People Are Who They Are!

Let Me Introduce You!

Donna and Randy moved into the house behind me. They are wonderfully sweet people and I am so happy to finally have some neighbors out here. We are fast becoming good friends.

 

They actually bought the house several months ago but have spent all this time building a barn and sheds and fences. They are goat farmers. They breed them and sell them to other breeders. These goats are like their family. They treat them like children. It is awesome and comical at the same time to watch her with these goats. She bathes them and trims their hoofs herself. She does all of her own veterinarian work. They eat out of her hand literally.

 

They finally got moved in and settled a couple of weeks ago, and yesterday I got the privilege of meeting the family. Of course, I brought along my camera.

Please meet Fuzzy!

This is Catalina and Punkin'.

This is Anna.

This is Agnes.

This is Sassy.

This is Brother.

This is Wilma.

This is Pebbles.

This is Little Ray.

This is Marge.

This is Lisa.

This is Mary Kate.

This is Puddin'.

And this here is Charlie Mae. She is carrying three babies that we will get to name next week and she wasn't much in the mood for socializing.

And this sweet little angel is Clementine. She is the keeper of the goats.

Well, there you have it folks. There are two more breeder male goats in another pen that I will get to meet on another day. There are all total eighteen dogs in and around the house and several cats. Donna takes in abused dogs and cats. She has taken some severely abused and unwanted animals and given them a wonderful loving home. She also has chickens and turkeys that she hasn't brought over from the other house yet. Oh yeah, I almost forgot, she also has a Cockatoo. I just love this woman already.

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

47 responses

  1. People can be so wonderful..it is great to have folks like that around..a quiet word..make sure those goats are well boarded..and fed..especially fed..you could wake up one morning without tires on your car..they will eat anything..Peace Tony

    June 10, 2010 at 7:53 pm

  2. They are very well fed and in good pens. I'm not worried about them in the least I promise you. lol

    June 10, 2010 at 7:56 pm

  3. Wow, the goats are so cute and full of personality!! I am so happy for you, having nice fun neighbors.

    June 10, 2010 at 8:07 pm

  4. Oh, let me tell you, these goats do have personalities all their own. I had never been around goats and was afraid to go in the pen with them. Donna laughed at me and said, "These are my babies, they won't hurt you. They'll be glad to meet you!" I was cracking up. They were very curious and just adorable. I enjoyed myself immensely!

    June 10, 2010 at 8:11 pm

  5. ZOMGosh…..I just LOVE goats. These are all so cute!!! Poor Charlie Mae must be so uncomfortable. I don't blame her for not wanting to socialize.
    I love all the photos. That Little Ray is such a cutie pettootie. I can hardly wait to see the babies.

    June 10, 2010 at 10:33 pm

  6. Don't you just love that she has them all named? I just couldn't believe it when she started naming them off. I had to get her to come down to my house tonight to go through the pictures and tell me who was who.Yes Charlie Mae is miserable and you can tell it. She'll walk around for a little bit and then go lay down and then get back up and walk and go lay back down. I actually remember being the same way when I was about to give birth. You aren't happy standing, sitting, laying or anything!Little Ray is adorable. He is only about 2 feet tall. He and Marge and Puddin' are all small like that. They really are too cute. I would never have imagined that I would just fall in love with a bunch of goats. She even puts chew toys out there for them to play with. I love watching her with them. You can tell she loves them.

    June 10, 2010 at 11:21 pm

  7. Gesh so much goodness… makes ones kind of feel…. inadequate… *sigh'Though I see you'll have tons a quite neighbours now, just hope you're not woken up every morning by a choir of "Me-eheh" lol

    June 10, 2010 at 11:51 pm

  8. naaaaahhhhhh! lol There's lot's of space and trees between me and the goats. Believe me, I feel like a selfish little brat down here in my place all alone with no people or pets. I like my life though. She is a very giving and caring woman.

    June 11, 2010 at 12:02 am

  9. Gesh, that you were able to decode what I was writing this morning!! I am impressed. Not so much about by typing- and reflecting skills at 8.30 am.Thank god for those caring people. Makes our world a better place!

