People Are Who They Are!

The Hidden Arm

Kimber wrote a post yesterday about not being able to handle seeing her child hurt. Very understandable to me since I grew up with a mother that fainted at the sight of blood or any other damage for that matter. I could tell many stories about that, but one in particular was extremely funny.

My oldest brother Delane, was about fifteen so I was probably about nine when this happened. Delane and one of his friends were playing in the yard across the street. Whatever they were playing with went up on the roof of the house and stayed. Delane was going to be the hero and climbed up on the roof to retrieve it. He fell off of the roof. When he fell, he landed on his arm and broke the big bone between the wrist and elbow. It snapped and so the bone, instead of going straight anymore did like a zigzag. It was very obvious that it was broken.

My father was in the Army and we lived in walking distance of the base, where there was a hospital. Now Delane knew that mom would faint if she saw it, so he walked in the house with his arm behind his back. He was very calm and said "Mom, I'll be back in a little while."

"Where are you going?" she asked.

"Well, uh, I'm going to walk up to Fort Mac to the hospital and get them to take a look at my arm" he said.

"Why?"

With the arm still well hidden behind his back he said, "Well, I think I broke my arm."

She kind of laughed and said, "Why do you think you broke your arm Delane? Let me see it."

He stood there and shook his head no. "I don't think you want to see it mom. I'm pretty sure it's broken. I'll just be back in a little while."

Realizing he was serious, she got concerned. "I want to see it", she said sternly.

"Mom, you really don't want to see it, I promise you. Just let me go will you? I'll be careful and I'll come straight back."

She stomped her foot (she did that when she was really frustrated) and said "You show me your arm right now."

Delane looked around at us and said "Are ya'll ready?"

My sister and I looked at each other and said "Yea. We'll take care of her."

Delane pulled his arm out from behind his back and said "See! I told you it was broke."

We all stood there giggling as we caught mom before she hit the floor.

"Tell her I'll be back in a little while" he said, and out the door he went.

We had many laughs about that little episode over the years. Mom always felt bad that she never could deal with anything but we always tried to assure her that it had been good for us because we learned to take care of each other. I wouldn't even want to try to count the number of times someone had a broken bone or stitches out of the five of us. We played outside all the time and that was just part of it as far as we were concerned.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

40 responses

  1. That really is a funny story. Your brother must have been a very calm person. He must have been in tremendous pain. Ugh!!! It sounds like you and your siblings were all very close.

    June 8, 2010 at 6:21 pm

  2. Thanks LBreeze. He was and still is a very calm person. I broke my thumb once and it actually takes a while for the pain to set in. Once it does though, it hurts really bad! lolWe are all close to be as old as we are. My brother Delane lives in Alaska right now. He's never been a "settled soul", and has moved around a lot. We figure he'll be back soon though. lol He and my younger brother are not close at all. They had a falling out a few years back and can't seem to get past it. Me and my two sisters are close but I think me and my younger brother are closer than any of us.He travels for a living and he and I talk every day on the phone. We own the place I live in together and he takes care of me pretty much. It's nice to have that since our mother is gone.

    June 8, 2010 at 6:46 pm

  3. What a great story!!! I love that your mom stomped her foot and insisted and your brother asked if you all were ready. That is great!!!!!

    June 8, 2010 at 8:39 pm

  4. Ha, that was a great story! I can just see your mother now getting all upset about the broken arm. My mother wasn't good about things like that either still isn't.

    June 8, 2010 at 8:49 pm

  5. Thanks Freedom. I told Kimber earlier that I was always great with treating wounds and dealing with stuff until I got older. My kids fortunately never had but a couple of things happen that bothered me until my daughter was in labor with her second child. I went in with her to have her epidural and fainted. She laughed at me. Oh well. Kimber's post made me think about how bad mom was. She couldn't look at blood at all, not even her own. It actually was comical to see us all scramble when someone got hurt so we could hide it from mom. If she ever fainted you had double trouble to deal with. My younger brother Joey was a big Evil Knievel fan. He made ramps and jumped them with his bicycle all the time and I don't know how many times he busted something open on himself and needed stitches. It was always a mad dash to hide him from mom and then decide if "WE" thought he needed stitches or not. Poor kid! lol

    June 8, 2010 at 8:56 pm

  6. Thanks Maureen. I always thought that was so funny. Mom didn't, but she was a good sport about us telling it. I'm so glad you still have your mom! That's wonderful.

    June 8, 2010 at 9:02 pm

  7. Yes my mom turned 91 this year she is here but then again not here…she has no memory left…I guess that is what having 6 kids does to you.

    June 8, 2010 at 9:43 pm

  8. Bless her heart. My grandmother had Alzheimers. I know how hard that is to deal with.

    June 8, 2010 at 11:24 pm

  9. LOL thanks for a good laugh. Great way to start the day, and this morning I needed it.How funny, when the kids kind of become the parent and the parent the kid.Love the way your brother was so calm about it.

