People Are Who They Are!

Home Sweet Home

I spent the night at my sister's house Friday night. She has a very small three bedroom house. I say three bedrooms, but she only uses one of the bedrooms as a bedroom. One is like a huge closet and the other is an office. Her husband sleeps on the couch so if I spend the night, I sleep with her.
 

I got there kind of late Friday evening and when we went to bed, we laid there and talked for several hours. She's been in touch with a lot of old friends on Face book and so we laughed and reminisced until the wee hours of the morning. At one point she got up and went to the kitchen and brought us back cookies and milk and we sat in the middle of the bed and ate like little girls again. It was so much fun.

I love going there because my sister is so much like my mom was and her home is just like my mom's always was. There is nothing fancy, just all the little trinkets and pictures and memories you would expect to find at your grandmother's house. What I really love at her house is her yard.


She has flower beds and bird houses and swings and all sorts of stuff around the yard. A very country setting and everything just seems to work together very well.

She lives next door to a house that my mom and step dad built. My mom loved that house and spent many hours out in the yard.


The Teal's, an elderly couple, bought mom's house and they knew her and loved her very much. I go over and walk through their yard when I'm there because a lot of the plants and shrubs that are there now, my mom planted.


Saturday morning I took a walk through both yards and took pictures. A lot of the flowers are blooming. There are blueberry bushes and crab apple trees starting to bare. If you walk way to the back of the property, there is a special place the Teal's made that I love to go.


I posted a story a while back about taking my mom shopping for her birthday one year. After shopping all day she hadn't found a thing she wanted me to buy her. On the way home, we passed a place that sells concrete statues and stuff for the yard. She had really looked at a couple of deer there but insisted they were too expensive and didn't want me to buy them for her. After I took her home, I went back and paid for them, a doe and a buck, and had them delivered to her. She was ecstatic. 


A few days later she called me and said I needed to get over there. Thinking something was wrong, I rushed over and she took me out to the yard. "Look!" she said. "My deer had a baby last night!" She had giggled like a little girl over this and I loved it. She had gone back to the place and bought the baby that went with the set.

So, a few months ago, my sister and Mr. and Mrs. Teal walked me out to the back of their property to show me this special place they had made. They had taken all the deer and put them in this clearing with a swing and flowers all around. It's a beautiful quiet little place to go and sit. I absolutely love it.


Saturday morning, everyone was gone at both houses, so I walked through the yard and back to the clearing and took a bunch of pictures and then just sat for a while. It's very peaceful. I was actually able to enjoy it without crying or being sad. It's was really nice.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

20 responses

  1. It's nice that they left the deer there as a "tribute" to your mom, so to speak.

    June 6, 2010 at 3:28 pm

  2. Beautiful post. Beautiful pictures. Thank you.

    June 6, 2010 at 3:39 pm

  3. It is really nice what they have done with the deer and making a reflective space. I love the hydrangea – I have pink ones – one each side of my back gate – I must change the acidity of one's soil to make it blue/purple. Mmm – but then I like the symmetry of two pink ones – maybe I need to plant a blue/purple one in the front. 🙂 I love the idea of sitting up in bed in the middle of the night – just like sleepovers from years gone by.

    June 6, 2010 at 4:09 pm

  4. Oh it is so nice Grouchy. I just cried like a baby the first time I saw it. Those deer have been moved around a lot over the years. Mom lived in another house after this one and she took them there. Then my sister had them after mom died and she lived in a different house. When she moved here, she didn't have a yard at all and asked the Teal's if they would take the deer over there so they could be back home as that's where she lived when I bought them for her. They were happy to oblige and ended up putting them back there in the clearing where they are now. They are wonderfully sweet people and I am always told that I am welcome to come over any time and visit.

