People Are Who They Are!

Change

I normally try not to complain much, but there is something that goes on out in this world, that just absolutely drives me insane!

I'm like most people, I have a debit card, and that's normally what I use. But not always. Lately, I've used cash more and more. When I go to the store and pay with cash, I am very thoughtful about that money. The bills are always straightened out and all turned the same way. I've worked retail and I know at the end of the shift you have to count all of that money and straighten it out. So at least whatever money I have given them is orderly.

When I work as a cashier and I am giving someone change, I hand the person the coin change, let them deal with it, and then hand them the dollar bills along with the receipt neatly on top of it.

No one else does that. They lay or shove the dollars in your hand and then pile the change on top of them, and then add the receipt to the mix. Because your hand is not as wide as the dollar bills, they just kind of lay there and then there is no way to grab the change and it spills everywhere. Today that happened and the girl picked up the couple of coins that fell and shoved them right back up there before I could even react. In all honesty, it pisses me off so bad every time it gets done to me, I'm to furious to react.

Am I just nuts or does that bother anyone else, or does anyone else even notice it enough to see it as a problem? It outrages me. I am not in so big of a hurry, that I can't wait two or three more seconds for a little courtesy for myself or the other people in front of me.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

19 responses

  1. I think you're right. Sometimes customers have their hands full and they don't want the change counted into their hand, but as long as they have a hand free it is common courtesy to place the change in the free hand.

    April 21, 2010 at 7:43 pm

  2. That is a great point. I always thought it was just me that could not get out of the way fast enough as the clerk starts to ring up the next person. I have noticed at the Wal-mart, most of the time, they expect the customer to take the bags and put the in the cart. It is so common place that I am shocked if they do help. A lot has changed out there! I won't feel so bad next time they put the change in my hand that way and then it takes me too much time to get out of the way!!

    April 21, 2010 at 7:44 pm

  3. I have paid my dues in cashiering duties, so I do appreciate your sense of consideration. I really do. I learned the old school method of counting change by coin and bill by hand back up to the amount they gave me– it took longer, longer than many had patience for, but my accounting at the end of the shift was better for it.Sadly, I think LOLBeeeze has nailed it right on. Most of these workers are trained and taught to do it as absolutely as fast as they can (I remember that being the case for me much of the time), even at the cost of courtesy. I think it is especially rampant as the focus of retail today is bargain prices, cheaply made, cheaply bought, cheaply broken. Oh, don't get me wrong– "the customer is always right" is still taught, but it seems as the quality and care of products seems to be declining, so is the service.But I still take time to remind them that I have been there, and appreciate what they do. It seems to help somewhat, even if they aren't doing so well.

    April 21, 2010 at 8:48 pm

  4. I think everyone is misunderstanding my problem. I don't need them to count the money back to me, I need them to put it in my hand in a manner that I can deal with it. I usually have whatever I just purchased in the other hand so I only have one free to take the change back with it. If you pile it all up there with the bills on bottom and the change just piled on top of the bills, what are you supposed to do? Wad it up in a big ball and shove it in your pocket? If they would hand the change back first and let me stick that in my pocket or purse, then hand me the bills, it would be so much nicer. It only takes about two seconds more to do it that way. It is very irritating to me. It's a little thing, but it's a big thing when you are standing there and the money is falling all over the place. I just think that people should see that it's a problem. I don't get it. Sorry, it's just one of those thoughtless things that drive me crazy.

    April 21, 2010 at 9:12 pm

  5. Oh, so sorry. I understand much better now– I think I understood in the back of my mind the first time, though, but it just wasn't concrete enough in my mind. And I am known to go out on tangents.Cimmy and I read your post together. We did understand that the manner you describe allows you to put your money away effectively. I told her that this was the way it was done for me when I bought some vegetable/bonito seasoning at the Vietnamese/Asian market (I was the only one in the store, though, so the lady did have plenty of time). And YES, I did notice that it made it much easier for me, now that I think of it. The bills are cumbersome and need to be put away first (especially if into a purse, wallet, etc.), and so yes, they need to be on top. The coins fit fairly neatly into the palms of most people's hands, so they can of course be on the bottom to be dealt with after the paper money is put away.The context we (those of us commenting) were speaking of, really, is that little considerations like these are NOT often taught to the cashiers. They just aren't. I still agree that they are important, though, and that they should be taught.