    June 8, 2010 at 11:35 pm

  10. Hilarious! Your brother was certainly in control though!

    June 9, 2010 at 1:22 am

  11. Well, I think we knew early on that we wore her out so it was alright that she had weaknesses and we didn't mind becoming the parent figures. I think it helped to make us all "survivor" personalities as well, something I really am grateful for having learned.

    June 9, 2010 at 6:43 am

  12. Thanks FD. Most of the time he was cool, calm and collected as they say. I guess you learn that when you are the oldest of five.

    June 9, 2010 at 6:47 am

  13. Thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed it. Did you need a good laugh after the plane ticket ordeal? Is everything alright otherwise?

    June 9, 2010 at 6:49 am

  14. I got over the plane ticket booking pretty fast. I just had to vent then and there.But I slept not well last night and felt how I was getting of bed in a bad mood. But reading your blog changed all that.So I left the house with a smile on my face.

    June 9, 2010 at 7:06 am

  15. Oh, I'm sorry you didn't sleep well. I have those nights myself quite often. It seems the older I get, the more difficulty I have getting a good nights sleep. I am really glad my blog helped though. You know, I come on here for that for the most part. Reading other people's posts helps me to deal with my feelings so much. It seems like they are right on for what I need at the time too. When I need a good laugh, someone has a good funny post that gives me that laugh. When I am down and out, someone else will have been down and out and I can empathize with them and it helps me to realize that I am not the only one with problems. I love being on here and most of all I love having friends all over the world. I'm so happy I could give you a smile when you needed one Irony.

    June 9, 2010 at 7:14 am

  16. Wow, that is funny! My son did the ramps too and had a rail to skateboard on. I have the hardest time with gruesome bloody accidents. I do the best I can but if Chad is here, sometimes he comes and helps. And if Mr is here, he handles it completely 🙂

    June 9, 2010 at 7:55 am

  17. You are so sweet, I haven't heard that phrase "bless her hear" in many years and it brings back wonderful memories of my time in Alabama…thanks!

    June 9, 2010 at 7:57 am

  18. Oh Wow! That's so funny! What a good group of kids to recognize Mom's weakness and deal with it–makes me feel better about my own phobia, for sure!

    June 9, 2010 at 8:00 am

  19. That's so sweet of you.:) Thankfully I am able to sleep well most nights.Btw great tip: if you can find 'Netterumani' – I can without a doubt recommend these. When I used them for 2 weeks I felt so much better and slept like a baby. Maybe it's a good help for you on your quest of a cigarette-free life?Regarding posting – even though I rant and complain sometimes, mostly it's also to entertain people. Just knowing that I was able to make someone laugh – makes my day. Most of the time it does take so little 😉

    June 9, 2010 at 8:04 am

  20. Oh my, I say that all the time and I do mean it. I am a true southerner. lol

    June 9, 2010 at 8:51 am

  21. Thanks Kimber, I was hoping you would see that you are not alone. lol

    I'm sure that you will find in time that your children will turn around
    and start taking care of you. Probably sooner than you are ready for it
    to happen. lol Our children learn who we are and they learn our weaknesses
    and strengths and figure out real quick their place in all that. I read
    a book a while back called "Siblings". It was a great breakdown of how children take on certain roles in
    life depending on their place in the family structure growing up. Like
    the oldest child will generally take on a job as a leader because
    that's what they grew up learning to be is a leader. It was an
    interesting read and had a lot of great photography in it.

    Anyway, your post yesterday reminded me of this event and I wanted you
    to know that you are not, by any means the only mom who can't deal with
    seeing their child hurt. To me it's just a testament of how much you love them.

    June 9, 2010 at 9:20 am

  22. Very funny story! Your brother sure had some presence of mind.

    June 9, 2010 at 9:22 am

  23. Thanks Kimmers. I'm so glad you enjoyed it. He was the oldest and he always thought it was his place to be that way I guess, even standing there with his arm broken in half. lol

    June 9, 2010 at 9:30 am

  24. Your mom sounds like me. I really cannot deal with injuries or illness. Period. I could expand on that but I won't or you'll all think I'm the most callous person ever but it's my way of coping with the unbearable. My kids have learned that their dad is the go-to guy when they're hurt.

    June 9, 2010 at 10:26 am

  25. Jan

    My mom's just the opposite and I got it from her. My first memory of seeing her "in action" that way was when I was about 15. Some relatives were staying with us when one of them, a boy about 10, came flying in the back door screaming for my mom. He had blood pouring down his face. Mom caught his on the run and used his forward momentum to literally slung him around 90 degrees in the kitchen and bent him over the sink so she could wash the blood off and see what was what. Turned out to be a minor cut (you know how head/face wounds will bleed) and he was fine with just a bandaid, but I remember that being the first time I realized I didn't have to freak out at the sight of blood, which ended up serving me well in my chosen career! Not sure I'd been as placid as your brother, though, if I suddenly had too many elbows in one arm.

    June 9, 2010 at 11:09 am

  26. Excellent and witty story in light of the stereotypes today about overprotective parents. I'm sure there are still kids today like your brother that can handle being hurt… if the adults will let them, hehe.