    June 11, 2010 at 2:24 am

  10. Wow that is a lot of animals. So cool that you can enjoy them and not have to take care of them.

    June 11, 2010 at 7:57 am

  11. Yes it is. I do well to take care of myself anymore let alone a bunch of animals. She really works hard to keep up with them all and does an awesome job of it!

    June 11, 2010 at 8:01 am

  12. I love goats, this is great to live like this, I bet your children must love it πŸ˜€

    June 11, 2010 at 8:23 am

  13. Thanks cancangirl. My children are grown though and I live alone. They don't get over here much so my friends here on Vox are who I have to share it with. I do like having the neighbors to visit though. I've been alone out here for about a year now. While I actually love my alone time, I will enjoy having neighbors for those occasions when I do get a little lonely.

    June 11, 2010 at 8:29 am

  14. Yes that many animals would be a full time job. Does she milk the goats?

    June 11, 2010 at 8:39 am

  15. No she doesn't. She breeds them and shows them. She is going to milk a couple of them and freeze the milk because she says sometimes one will not be able to produce enough milk for the babies, so she'll have some put away. I think five of them are pregnant right now. She had 137 goats last year and sold them all except these few. She is restarting the herd. These breeder and show goats like this can sell for as much as $1600 a piece depending on their quality. I'm learning a lot. I knew absolutely nothing about goats until last week! lol

    June 11, 2010 at 8:46 am

  16. Oh my goodness, Charlie Mae! Oh. I do hurt for the poor girl. I don't care if she is a goat–from one mother to another, I feel her pain. Actually, I probably don't…aren't you glad your kids weren't born with hooves?

    June 11, 2010 at 9:19 am

  17. OMGosh….you are soooooooo lucky!!!! You have and endless amount of photo ops and blog posts. They are all so cute, especially those little ones. Your neighbor must be one special lady!!

    June 11, 2010 at 11:05 am

  18. Oh my Lord! Well, it would save on shoes! lol

    June 11, 2010 at 11:29 am

  19. She is great LBreeze. I really enjoy her company already and she is wonderful with these animals. I do have a bazillion photo opportunities no doubt. I wish I was as good as you are at coming up with phrases for the pictures. I have one I would love to send to you already just to see what you would come up with for it. I'm sure it would be priceless in your hands.

    June 11, 2010 at 11:32 am

  20. Oh, you are so sweet!!! Why don't you post it (or upload it to your photo library) and then send me a PM to let me know which one. Sometimes it takes a bit for me to come up with what I think is just the right caption, but when I do I'll include a link to tell everyone it's your photo.

    June 11, 2010 at 11:49 am

  21. [c’est top]

    June 11, 2010 at 12:21 pm

  22. You are so welcome Apolline! What country are you in?

    June 11, 2010 at 12:30 pm

  23. This is fantastic!!!They are beautiful animals! I am down to only two goats and it would be fun to have more and have baby goats again! They are adorable…you are just going to keel over when there are newborn babies! And you can take pics for US! πŸ˜€

    June 11, 2010 at 1:22 pm

  24. Thanks for sharing this post with me, LBeeeze!!! I would have hated to miss it! πŸ˜€

    June 11, 2010 at 1:23 pm

  25. I am French … from Paris ! … and independant as a goat ! :)))

    June 11, 2010 at 1:32 pm

  26. Thank you Lauri. I'm so glad you enjoyed it! I can't wait for Charlie Mae to deliver and take pictures for you all! I think five of the females are pregnant and just not as far along as Charlie Mae is. I know I am going to have fits over them. Donna doesn't have a camera and she had a fit herself over the pictures last night. She wants prints of them all (I took over 200 pictures! lol) so she can start hanging them on her walls. I was cracking up at her.

