People Are Who They Are!

My Sunday Afternoon

Last Saturday I stopped on the way to work and took a bunch of pictures of trees and shrubs that were blooming around here. I posted them and everyone loved them and so did I. I also love coming home and pulling up the pictures to see what I have. It's so much fun. You never know how the pictures are turning out until you get them home and see them on the computer.

So Sunday, I decided to stop again, because I was going right by Lake Wedowee. I found this pink dogwood and it was gorgeous! I really love these trees.
 


I live about five miles from Lake Wedowee. It was one of the reasons I liked it here so much. It's a 10,000 acre lake with 270 miles of shoreline. The boat ramp I stopped by was full, so I guess lots of folks had decided to take advantage of the beautiful day and take a spin around the lake. I didn't blame them one bit! There are all kinds of good coves to fish in. Just to the left of where I was standing taking this picture, there were two guys fishing in a cove. Looked like very relaxing fun to me.

This lake is known as one of the finest lakes in the southeast for its water quality and bass population. It has large mouth bass, spotted bass, and striped bass. It is also a favorite spot for channel catfish and crappie fishing. I have fished in the river below it and caught big mouth bass and crappie before myself.

After I left the boat ramp, I drove down to the Dam. The Lake is actually the R.L. Harris Reservoir, called Lake Wedowee. It is the newest of 14 Alabama Power Hydroelectric plants. The two generating units provide up to 67.5 megawatts of power each. Construction was started on it in November of 1974 and it went into operation in April of 1983. The lake's normal pool level is 793'.

People like to fish at the dam as well. When the water is settled you can see down in there and the fish there are huge. I found two boys down there fishing that afternoon. Dylan and Justin had been out there all day. When I got there, they had several poles set. I talked to them for a few minutes and asked what they were fishing for. Now this is a lake known for bass, crappie, channel cat, etc.

They were fishing for carp. I said "Carp? Why are you fishing for carp? You can't eat carp." They laughed and said they were great fun to catch. Earlier that morning, they had caught five carp ranging from 5 to 30 pounds each. "They fight like crazy", they said. They get the fun of catching them and then throw them back. The funniest thing though, was what they were using for bait.

Now, I was married for 20 years to a man from Tampa, Florida who was a fishing fool. I have seen some very creative things used for bait. These boys were making oatmeal balls. They had a box of regular old oatmeal sitting there and a small cooler of water. They would take a hand full of oatmeal and stick their whole hand down in the water and get the oatmeal wet and then ball it up good. You have to work with it a couple of minutes to squeeze the water out and let it get sticky enough to ball up and stay together. Once it sets though, it stays together. I was absolutely amazed!

These were true Alabama boys. They were avid fishermen, and you could not have asked for more polite young gentlemen. They didn't open their mouth without ma'am following whatever they said. I thoroughly enjoyed my visit with them. I stayed for a bit hoping to see them make a catch, but I wasn't that lucky.

As I was leaving, I passed the truck they were driving. This sticker was on the back window. I believed it.

Well, that was my little excursion for the day. It was short lived as I had to get to work, but I very much enjoyed it. I made myself a promise to take the time out this spring and summer to visit the area out here and take photos every weekend that it is pretty.


Read and post comments | Send to a friend

16 responses

  1. What a wonderful outing. The dogwood is such a pretty pink colour. I also love plugging the camera into the computer and watching what pops in.

    April 15, 2010 at 6:19 pm

  2. Thanks Emjay! I was still finding the errors in the post and fixing them! lol

    April 15, 2010 at 6:31 pm

  3. I am going to pass along your information about the oatmeal ball lures. I would have thought that it would dissolve when hitting the water. But it stays in a ball? Do you think my kids could use the oatmeal lure to catch catfish? They will be excited to have something new to fish with. Great post. Thanks!

    April 15, 2010 at 7:01 pm

  4. You know, I didn't ask them about using it for catfish. It's very cheap to use though so it would be worth it to try. They had a big box of off brand oatmeal sitting there that probably didn't cost a dollar. Yes it stayed together great. The picture of the oatmeal ball on the hook was a pole he pulled back out of the water to show me that they did stay together because I asked that. I couldn't imagine that they would. And the carp definitely bite on it. I watched the pole bend over almost double two different times while I was standing there. They broke the line. The fish were definitely hitting it.

    April 15, 2010 at 7:19 pm

  5. That's great. What nice kids. Oatmeal balls….who woulddah thunk??!!

    April 15, 2010 at 8:27 pm

  6. Not me!!! lol

    April 15, 2010 at 8:35 pm

  7. Oh thank you for the beautiful tour! I'm sending this link to my husband because he lived in Alabama for awhile. Too bad they were throwing the carp back. That lake probably has way too many the way it is. Loved this post!

    April 15, 2010 at 10:13 pm

  8. Thanks Karen! I hope your husband enjoys it too.

    April 15, 2010 at 10:18 pm

  9. What a great post! I was reading it when my 10 year old looked over my shoulder and began asking about the fishing pictures. I read the whole thing to him and he loved it. He wants to try the oatmeal ball bait thing. His other comment was, "Man, I want to catch something. I keep going fishing and not catching anything." Love the truck window sticker too.

    April 16, 2010 at 9:07 am

  10. I always laugh when I see something in print talking about "crappie fishing," and wait for someone to ask what that means, lol. Carp do put up a fight, and they can be eaten, BUT you have to boil the heck out of them to get all the bones out. I know people who fish for gar for the same reason – just the fun of it.

    April 16, 2010 at 2:59 pm

  11. GOF

    I really enjoy reading stories like this about the lives of people living in different parts of the world. The photographs are wonderful. Now I understand a little about life in your part of Alabama…..it looks like beautiful countryside…..and 30 lb carp…wow….it certainly would be fun catching one of those.

    April 16, 2010 at 3:27 pm

  12. Thanks Lori and I'm so glad your son enjoyed it. I hope the Oatmeal balls work for him. I don't know what else would go after them besides Carp, but Freedom's kids are going to try them too. We'll see!

    April 16, 2010 at 4:39 pm

  13. Oh Grouchy, I have never fished for carp, but I have done a lot of crappie fishing and that is the most fun I've ever had fishing. If you hit a school of them, you pull 'em in one after another. They are small so they are a pain in the butt to clean, but they are really good eating!

    April 16, 2010 at 4:41 pm

  14. Thanks GOF. I actually grew up in Georgia and moved next door to Alabama a couple of years ago. They call it Alabama the Beautiful and it deserves the name. While there is a lot of just wide open countryside, there are all kinds of just beautiful little spots hidden back in the woods around here. I'm having a blast exploring it. I'm so glad you enjoyed my photographs! Thank you.

    April 16, 2010 at 4:45 pm

  15. I've tried the oatmeal balls too, few years back. Can't remember what I was fishing for but a friend showed me how to do it, cheaper than worms and less eww lol. Hides the hook and tricks the fish I suppose, I wasn't fishing for carp though so I'm sure it works on other fish too. Just can't remember what I was fishing for haha. Think spot or sunnies.

    April 16, 2010 at 7:24 pm

  16. Thanks Linda. What are sunnies?

    April 16, 2010 at 8:37 pm

Leave a Reply

