of guy at heart but spring blooms are still a lot of fun.

    April 11, 2010 at 5:54 pm

  8. Yes they are! I took more today. Haven't had time to upload anything yet though.

    April 11, 2010 at 6:42 pm

  9. Thanks Sara…I'm sorry you aren't getting to enjoy this! Other than I would trade you all of the pollen that goes with all of it! lol

    April 12, 2010 at 4:03 am

  10. Awe struck. So incredibly beautiful. I have honeysuckle blooming right now, and am waiting for my irises and wisteria to burst open.

    April 15, 2010 at 12:07 pm

  11. Thanks speak. I just saw the first iris' today on the way home. There is wisteria everywhere here too. I have seen people growing it into trees here. It looks like it is a lot of work to get it started. They have it staked up. I've never seen that.

    April 15, 2010 at 1:53 pm

  12. The azaleas are really gorgeous. I have three lovely azaleas at the front – or I should say I "had" – they did not do very well under the large snow storms we had earlier this year. They look very ragged at the moment – I probably should cut them back – just as soon as I get my right arm back LOL.

    April 15, 2010 at 6:21 pm

  13. Thank you Emjay. I said in my post that Azaleas are very delicate shrubs. They get too much sun here a lot of times and don't survive. I can remember my mother always fussing over her Azaleas. I love them. There were some red ones ready to open up where I shot these at. I want to go back by there this weekend and see if they opened yet or not.

    April 15, 2010 at 6:38 pm

  14. Wonderful pics, spring has not come that far over here but we are doing well. And I who though that azaleas only were plats in pots (say more about me I know), never seen a wild specimen – fantastic it is.

    April 16, 2010 at 11:57 pm

  15. Thanks Louise. I don't do well with plants myself. These are in other peoples yards! lol

    April 17, 2010 at 6:55 am

  16. Beautiful photos! Thanks so much for posting them. I love flowering trees and scrubs. That was one thing that I did not expect in Hawaii. Even huge trees have blooms. I didn't get any good pictures, though. I don't have a telephoto lens. Perhaps I need to put that on my wish list!

    April 22, 2010 at 8:36 pm

Leave a Reply

