People Are Who They Are!

Chantix

Well, I said I was going to do this and I am. I went to the Doctor on Monday and got the prescription for the Chantix. I went straight to Walmart and got it filled. First good thing was, the doctor gave me a coupon for the entire price of the first month. It is $140.00 for a month's prescription. That really bites if you don't have insurance. I don't, but the first month was free. The funny thing is, the price is the same thing you would spend on a pack of cigarettes a day, but you don't normally go buy a month's worth of cigarettes at one time, so it seems more difficult to come up with that money to fill the prescription.

Chantix delivers a certain amount of nicotine to your blood stream through the pill plus it has something in it for anxiety. The first week is 1/2 milligram doses and after that it goes up to 1 milligram. So, the way it is set up is the first three days of the first week you take one pill in the morning and that is 1/4 milligram. The fourth day you begin to take one pill in the morning and one at night and those two add up to 1/2 milligram. You continue smoking through this first week while the medication gets into your bloodstream. On the eighth day, you quit smoking and your dose that day goes up to the full milligram and stays there after that.

I did this about 2 years ago and it worked great. What I did wrong was not stay on the medication long enough. I thought I was good and quit spending the money on it after a couple of months. As soon as something bothered me after that though, I did what I had always done and reached for a cigarette. There was nothing in my system to help me stay away from it at that point. Once you smoke that first one, you are going to keep on. So I went back full time again quickly.

I started my forth day today which means I took one pill this morning and I'll take one tonight. My only problem right now is it does make you drowsy. I've only been on the 1/4 milligram dose the past three days and I am struggling to stay awake both working and driving. Today I called and postponed the house I was suppose to go clean because I am afraid to drive. I think the ideal way to do this would have been to be able to start the first week on a week of vacation. However, I have nothing but part time jobs so I don't get a week of vacation.

I will muddle through the problems. I am going to do this. This is day four. Four more days to smoke and then I stop, forever.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

16 responses

  1. Good luck with Chantix! It actually doesn't contain any nicotine, but is a nicotine-receptor partial agonist. This means it activates the nicotine pathways, but only a little. So rather than the blockers — which can really cause cravings, it should help you back off the need for nicotine.

    May 14, 2010 at 10:18 am

  2. Cool. Thanks Steve. I wasn't sure exactly how it worked, and frankly I don't care as long as it does work. I need to quit bad.

    May 14, 2010 at 4:31 pm

  3. Awesome!! I am so proud of you. I know it is tough, especially since it is making you drowsy. Keep up the good work!!!!!!

    May 14, 2010 at 4:45 pm

  4. Hang in there!

    May 14, 2010 at 4:47 pm

  5. Thanks Freedom. I went back to bed this morning and felt better when I woke up so I went and did some of my American Greetings work. At least the day wasn't a total loss. lol

    May 14, 2010 at 4:59 pm

  6. Keep it up. I think I'm making progress on my thing, too.

    May 14, 2010 at 5:34 pm

  7. Good, Ladywise!! I am glad you got some more sleep!

    May 14, 2010 at 5:53 pm

  8. Good luck with the new program. Sorry it is making you drowsy. I started taking some major pain meds last week so I could stand to walk without holding my leg stiff. Felt sort of funny at first, but now I'm making major mistakes at work. Not the kind that are going to hurt anyone, thank goodness. I'm just going to have to double check every thing I do.

    May 15, 2010 at 8:22 pm

  9. Thanks CbD. I'm sorry you are going through pain. I am allergic to everything for pain, so I hope I never get any kind of injury. I'll be up the creek without a paddle so to speak. I started the two pills a day yesterday and I guess my body is adjusting because though I do feel kind of tired, I'm not nodding out like I was. I went to work the last couple of days and did fine. Thank goodness.

    May 15, 2010 at 8:38 pm

  10. Glad your body seems to be adjusting. Hope mine does, too. I don't feel quite as weird as I did, but I'm discovering that I'm getting things mixed up. Glad you were able to go to work. I need to have my knee replaced, but I'll have to get my mind wrapped around the idea for being laid up for quite awhile. I get cabin fever it I'm home for more than a couple of days.

    May 15, 2010 at 9:15 pm

  11. The lady I clean house for is going in for a knee replacement, I believe next week. She wasn't scheduled until June or July but they had a cancellation and asked her did she want to go early and she said yes. I'll let you know how it goes. She's not looking forward to being laid up either. She takes care of her mother, her mother-in-law, and babysits four of her grandchildren for her daughters to work. That's why she has me to clean the house for her! lol God Bless that woman.

    May 16, 2010 at 7:32 am

  12. OMG! Do let me know how it goes for her. I don't have that many responsibilities, but I'm not good at just sitting around either.

    May 16, 2010 at 5:27 pm

  13. May it all go well with you. I know it's not easy, but you can do this!

    May 16, 2010 at 9:38 pm

  14. Thanks Lori. I haven't seen you in a while. How are you doing?

    May 16, 2010 at 9:49 pm

  15. Hi there. I'm doing great!! May has been the BUSIEST month ever so I feel a bit out of touch. But… life is good!!

    May 16, 2010 at 9:58 pm

  16. Cimmy told me I'm at the two week mark today. I'm not sure if it's been that long. Still gnaws at me. Keep me posted on how you're doing!

    May 16, 2010 at 11:28 pm

Leave a Reply

