People Are Who They Are!

I’m Done!

My semester is over! Yeah! I'm so happy. My goal this semester was to make the Dean's List. I made the A's and B's necessary to get it, however, you need a GPA of 3.5 and mine was 3.45. How bad is that! Well, that's life, and I'm still extremely happy!

I started back to school because I was unemployed, so ultimately the main goal was to get a job. I got two jobs, plus I still have a couple of houses I clean. So I did accomplish that goal. I will continue with school, just not full time. That is so much harder than it sounds like it would be. I have a great deal of respect for anyone who goes to college full time, especially if they have to work or have a family while they do it.

The newest job I got is as an assistant to an Accountant. I thought at first she wanted me as a secretary, which was fine, but in talking to her the last couple of weeks, I discovered that she actually wants to teach me Accounting. Now I am really excited. It's only two days a week to start, but that's alright, as it gives me the time I will need to study the things she is teaching me. I also have my other job as a merchandiser for American Greetings to fill in the time and money, plus the two houses I clean.  So, as my brother always says, "It's all good!"

I am very happy and very exhausted. I am also filled with a sense of accomplishment that I haven't felt in a long time.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

15 responses

  1. shy

    congratulations! 3.45 is awesome!

    May 5, 2010 at 1:43 pm

  2. Thanks shy! I was very excited about it!

    May 5, 2010 at 1:47 pm

  3. That is terrific!!! What a wonderful GPA. I am so proud of you. You are such a hard worker. The the Accountant job is sounding very promising. Yah!!!! So great to hear good news :-)))))))

    May 5, 2010 at 2:02 pm

  4. Just think, though, if you hadn't frittered away all that time reading blogs on VOX (like mine …), you could have gotten that extra 0.05! LOLJust kidding, of course.Good for you! The bookkeeping thing with the accountant, that's kind of what I wanted to do at one time – with an eye towards becoming a CPA – but it didn't work out.And, good for the other jobs too. Better to have too many than too few.

    May 5, 2010 at 2:57 pm

  5. You know, I have to be honest and say, you are right. There were many days or nights that I should have been studying and would get bored or frustrated and get in here instead. Much more interesting. Especially your blogs! HA!Thank you very much though. I'm happy with it. Kind of frustrating to that close and not make it, but then, what fun would that of been. This will make for much more interesting conversation!I am very excited about the Accounting job. It's with an old friend of mine and we get along great so it will be a very relaxed atmosphere. I don't think I have much interest in changing my status in school to become a CPA. I've run my own business before and that is something that requires a great deal of responsibility. I'm just not really up for that. I'd much rather work for her and be a great employee and come home at night and be done with it. Thanks so much for the comment Grouchy. I enjoy your posts!

    May 5, 2010 at 3:05 pm

  6. Hey Freedom! Thank you so much. I'm so glad to be finished with the full time school. I was so relieved yesterday when I came home from the last test. I honestly didn't care what the grades were at that point! lol

    I'm excited now that even with all the different things I will still be doing, I will have some down time at home to do the things I enjoy, like being in here and keeping up with everyone! That's a part time job by itself. Too bad we don't get paid for this! lol

    May 5, 2010 at 3:09 pm

  7. No, I'd not want to work for myself either. I'd be an asshole to my employees … even if it was only me!

    May 5, 2010 at 3:14 pm

  8. Congratulations! Great GPA and sounds like a great start to the new job! It's all-good, indeed!

    May 6, 2010 at 7:29 am

  9. Thanks Steve. I started the new job today and it is going to be great! I'm very happy.

    May 6, 2010 at 6:13 pm

  10. Superb GPA. I am so happy for you and for your future. I was agonizing in our tech program when I got Bs instead of As – the head of the program told me that in his practice, B and C technicians were actually better employees than straight A technicians because the former were more focused on the big picture.

    May 7, 2010 at 5:44 pm

  11. Thanks Emmi. Great point. I should start looking at it that way! I pushed myself hard to make the Dean's List because I figured having "older" age against me, I needed to stand out. However, just being in school did the trick because both of the people that hired me said they picked me because I was in school. So, I am relaxing now anyway and intend to enjoy school from here on out. I am only taking one class this summer while I adjust to the new Accounting job. I will have a lot to learn working for her so I had to scale back on school.Welcome to my neighborhood! (Although I apologize because I thought I added you a while back. Sorry.)

    May 7, 2010 at 5:58 pm

  12. I had you added before, but I'm experimenting with private posts now. Too many spammers, trolls, bad stuff happening on Vox. So I had to change my friends / family / neighbors settings, still not sure it's going to work for me because some people can't seem to see my private posts.
    Anyway – it's only natural to strive for the best. It's good to be competitive, I certainly was. But I find those workers who have a certain "Zen", low stress, focus on the big picture, do best.
    That's not me, to be honest. I tend to stress way too much, control freak, all that. I try to emulate more calm and thoughtful coworkers, LOL!

    May 7, 2010 at 6:22 pm

  13. Ahhh, you sound like me. I've always been very competitive, very controlling and very territorial. It makes for a very hard worker but not always the best coworker. I get too frustrated when people around me don't do what I think they are supposed to be doing. It's caused me problems before but I've learned what kinds of jobs to stay away from because of it. You just have to know yourself and your own strengths and weaknesses. Not always a pretty site when you look in the mirror, but when you know you've given it 110% all day, you can lay your head down on the pillow at night and sleep good. That's what I care about more than anything.

    May 7, 2010 at 6:53 pm

  14. Congratulations! You should be very proud of your accomplishments! Best wishes with your new job!
    Denise 😉

    May 7, 2010 at 10:21 pm

  15. Congratulations!! Good on you for putting in the effort which is paying off with the jobs. You should feel very proud of yourself.

    May 8, 2010 at 3:27 am

Leave a Reply