    June 6, 2010 at 4:39 pm

  5. Thank you kimmers. You are always so sweet.

    June 6, 2010 at 4:40 pm

  6. Thank you Emjay. I actually was talking to a friend of mine the other day about the hydrangeas changing colors. She has a purple one that was blue when she planted it. That's exactly what she said about it was that the acidity of the soil changes and causes them to change colors. I see a lot of blue ones around here. I don't think I've ever seen a pink one really. My sister and I had so much fun. We giggled like little girls all night. We always slept together when we were young being in a big family. She was funny because before we went to bed, she was giving me all these rules, like not to kick her during the night like I used to and if I had to get up not to crawl over her like I used to, to go to the foot of the bed. It was hilarious.

    June 6, 2010 at 4:45 pm

  7. Jan

    What a great story and such good pictures. I can just imagine that little clearing as almost a sanctuary and the significance of the deer family makes it even better. The Teals sound like special people for sure.When I was living elsewhere, I'd visit a couple of times a year and my sister and I would always stay up way late eating junk food and laughing and everything/nothing. Your story of your night with your sister made me smile remembering that.Nice.

    June 6, 2010 at 5:59 pm

  8. Thanks Jan. It's especially funny if you know that we are in our 50's now. We haven't slept at each others house and especially in the same bed for many many years. It was like being young again and we acted like we were young. We decided to have "sleep overs" more often.

    June 6, 2010 at 6:23 pm

  9. Why am I crying . . . my sisters, brothers and parents are gone and I live 3,000 miles from any hometown memories. I was so touched by your memories, thanks you – gotta go get some more kleenex.

    June 6, 2010 at 6:46 pm

  10. Oh thank you trailblazer. I'm sorry it made you sad but proud that I can relay it in a way that you can feel it at the same time. I am so sorry that all of your family are gone. As bad as I miss my mom I can't even imagine what it will be like to loose my brothers and sisters too. I have so many wonderful memories of my mom and I am lucky enough to have my sisters and brothers close to me.

    June 6, 2010 at 7:09 pm

  11. Beautiful pictures, beautiful story, both two halves of a wonderful whole put together.

    June 6, 2010 at 9:28 pm

  12. Thank you jak. That's a great way to look at it.

    June 6, 2010 at 10:01 pm

  13. How beautiful! I'd take that house too, without any hesitation. Including the bird house 😉

    June 7, 2010 at 5:30 am

  14. OMG, you would die if you saw the whole thing. There is a nice little sun room on the back of it and they paid $27,000 for it with 3 acres of land. I had no idea that mom sold it that cheap when they sold it or I would have bought it myself and left my mother there. She cried so hard for days when they sold that house. But she was so private about everything we didn't know.

    June 7, 2010 at 7:04 am

  15. Probably, LOL. It's the type of house I kind of dream of owning. (But make that a subject to change – being the Interior type I do change my mind sometimes ;)…) At that pricing I, most likely, would have fainted. The 60m2 (roughly 600 square foot) apartment I live in costs 409 000$ at today's $ rate

    June 7, 2010 at 7:20 am

  16. Wow! What a beautiful post. My sisters all live far away–like 24 hour drive! What a great visit!

    June 7, 2010 at 11:09 am

  17. Oh thank you Kimber. It was a lot of fun. I'm sorry your sisters aren't close by. Mine are about an hour away. Just far enough that we don't see too much of each other but do get to see each other enough. I miss you being here.

    June 7, 2010 at 1:08 pm

  18. That was a beautiful post. I have no sisters, but could feel the feelings. You could turn it into a story or short book — it was so interesting and universal. Warm inside ….

    June 7, 2010 at 4:29 pm

  19. Thank you Katherine. That was so nice of you to say. You know, I have always wanted to write and while I did write some, no one ever really read anything. Since I have been on here the last few months, I have gotten such great feed back on the posts that I've done like this, I'm really giving it some serious consideration. I guess I've always thought that if you were going to write, you needed to write a novel, but short books do sell don't they. Thank you again for the compliment. I can't tell you how great it makes me feel.

    June 7, 2010 at 7:18 pm

  20. So sorry I missed this post. I am glad I came to your page and checked. It sounds like you and your sister had a wonderful time. Cookies in bed in the middle of the night!! How fun. So, her husband always sleeps on the couch? *giggle*

    June 7, 2010 at 10:32 pm

Leave a Reply

