People Are Who They Are!

Happy Mother’s Day!

I wondered how Mother's Day began so I googled it. This is what I found on Wikipedia after a little digging.

Ann Maria Reeves Jarvis (September 30, 1832, Culpeper, Virginia — May 9, 1905, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania) was a social activist and organizer during and after the American Civil War. She and her daughter, Anna Marie Jarvis (1864–1948), are recognized as the founders of the Mother's Day holiday in the United States.

Jarvis worked throughout western Virginia (now West Virginia) to promote worker health and safety. During the American Civil War she organized women to tend to the needs of the wounded of both sides of the war conflict. After the war she became active in the promotion of a "Mothers' Work Day" that, unlike the modern version of the holiday, specially emphasized the causes of pacifism and social activism. She organized meetings of the mothers of soldiers of both sides of the late war.

Ann Maria Reeves Jarvis died in Philadelphia in 1905. In 1907, Jarvis' daughter, Anna Marie Jarvis, passed out 500 white carnations at her mother’s church, St. Andrew’s Church in Grafton, West Virginia—one for each mother in the congregation. The following year, she held a memorial to her mother in Grafton, West Virginia on May 10, 1908, and then embarked upon a campaign to make Mother's Day a recognized holiday, a goal which was achieved when President Woodrow Wilson declared it so in 1914.

I thought that was pretty interesting. I had never heard that story or thought to look it up. Wherever the holiday came from, I've always enjoyed it, whether it was celebrating my own mother, or having my children celebrate me.

I hope everyone out there in Vox Land has a wonderful Mother's Day Weekend! 

(I found this photo on Flicker!)

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

5 responses

  1. I hope you have a wonderful Mother's Day as well!! Wonderful story. I am glad that the modern Mother's Day is a celebration of mothers and that we get pampered and such. We all work so hard, I would not want a day set aside for us to work harder!! But it sounds as if the daughter was fine with how the holiday had changed and modernized.

    May 7, 2010 at 9:59 pm

  2. I just heard that story on our local news last night (Culpeper is not far from DC). When I was married to my ex husband we used to "celebrate" by doing everything on our respective days – on Mother's day I got to do all the chores etc and on Father's Day it was his turn. It was a kind of joke until our children got old enough to take it more seriously.

    May 8, 2010 at 3:25 am

  3. Wikipedia: it's a beautiful thing.

    May 8, 2010 at 3:51 am

  4. Happy to you too.

    May 8, 2010 at 3:51 am

  5. I read this same thing, and found it really interesting–I wanted to research it better and post on it, but haven't had the time!

    May 9, 2010 at 2:16 pm

Leave a comment