    June 9, 2010 at 1:55 pm

  27. Hey, I wouldn't think you were callous. I busted my head open when I was about 5 and mom locked the door so I couldn't get in and handed me towels out the door and told me to put them against my head until the neighbor got there. She truly was terrible. Of course she understood that she would faint and then really be useless. We always laughed at her after we got old enough to deal with stuff ourselves.

    June 9, 2010 at 1:58 pm

  28. That's hilarious Jan! Too many elbows, I love it! I learned to deal with stuff too and was great at it until I hit grandmotherhood for some reason. I can't deal with it anymore. Are you a nurse?

    June 9, 2010 at 2:01 pm

  29. I agree jak. I have to laugh at the overprotective nature of parents today myself. I learned home remedies from my mom and my kids, like us, didn't go to the doctor unless something was really bad. I was very good at cleaning wounds and pulling them up nice and neat and using bandaides for sutures. The only time anyone went for stitches was if it was swelled really bad and you couldn't pull it back together or I couldn't stop the bleeding. Likewise with illnesses. Unless they had a fever I couldn't break myself, or were throwing up uncontrollably, I doctored them at home. I'm afraid most kids today are immune to antibiotics because they've had them so much.This is a whole different world than I grew up in.

    June 9, 2010 at 2:07 pm

  30. Ironically, some of these home remedies and more conservative behaviors are being advocated again today to help control health care costs. There really are things that you can take care of yourself– and other things you really need to see the health professional about. Funny how some things come full circle.

    June 9, 2010 at 2:29 pm

  31. Oh I love it, it is so sweet and cute!

    June 9, 2010 at 2:54 pm

  32. I was not very good seeing blood on my own children but was the epitome of control when it came to someone else's child. Once a boy knocked on our door instead of going home after he'd nearly cut his finger off on a broken bottle (he knew his mother would not cope) – I have to say that it almost did me in though to see all that gristle and bone totally opened up and his finger barely attached to his hand!

    June 10, 2010 at 5:11 pm

  33. ooouuuuccccchhhhhhh! I bet that was terrible! Did you have to take him to the hospital yourself too? Kids realize really young when their mothers can't deal with stuff. I know we did with mom. I was only nine when this happened, but when Delane said are you guys ready, I knew what he meant and what was going to happen. I remember laughing at how funny his arm looked without being bothered by it at all too.

    June 10, 2010 at 8:01 pm

  34. Where in Alabama did you live Maureen? I'm in Roanoke, which is right around Lake Wedowee. I grew up in Atlanta and we always made fun of Alabama and everything about it. The first time I actually came to Alabama I said, "Oh my gosh, it's beautiful." I've been to a lot of places in Alabama now, and though there are a lot of poor areas, for the most part it is a beautiful state. I really like it here. I've also really grown to love the small town life. It's nice to go to the store or the restaurant and people know who you are. Even though I live alone, I'm not lonely here at all.

    June 10, 2010 at 8:09 pm

  35. I lived in Heflin for a few years then we moved to Anniston. My dad's family lived in Alabama and Georga. I lived in Alabama in the late 50s. I was born in California and my mother and her family lived in San Francisco. My parents met in the Navy when they were stationed in San Diego.
    I liked Alabama as it was more country than San Francisco. One of my aunts lived near Breman, GA and she had a farm. I loved going to her farm in the summer. She had cows, pigs, chickens, cats and dogs. The grew all their vegies, and some cotton.

    June 10, 2010 at 9:03 pm

  36. Oh wow, talk about coincidences! I'm not far from Anniston at all. I spent 25 years in Dallas, Georgia before moving here which is a spit away from Bremen, and I was in the Navy and stationed in Coronado, California which is kind of attached to San Diego! Too funny.So where do you live now?

    June 10, 2010 at 9:13 pm

  37. Wow talk about small worlds. I live in Oro Valley, Arizona..just northwest of Tucson. I've been here for 17years in Oct.

    June 10, 2010 at 9:23 pm

  38. Well, I've been through Arizona, on my way to St. George, Utah but never lived there. lol

    I've seen some of the photos you take out there and I know there is some beautiful country out there. I've traveled quite a bit. I traveled for a couple of different jobs I had over the years and this really is a beautiful country we live in. Did you get a chance to see the post I did tonight about my new neighbors?

    June 10, 2010 at 9:33 pm

  39. Yes Arizona is a beautiful state and we have such a variety of beauty, mountains, canyons and desert. I never tire of taking photos of the landscape and animals here.
    I'll check out your post on your new neigbors.

    June 11, 2010 at 7:23 am

  40. OMG, funny! I can't believe your brother was able to stand the pain that long and stay so relaxed – I cringed just reading about the injury! It's interesting about that emotion – I could assist in intestinal surgery in a vet clinic but I could not watch it on television. Something about being entrenched in the experience is easier than seeing it.

    June 11, 2010 at 6:50 pm

Leave a Reply

