People Are Who They Are!

A Great Success!

I was able to go and do a little shopping yesterday. It's the first time I've been able to do that in a long time. I haven't bought clothes in two years, so needless to say the things I wear all the time were looking a bit tainted. I'm still a blue jean baby from the 70's so I headed straight for the jeans. I picked up the size I've been in for quite a while and much to my amazement they were way too big. I knew I'd been pulling my belt a little tighter lately, but I didn't give myself the benefit of the doubt there. Ecstatic, I got dressed again and headed back out through the store to change the size. I got a size smaller, went back to the dressing room, tried on a couple of more pair, and guess what? They were too big too. I redressed as fast as I could, grinning ear to ear, and went back out for another size smaller. They fit perfect! I haven't been that excited in I don't know when. Two sizes! I have lost two sizes in pants! I am absolutely elated. So I treated myself to two new very cute pairs of jeans, four shirts, and a crisp white pair of tennis shoes. The shoes definitely topped it all off as it put a little more bounce in my step. I'm so happy!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

14 responses

  1. Congratulations!! That is fabulous. What an amazing surprise…..to drop two sizes. Wow! I am glad you found some clothes you are excited about. Sounds like some very good outfits. I hope you enjoy them πŸ™‚

    May 29, 2010 at 11:23 pm

  2. Thanks Freedom. It was very fun! The best thing about it was, I spent $140, right?. I told Joey about it and how happy I was and this morning when I checked my bank account, he had deposited $100 of it back in there for me! He's such a great brother. How wonderful is that!

    May 29, 2010 at 11:31 pm

  3. Excellent!

    May 30, 2010 at 1:52 am

  4. Very cool and good..that is something you take with you..present it..and take it home when you leave..like the old song says..'bring it with you when you come'..Peace Tony

    May 30, 2010 at 7:42 am

  5. Thanks jak, it really made me feel good about myself.

    May 30, 2010 at 7:49 am

  6. Thanks Tony. I really thought it was very cool.

    May 30, 2010 at 7:50 am

  7. shy

    don't you just love it when that happens? congrats. πŸ™‚

    May 30, 2010 at 8:27 am

  8. Thanks shy. Yes I do love it when that happens! I never had a weight problem until the last couple of years. I'm sure it was nothing more than the depression I went through being unemployed. I've always done physical jobs and all of a sudden I was sitting around doing nothing. I'm back being physical and not eating my depression away, so that alone has helped. Now, I'm really paying attention to what I eat and when I eat it, and it's obviously helping. I really want my body back! lol

    May 30, 2010 at 9:55 am

  9. YEA!!! That's the best feeling. That, with your peppy new haircut, and you're a new woman!

    May 30, 2010 at 10:25 pm

  10. I really am! I feel so good. My brother and I both have grown problem children and I was telling him today that we both just have to keep on doing what we've been doing. We have both made great strides in small steps at a time and we just have to keep on it. I told him that I wish I had before and after pictures of myself from the last few months because I really do look and feel like a different person. It's absolutely amazing what you can do if you set your mind to it and take it one baby step at a time. You don't get in the ruts you get in overnight and you don't come out of them overnight either. Anyway, thank you so much Kimmers. I hope you are having a great Memorial weekend so far.

    May 30, 2010 at 10:35 pm

  11. Woo hoo, that must be a great feeling! πŸ˜€

    May 31, 2010 at 5:21 am

  12. Thank LOM. It is a great feeling!

    May 31, 2010 at 8:28 am

  13. Hey–have been going nuts around here, but came over and caught up on things–loved your memorial post. I love it when you write from the heart! And hooray for the new jeans! There is NOTHING like brand new jeans to make you look and feel great, I think. The cabbages crack me up! What in the world is he going to do with them?

    June 4, 2010 at 8:28 am

  14. Kimber, I miss you! Did you start school? You're going to have to quit. It's taking up entirely too much of your time! lol
    Thank you so much for the compliment about writing. I do love to write. I do struggle with it though because I get into these emotional moods and I worry that people will think I'm depressing. I just have a big heart and I don't think I've ever been able to express myself enough. I love it here that I can write from the heart like that and not only get positive feedback for it, but know that I can pull those emotions out of others as well.
    Loosing the weight has been great! The smaller you get, the cuter the jeans are!
    My brother in law and his father and nephew grow these huge gardens every year. They eat good out of them of course and they will sell a little, but they end up giving a lot of it away. Good for the neighbors anyway. I guess the whole neighborhood will be eating lots of cabbage. He also had purple cabbage (that big also), brussel sprouts, cauliflower, broccoli, corn and tomatoes growing. Yum!

    June 4, 2010 at 7:26 pm

Leave a Reply

