People Are Who They Are!

Day 1

Well, day 1 is almost over and no cigarettes! Hoo hoo! I actually did really good today. I was amazed. I got up this morning and took the cigarette pack the lighter and the ashtray and chunked them in the garbage can, then pulled the bag out and tied it up and threw it outside. That was the very first thing this morning. I had a long drive to work, which I thought that would be difficult because I usually smoke a lot when I'm driving, but I was fine with that. Then I got to work and my boss smokes but she smokes outside. It didn't bother me when she came back in smelling like a cigarette though. I've gotten back home and worked on cutting the grass a little bit and I feel absolutely wonderful. Day one down. I had a lady that quit years ago tell me to take it one hour at the time. That was good.

I really want to thank everyone so much for all the comments and support. I need that more than you know. If I didn't get back to your comment, please forgive me. I'm really trying not to sit here too long at the time right now because this is where I really smoke the most.

I'll let you know how tomorrow goes!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

13 responses

  1. Congratulations!! That is wonderful news. I am so proud of you. Taking things 1 hour at a time as wonderful advice. Sometimes, one minute at a time. Keep up the good work. ((hugs, hugs))

    May 18, 2010 at 5:35 pm

  2. I had a lady that quit years ago tell me to take it one hour at the time.I remember now! That is what I did. When I felt like a smoke, I'd tell myself to wait another hour. Then another hour, and so on… Eventually, when my body realised it wasn't going to get its nicotine fix, it gave up asking. You're going well. Keeping fingers crossed for you.

    May 18, 2010 at 5:40 pm

  3. One hour at a time will soon expand into one day at a time! Congratulations on getting through your first set.

    May 18, 2010 at 6:26 pm

  4. Yay, Congrats! Getting through the first part for some people is the most challenging. On my worst days I just had to have a motto: stop and take a step back, and think first. That worked well to stave off temptation – it dissapates eventually.

    May 18, 2010 at 6:27 pm

  5. Good for you. Sounds like you had a great day. Way to go!!!

    May 18, 2010 at 7:24 pm

  6. shy

    where you are from, is it illegal to smoke inside? we have a smoking ban for inside public places, work as well as certain distances from employee/public entrances. we don't even have a smoking section at restaurants and bars anymore.

    May 19, 2010 at 5:28 am

  7. Right now, while reading your entry, I remembered another story by a blog-friend. She told herself for 14 days every morning that cigarettes taste like sh"¤&"#¤. After 14 days she lit a cigarette made one drag and couldn't stand the taste any longer. I loved that story. Shows really how much of it is also in our heads.Congrats for day 1!

    May 19, 2010 at 8:19 am

  8. Good Job! And don't worry about replying to my comments, girl–you just do what you have to do. I'm blocking all comments on my posts right now–not because I don't appreciate them–but I get all stressed about replying to everyone, and I just don't have the energy right now to do more than is absolutely necessary (which this was!).

    May 19, 2010 at 9:48 am

  9. Yes, there are smoking bans everywhere just like there. Hospitals and stuff have designated areas way away from the main entrances where you have to go to smoke. Definitely can't smoke indoors anywhere.

    May 19, 2010 at 4:07 pm

  10. Thanks Irony. I've been on a big kick about the smell of them. I know I smell like a cigarette all the time to non smokers and my house and car all smell bad from them. So I cleaned everything real good and pushing that issue with myself. I want to feel and smell clean.

    May 19, 2010 at 4:09 pm

  11. Keep on keeping on, one minute, one hour at a time. So glad you are feeling better. I had a rough day today. I was upset, I ate too much, and my knee was killing me all day. I understand if you don't reply. I'm just so happy that you are doing so well. Way to go, gf!

    May 19, 2010 at 7:17 pm

  12. I'm sorry your knee hurts. I talked to the lady I clean for today who is having her knee replacement Monday. She has already had one done and but it was quite a few years ago. She said it was extremely painful, but that it had been well worth it to be able to walk without the pain. She is hoping that they have improved things and that this one won't be as bad. I'll keep you posted.Thanks for the encouragement. I slipped up tonight. Have to start over tomorrow.

    May 19, 2010 at 7:56 pm

  13. Keep the faith! I slipped up big time yesterday, but today is a new day. Keep me posted about the lady and her surgery. My knee feels better today.

    May 20, 2010 at 9:06 am

Leave a Reply