    April 21, 2010 at 10:06 pm

  6. Well, and you are right about the other stuff too. I just make a great deal of effort myself to be thoughtful to other people all the time and little things mean so much. I guess I just expect other people to be thoughtful and they aren't always and that really is the overall problem. I think it isn't taught in the homes enough anymore because both parents work and they don't have time to teach the little stuff, those little thoughtful things. I have a niece that has two little boys. They are 3 and 5 now. Their daddy has taught them so many little thoughtful things that I just want to squeeze them every time I see them. They not only yes ma'am and no ma'am with the most excellent grace, but they already stand their and wait for a woman to go first, they open doors for you and wait for you to be seated.And they like doing it. They are very good to their mother. They are going to grow up to be such gentlemen. My mother was very big on etiquette and manners and thoughtfulness. I was taught well in all those areas. So many children today are not taught those kinds of things and it shows. Anyway, I can get off on tangents too Jak. And this is just one of mine. When someone just piled my hand clumsily full of money and doesn't notice or seem to care that I am struggling with it, it bothers me. Like I said, I don't care that it takes two seconds longer, I'm not in THAT big of a hurry and I really don't believe anyone else is. I'm glad you realize what I'm talking about.

    April 22, 2010 at 5:17 am

  7. Oh yes!!! I hate when that is done to me. I get all clutzy trying to get everything organised and I'm sure I'm holding everyone up more as I drop all the bits. For the last 7 weeks I've been in a sling and only had one working hand (my inferior left one) – even when it is sooooooo obvious that I am going to find it difficult I've had some cashiers do what you've described!!
    I've also come across some really wonderful cashiers who've kindly helped me get the money into the correct parts of my purse and help loop my bag over my working elbow.

    April 22, 2010 at 6:45 am

  8. I'm so glad to hear that Emjay. And I agree, there are a lot of great people out there. I am not complaining in general. It's just one of those things I can't seem to get past. I had it happen today again, at Walmart. And I don't say anything when it's done, it just deflates me. I sigh, this long deep sigh. It's like, are you kidding? You didn't just do that to me again! I just think that it should be part of the training. This is how you give change back to people. When I was a manager and had cashiers working for me, I trained them to do that, and every one of them would say, hey that's nice. I never thought about doing that, but I hate it when people do that to me too. And they all were very good about it. Details. Retail is Detail, an old retail management saying.I guess that's what I should have named this post. 🙂

    April 22, 2010 at 1:14 pm

  9. GOF

    I agree with all of the above…..and we have an additional aggravating problem.All of our currency notes are plastic. Once they are folded you cannot completely un-fold them, and when coins are placed on top they immediately slide right off your hand and fall onto the floor.

    April 22, 2010 at 3:04 pm

  10. Oh My God! Ok, well, there's the silver lining in the cloud then, because if we had plastic money and someone did that to me…I would go ballistic no doubt. It's aggravating enough with thin old paper bills, but plastic…are you kidding me? I will shut up now.

    April 22, 2010 at 3:53 pm

  11. GOF

    Actually you get used to the plastic after a while…..they are long lasting and they are pretty, and easier to differentiate between values than your notes because they are different colors and sizes.Still, the coins slipping off 'em is a problem….women in a checkout queue don't always accept that an old man down on all fours on the floor is simply looking for lost coin. 🙂

    April 22, 2010 at 9:59 pm

  12. LOL I thought I was the only person who made all the bills face the same way! Awesome! I also think it's horrible to just shove change in someone's hand. What's even more charming is when I have my hand politely extended and they toss the bills down on the counter in front of me.
    Customer service is just plain absurd these days. It should instead be called Customer Brush-off. Some workers are great, but many are not. I worked in some semi-customer service jobs (elderly care, pet store) but I learned the most from working at this one bakery in New Hampshire in high school.
    There was a very grumpy coworker – quite intense. But despite our minimum wage pay, she took the job very seriously. She was intense. She always cleaned or otherwise made herself useful. If there was a job to be done she would jump in even if it wasn't her normal job.
    Most of all, she acted as if she were a caregiver. She treated customers like her kids – asking them what they needed, she gave them her full attention and made sure they were happy. She took pride in this lousy paying bakery job. That taught me that no matter where you work, you take the job seriously. It paid off huge for me in the end.
    No excuse for sloppy service.

