People Are Who They Are!

Wednesday Night on the Farm

I spent the evening with both my sister's yesterday. It isn't often that the three of us get together. We were at my youngest sister's house and they grow a massive garden every year. My brother in law wanted us to see the huge cabbages he has growing out there so we took a walk down to the garden. My niece Stephanie, now almost three years old, led the way. She helps out in the garden! She is a country girl, believe me.

I took a few pictures while we were there and I thought these worked well in black and white. I hope you enjoy these as much as I did.

We guessed that the cabbages in the plant in front of her and the one behind her are about fifteen pounds already. They are too big to fit in between the shelves in the fridge when picked.

This is a big old rusty tractor sitting out in the field. I was able to get a few really good photos of Stephanie on it. She is so much fun to be around.


She really enjoyed getting up on it and driving it!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

21 responses

  1. I cannot believe how large the cabbages are! Wow. Your pictures are terrific. Stephanie is darling. Love the black and white shots. So glad you got to see your sisters yesterday and your niece!

    June 3, 2010 at 6:33 pm

  2. Thanks Freedom. I really enjoyed it. My sisters and I don't all three get together very often and we have a lot of fun when we do.

    June 3, 2010 at 6:51 pm

  3. Well goll-ee, them's some huge cabbages! You could make enough coleslaw to feed an army!

    June 3, 2010 at 7:56 pm

  4. Wow…these are so good!!! She almost looks like a little fairy princess (minus the wings) out among the giant cabbages.

    June 3, 2010 at 8:44 pm

  5. Thanks LBreeze. I hadn't thought about that but she does doesn't she. We were calling her our Cabbage Patch kid. She's such a good sport about me taking tons of pictures of her.

    June 3, 2010 at 9:09 pm

  6. The second photo is incredibly striking. Her eyes and smile…lots of wow!!!

    June 3, 2010 at 9:32 pm

  7. So what do they do with cabbages that big? Process for lots of soup and coleslaw? Hehe. Great pictures.

    June 3, 2010 at 11:12 pm

  8. Thank you LBreeze. I actually took that photo after I did this post and copied it and cropped it in closer and it really is great. She is just a beautiful child and very photogenic. I literally have 100's of pictures of her because I stayed with them for a while before I bought my place. My sister doesn't have the internet so I am going today and get a print done of it for her.

    June 4, 2010 at 5:44 am

  9. Give away to lots of neighbors! lol

    June 4, 2010 at 5:45 am

  10. I wish I could stand in front of an old rusty tractor and still look that good! lol

    June 4, 2010 at 5:47 am

  11. I'm sure your sister will LOVE the photo.

    June 4, 2010 at 11:08 pm

  12. What a doll! Sweet ๐Ÿ˜‰

    June 5, 2010 at 3:12 pm

  13. OMG look at those cabbages. It makes her look like some sort of little fairy, flitting among them. ๐Ÿ˜›

    June 6, 2010 at 5:00 am

  14. lol Kimmers. Yes, they do end up feeding half of the neighborhood with this garden. I guess it's easier if you can just give them one head of cabbage that lasts a week instead of a bunch of little ones!

    June 6, 2010 at 5:23 am

  15. Thanks Irony. She is very photogenic. I love taking pictures of her. My sister just saw the pictures yesterday, I had them printed for her and she said "I sure am glad you did them in black and white so you can't see how dirty she was!" lol

    June 6, 2010 at 5:25 am

  16. Ahh who are we kidding. Every kid that age is dirty :))

    June 6, 2010 at 9:15 am

  17. I know right? And she lives in the country and stays outside all day and rides on the tractor and the four wheelers and rambles through the garden with her dad. Of course she's dirty! lol

    June 6, 2010 at 9:17 am

  18. I love love love black and white photos. It's a lost art. These are so cool, they could be in a photography book. The old way of life in a modern world, and with the next generation.

    June 6, 2010 at 1:06 pm

  19. Thank you Emmi! What a great idea. I am always thinking of ideas for writing and photos. That is definitely a good one. A coffee table book of black and whites. hmmmm

    June 6, 2010 at 1:13 pm

  20. Did they feed those cabbages steroids?!!! The photos remind me of my childhood – I love the one of her driving the tractor. I enjoy getting together with my sisters too – it only happens once a year when I go home but it's nice.

    June 6, 2010 at 4:11 pm

  21. Apparently the seed or however you start them said they would get to 50 pounds. I said "What in the world would you do with 50 pound cabbage!" I think it's funny. He says he's going to leave a couple of them out there and see how big they will get.The one of her in front of the wheel is my favorite. I took all three and had them printed as 11 x 17's Friday night. My sister loved them. I'm going to frame the one in front of the tractor and hang it in my living room.

    June 6, 2010 at 4:48 pm

Leave a Reply

