People Are Who They Are!

Thank you everyone!

I thought instead of trying to answer all of the comments individually I would just thank you all at once. Everyone has been so supportive about this whole thing and I really do appreciate it.

I am not beating myself up. I figured it wasn't worth killing myself over. The cigarettes haven't killed me in 40 years, maybe they won't for another 40! lol I am actually very healthy to be a smoker. When I was at the doctor to get the prescription everything checked out great. My blood pressure is perfect and everything else was good. I need to loose about 20 pounds but other than that I'm good and I feel good. I did cut my smoking down during this so I'm just going to try to keep it that way.

I want to say that I really enjoy being here on Vox every day. I've made so many good friends here. I love that I can write about whatever I want to and be open and honest about stuff and I am like a kid waiting to read the comments from everyone. I also love reading everyone else's posts and commenting back to you. Thank you all so much for being my friends.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

17 responses

  1. Good for you! Keep it up. 🙂

    May 26, 2010 at 9:25 pm

  2. Thanks jak.

    May 26, 2010 at 9:31 pm

  3. So glad to see you here!! I have missed you. Good for you for trying to even cut back. We all try things and sometimes, it works….sometimes not. We love you, just the same!

    May 26, 2010 at 11:31 pm

  4. Hang in there! You are precious just the way you are and we love you just the way you are. Cutting back is a really good thing.
    I'm going to the doctor next week to schedule my knee surgery. The pain meds just aren't cutting it.

    May 27, 2010 at 6:54 am

  5. Keep it up you don't have to do it all in a week or month…you have been smoking for years it might take a few months to quit…just think of the good example you are setting for your children.

    May 27, 2010 at 9:56 am

  6. Progression not perfection. That's my motto.

    May 27, 2010 at 1:14 pm

  7. Thanks CbD! What a sweet thing to say! I'm going to the lady's house tomorrow that just had her knee surgery done. I'll let you know how it went.

    May 27, 2010 at 6:34 pm

  8. Thanks Maureen. I appreciate that. I'll keep working on it.

    May 27, 2010 at 6:35 pm

  9. I would really appreciate that.

    May 27, 2010 at 8:09 pm

  10. Don't give up just keep plugging away and pretty soon you will be free of cigs.

    May 29, 2010 at 3:43 pm

  11. Thanks Maureen. I will.

    May 29, 2010 at 5:58 pm

  12. I've just been catching up with things in your corner of the world. Ugh – quitting is so hard (and yet so easy in the times it goes smoothly). I've been up for two hours, and managed to be cig free so far. I'm trying to work it to block off areas of my day when I don't smoke. I now get through a whole work day without smoking (but I pull up with a smoke on my lips, and I light up as soon as I get in the car). Today I am starting to try to not smoke before midday on any day that I am home all morning. I don't know if this strategy will work to get me completely quit, but it's got to help, right? 😛

    May 31, 2010 at 5:19 am

  13. I wouldn't have pegged you for a smoker with all the hiking around you do. Just goes to show you don't know much about people here. Yes, anything helps. Sitting in front of this computer with mine sitting beside me is my downfall. I don't have porches built outside yet here or I would make myself smoke outside and that would help cut me way down. When I'm at someone else's house I don't smoke much at all because I have to get up and go outside. Please keep working on it LOM. You are too young and too pretty to smoke. You have great things to do in this life and smoking will just slow you down. One thing I have going for me I think is I don't do a deep inhale. I've seen people smoke that seem to take a very deep breath in when they hit a cigarette. Try working on it from that perspective too. Just don't inhale it as deep. Good luck with it. Please let me know how you are doing. I'm so happy you are working on quitting.

    May 31, 2010 at 8:26 am

  14. My Love also smokes … that makes it hard for me to quit, as I love sitting out on the back steps smoking with him and talking about stuff. I'm also very overweight (no, seriously) – but I'm so active and fit, people find that hard to believe. I also don't do the deep inhale. Also, the brand of cigarettes I buy has about a tenth of the nicotine, so that helps with the physical addiction – but unfortunately they have about 40x the tar of regular ones. Sigh. Still, I'm down to under eight cigarettes on what I'd consider to be a "heavy" smoking day now. You're so right. Smoking just sucks my energy right out of me. Slows me down terribly. As for how I'm going … well it's eleven thirty am, and I haven't had one yet. I'll probably be running outside as fast as I can at twelve, but that's ok, I give myself permission to do that. Baby steps.

    May 31, 2010 at 8:34 am

  15. Yes baby steps. That's what it takes. I think we are so used to immediate gratification today that it is difficult to grasp the concept again of baby steps. That's the way I've been doing things, in baby steps, and I don't beat myself up if I fall. I just get up and go at it again in more baby steps. You are doing great. Pat yourself on the back and keep stepping.

    May 31, 2010 at 10:24 am

  16. I don't know if it's very helpful in the long run, but I find giving myself permission to "fail" at certain times, actually plan for it, then it helps. Today I made a plan of getting through to midday, and I actually made it to 2pm before having a smoke. That made it an achievement, rather than a failure. Now I only have to make it to six before I can "fail" again – anything beyond that is such an achievement, imagine if I can make it the whole evening! 😀

    May 31, 2010 at 11:13 am

  17. Don't look at it as failing LOM. You definitely are not failing, and if it's of consequence to you, you are doing a hell of a lot better than I am, I assure you! Maybe I will try your strategy on myself.

    May 31, 2010 at 11:39 am

Leave a Reply

