People Are Who They Are!

Biology Lab Final

Wow! If you have kids in college, be especially sweet and patient with them. College is difficult to say the least, especially if you are full time, and even more so if you are old! This morning was my Biology Lab final exam. The instructor set up 50 stations around the classroom. You started at one station, had one minute to answer the question at that station and then moved to the next. Some stations had models of different body parts and you were to name the part, like the optic nerve on the model of the human eye was one. One was a part in the ear, another was a particular muscle and so on. Some were slides set up in a microscope and you might be asked what type of cell was being shown or what stage of Mitosis was being shown. Some were test tubes that were setup to test for the presence of sugar or starch or protein and you were asked whether the result was positive or negative or you might be asked in another what reagent was used. I studied all weekend for this test. My brain was on overload by this morning. I think I did alright but I really don't know to be honest. This was comprehensive so it's been 3 or 4 months since we studied some of this stuff. I am hoping to come out with at least a B in this class. I had an 80 average going into the test this morning. My goal is to be on the Dean's List which requires all A's and B's.

This was the test I was worried about the most and thank goodness it's over, whatever the outcome. I still have four more tests to take this week and next. This is my countdown now, one down and four to go!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

13 responses

  1. That exam sounds like a nightmare!! Wow. I am so glad you got that one over with. Four more to go! Goodness. Hang in there, my friend. Will you be finished this time next week? I hope so. What about summer. Are you taking summer classes too? Good luck on the other four finals!

    April 26, 2010 at 9:16 am

  2. Yes, I will be finished this time next week. Thank goodness! Since I got the Accounting job, I am dropping down to probably one class instead of full time. I need a break but more than that, I need to be able to concentrate on learning a new job. I will be working two days a week with the Accountant, two to three days a week with American Greetings and I still have two houses that I clean. I don't think I can handle more than one class at a time. I don't want to quit though. That degree is important to me.

    April 26, 2010 at 9:23 am

  3. Wow. You are a wonder woman. How do you do it all?

    April 26, 2010 at 9:24 am

  4. You'll do great! That sort of test would stress me out though–I like to sit down and block out everything but the words on the page during a test–I don't know how well I'd handle racing around a room…

    April 26, 2010 at 9:30 am

  5. Yes, that part was difficult for me too. I'm like you, I like to sit down and be able to concentrate. I should say, I NEED to be able to sit down and concentrate…lol.

    April 26, 2010 at 9:41 am

  6. Hardly a wonder woman Freedom, but thanks for the ego booster. I could use it about now! lol I constantly remind myself that if I had done this when I was young like I was supposed to, it would have been a whole lot easier. It absolutely kills me when some of the kids say things like "I really didn't study but I made a B." I have to REALLY study to keep the grades up.

    April 26, 2010 at 9:53 am

  7. Thanks for vote of confidence Kimber, I need it!

    April 26, 2010 at 9:54 am

  8. This is an amazing thing you're doing. I went back several years ago, and just loved it but hated it too. So relieved when I finished!!

    April 26, 2010 at 12:20 pm

  9. Thanks Karen. I don't hate it, it's just exhausting. In the beginning, all I was doing was going to school and it was awesome. But I was offered a part time job with American Greetings as a merchandiser and I couldn't afford to turn it down. That complicated things. Now, getting to the end where everything ramps up with final exams and such, it's a bit overwhelming. I'm almost finished though.

    April 26, 2010 at 1:30 pm

  10. I am so proud of you for sticking with it and for working so hard!! It will mean a lot to you when you are finished. Good for you 🙂

    April 26, 2010 at 2:11 pm

  11. Thank you Freedom. Thank you very much.

    April 26, 2010 at 2:17 pm

  12. I think you are doing quite well considering the circumstances.I don't think it's age so much as that many of the young'uns don't have as many adult day-to-day responsibilities on their plate. You do. So do many nontrads (nontraditional students… just realized my abbreviation might not be understood by everyone).Don't sell yourself short 😉

    April 27, 2010 at 2:30 am

  13. **Sigh, stages of mitosis. Sounds quite familiar, LOL! I've known students who stress out the way you do and they invariably get As on their tests, so I bet you did too. Although it's an ordeal, hold on to your notebooks and texts. Biology is an amazing discipline and it can be applied to so many aspects of work life.
    Well done, now have yourself a cup of hot chocolate to reward yourself!

    April 27, 2010 at 8:56 am

Leave a Reply

