People Are Who They Are!

Some of My Favorite Black and Whites

I posted these because Freedom Smith and I were talking tonight about photos. I said, sometimes when I've taken a photo and I'm not real sure whether I'm really excited about it or not, I will black and white it. If I think it's really good in black and white, then I've probably got a good photo. These are some of my favorites.  These first two are of my niece and nephew. They were taken at different times, they just happen to be two of my favorites of a lot of the photos I have of them. My sister has these photos in 11 x 14's on her living room wall. She has the original color shots. One thing to me about black and whites is that you, or at least I, pay more attention to the detail of the photo itself when I am not distracted by the color. Like in this first one of Stephanie, her eyelashes almost touch her eyebrow. Her little smile is just a bit crooked. They are details you might not other wise pay much attention to.

In the picture of Tyler, he is just a cute kid and loves to have his picture taken. That's unusual for most boys, especially at his age.

These next two are also brother and sister. They are the children of a friend of mine. I just took these last week and their mother hasn't even seen them yet. The one of Kenady is slightly blurred but it gives it a smoky effect. I'm still not quite sure about it even in black and white, other than the child is just adorable and she posed herself for this picture. You can let me know what you think, because sometimes I'm not real sure of my eyesight. Is it blurred to bad to use? I hate to give it up. 

In the picture of Jett below, if you look close you will notice that he has one bottom tooth and the one next to it is breaking the skin. You can barely see it. He felt terrible all day that day as this tooth was coming through. His grandmother took him outside and we got him in a good mood long enough to get a few shots of him.

Anyway, I like black and whites. I'm not the greatest photographer, but then I don't try to get paid to do it either. I do luck out sometimes and get some good shots though.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

13 responses

  1. Wow…I love all four shots!! You are right…the black and white does show things that we might miss with color. Thank you for taking the time to post these for me. Stephanie and Tyler are wonderful. To get a good relaxed shot of a boy Tyler's age is a rare things!! I like the picture of Kenady. I think you are right…there is a tiny bit of movement but it does not take away from the picture. The picture of Jett gets the prize. What a precious picture, with the tooth showing. That one is my favorite, although all four are wonderful and I woudl frame them all šŸ™‚

    May 12, 2010 at 4:40 am

  2. One thing to me about black and whites is that you, or at least I, pay
    more attention to the detail of the photo itself when I am not
    distracted by the color.I think that's a very good way of putting it. Essentially, black and white is an example of a monochromatic scheme– the blacks, whites, and greys are all within one color type, and so it brings out a sharper contrast. Indeed, you notice more details that might otherwise be overlooked (literally, what our own internal filters– our brains– are leaving out. Our brains have to filter stuff out, y'know!). You can do this with other colors, of course– sepia filters skew everything more towards brown and yellow tones.

    May 12, 2010 at 5:09 pm

  3. These are wonderful!!! I love photos that capture the essence of people in the photos and all of these are so full of personality and win.

    May 12, 2010 at 8:51 pm

  4. Thank you Freedom. I just really enjoyed the hang glider shots in black and white that you had and I wanted you to see them from someone else's perspective. I paid a lot more attention to what was going on in the shots because they were in black and white. I'm really glad you liked these too. Kids are just so uninhibited that it is much easier to take a good shot of them.

    May 12, 2010 at 9:03 pm

  5. Thanks jak, I'm glad you agree with me. I guess I like black and white's because they take me back to a day when that's all there was. What few baby photos there are of me are in black and white. sssshhhhhhhh.

    May 12, 2010 at 9:05 pm

  6. Thanks LBreeze. These are some of my favorites. My favorites seem to normally be nature and landscape shots as I don't spend much time around people. But every now and then I get a good shot of one of the kids. The adults get ill because I take so many photos when I'm around, but in my experience, you've got to take a lot of shots before you get a really good one.

    May 12, 2010 at 9:08 pm

  7. That's so true. You do have to get lots of shots to get those special ones.

    May 12, 2010 at 9:11 pm

  8. You're quite welcome. It's all based on real art school concepts. You're familiar with film noir for cinematography, yes? You film in black and white and use particular lighting contrast to create dramatic effect. The original Twilight Zone series used it. The original Scarface movie used it. Frank Miller's recent Sin City movie used it. I can think of MTV music videos that were black and white for specific effect. Black and white mediums remain VERY powerful for expressive techniques.I guess I like black and white's because they take me back to a day when that's all there was.I think that's also why sepia and "antique" filters are also popular, because they mimic older photographic techniques and color technology. I don't doubt that nostalgia really is a big part of it.

    May 12, 2010 at 11:45 pm

  9. I adore close up shots of children and teens. Your black and whites showed so much of their personality. Great pictures!! Darling children šŸ™‚

    May 13, 2010 at 8:26 am

  10. I love black and white photography – though I hardly ever play around with it myself. Sometimes it just really seems to lift the expressions – I suppose it takes away the "clutter" of too many colours.

    May 17, 2010 at 5:53 pm

  11. I suppose it takes away the "clutter" of too many colours which can be distracting. LOL – I pressed Post too soon.

    May 17, 2010 at 5:54 pm

  12. They are great. Pics of children are the best, they are so natural and real.

    May 19, 2010 at 10:07 pm

  13. Thanks Louise. I like pictures of children too, especially snap shots.

    May 20, 2010 at 5:31 am

Leave a Reply