    April 23, 2010 at 9:34 am

  13. Oh and by the way, I find that if I shop at small local stores they wouldn't dream of treating anyone this way. Unlike the Megamarts, the small places can't survive without customer loyalty. So the service is much better.

    April 23, 2010 at 9:44 am

  14. That's wonderful Emmi. I grew up in an era that everyone took every job seriously. That was just the way you were taught. It didn't matter if you made minimum wage or big bucks, your job was important. I also spent many years in retail, and I was always told that "Retail is Detail." Those little details in a retail store are what keep the customer coming back and that is the ultimate goal. You want a customer for life, not just for today.This is a small detail, and it bothers me terribly, but can you imagine being a little old woman in your 80's or so and having someone do you that way? You are slow anyway, and someone is shoving money back at you, watching you fumble with it and looking at you like "Move on, I'm working on the next customer." Or just imagine being in Emjay's position right now with one arm in a sling and someone doing you that way. It's more about consideration than it is about the particular act. If I am spending the money that I worked hard for, and I have pretty much always worked hard for whatever I made, I expect a certain amount of common courtesy for that. Like I expect for someone to thank me for shopping there. That's not a lot to ask. If you don't appreciate my business, I will take it elsewhere. I walked in Walmart yesterday and the greeter was staring off into space and never even acknowledged that I walked by. That is her main job, to greet you, yet it wasn't done. I guess it is more difficult for me to swallow some of these things because I worked retail for many years and I have sat here unable to find a job for months. My thought is always, if I had that job, I would be giving it 125%.

    April 23, 2010 at 10:03 am

  15. Excellent post. Yes – I turn my bills to face the same way. I too have worked retail for years. I trained not too long ago at Macy's and no one mentioned handling money. Just how to ring the sale. i doubt that most people unles they are over 50 even know how to count back change.

    I have learned to be patient when the person in front of me is carefully replacing their money in their wallets.

    I also noticed that in the grocery stores, the person behind me can hardly wait for the conveyer belt to move up so they can unload their shopping cart. the truth is it doesn't save any time. If that person would wait until my items were fairly close to the clerk and then start unloading, they would wind up waiting the same amount of time.

    How did we become so impatient – is that why we speed on the freeways?

    Thanks for bringing this to light.

    April 26, 2010 at 9:16 am

  16. Thanks Speak. It's just something that really bothers me. Like I said in one of the comments, it's more about the lack of consideration than anything. It doesn't take that much effort to be considerate of other people and it makes such a difference in their day or their life. I think more than anything, it scares me that the younger generation is missing the overall lesson in consideration for others and these are the people that will be caring for us one day when we can no longer care for ourselves. If they don't notice that change is falling all over the place right in front of them, how are they going to notice that we are developing symptoms of dementia or Alzheimer's or something. You know?

    April 26, 2010 at 9:52 am

  17. Yes you know in the 20th century it was "me first". Now it's "me only". Courtesy and consideration have become Antique words.

    April 26, 2010 at 10:03 am

  18. If it looks like the cashier is going to try to do this, I hold my hand out sideways, like I'm going to shake their hand. When they look at me all confused, I coach them, "Could I have my bills first, please, and then the change." (Continue holding the hand sideways so there's no way for them to dump change into your hand, they have to wait for you to put your bills away before you will accept change.) When they hand me my bills, if it's quick I'll put them in my wallet, or if it looks like that'll take time, I transfer to my other hand or put in my front pocket for sorting later. Then I accept the change with an open palm, and move out of the way of the next person while I get "situated". You're right, takes very little extra time, no spilled change everywhere, and most cashiers are friendly enough about it, provided you're not nasty to them in the request.

    April 26, 2010 at 1:58 pm

  19. That is good Ross. I hadn't thought about doing something like that.

    April 26, 2010 at 2:16 pm

Leave a Reply