    June 11, 2010 at 1:35 pm

  27. Oh that's too funny. I guess I'm pretty independent myself. Maybe that's why I liked the goats so much! I would love to see some photos from Paris Apolline. I have been on your blog page but everything is in French and I have no earthly idea what it says! lol

    June 11, 2010 at 1:37 pm

  28. Jan

    Three cheers for new GOOD neighbors! And a big slice/hunk/glass of anything Charlie Mae wants, poor thing.Congratulations on all those new friends!

    June 11, 2010 at 1:46 pm

  29. Thanks Jan! Isn't that wonderful! It just suddenly came to life around here and I love it!

    June 11, 2010 at 1:53 pm

  30. Oh, I'm so glad you got to see it!!! I think you love goaties even more than I do. I can't wait to see Charlie Mae's babies!!!

    June 11, 2010 at 4:45 pm

  31. Oooh, Fuzzy looks like a gentle soul! Lovely photos. These guys look like they were happy to see you.

    June 11, 2010 at 6:51 pm

  32. Thank you Emmi! They are all gentle souls. Really. I was amazed at them. They will tussle with each other for "pecking order" over food when she feeds them, but they love people. There are two little boys that live next door to her and they came over while I was there and hand fed the goats through the fence The goats were very gentle with them as if they knew they were children and they should be. I was very impressed. Donna won't let the kids come inside the pen though which I think is wise. I was having a fit while this was going on because I had already filled a 1 gig memory card and couldn't get pictures. I'm sure I will in the future though.

    June 11, 2010 at 7:44 pm

  33. These are beautifully groomed goats! I always think that goats have lovely eyes but I prefer my animals without horns :-). My cousins kept goats and used to milk them – I was not keen on the milk but I love goat's cheese.

    June 11, 2010 at 7:54 pm

  34. I don't do the milk or the cheese. Just don't have the stomach to try it. lol I'm not one for "out of the ordinary" when it comes to something I'm going to eat or drink. I'm not really a milk drinker anyway. I love cheese, but, I love boring cheese, the cheddars, plain cream cheese (don't want junk in it), plain, like I said. lol

    June 11, 2010 at 8:42 pm

  35. You have a lot of pictures from Paris on my blog. To understand a little more, you can use "google translator" : the translation is "little negro", but it's better than not understand at all :)))
    Today it's raining in Paris. This soft and warm rain is very nice on the monuments, streets and gardens. Have a nice day

    June 11, 2010 at 9:53 pm

  36. Goats are SO cute and funny. One of our neighbors has two, and they will follow him around everywhere he goes, just like puppy dogs.

    June 12, 2010 at 7:59 am

  37. Thanks Kimmers! I actually replied to your comment this morning and I must not have hit send! Too early I guess! lolThese goats are like that too. When Donna walks in that pen they all run to her and gather round to see her. She hugs them and kisses on them like they are her children. I had never been around goats and had no idea they had so much personality.

    June 12, 2010 at 9:21 pm

  38. Amazing – love how some of the little goats seem to be actually smiling in their photos.

    June 13, 2010 at 5:47 pm

  39. Thank you Catalina. They are adorable aren't they! Welcome to my neighborhood!

    June 13, 2010 at 5:53 pm

  40. Wow I had no idea they brought that much money. I've never liked goats as their eyes are strange and they either are butting you are trying to eat your clothes but for that much money I might change my mind!
    I knew a lady that was called the Goat Lady of Catalina. She was very strange and did goat walks for people as therapy. She pushed herself on me for rides to a club meeting and when she would get in my car she smelled like a goat. She raised horses and the min goats. She would get around $300.00 for a baby goat.

    June 17, 2010 at 6:16 pm

  41. She gets different amounts for different types of goats. I said the same thing you just said. I normally don't care for animals either. But for that kind of money I might consider it. She's got five different females up there pregnant right now. I think she bought this house behind me with the money she made off of the herd she sold last year. She had 137 goats and sold all of them except these few and she's starting over. I've just never been big on taking care of animals. I don't even have a dog or cat because I don't want the responsibility. The one thing that is worrying me about this is the smell. As that herd gets bigger, I'm going to smell goats all the time over here. I'm not happy about that.

    June 17, 2010 at 11:04 pm

  42. e2c

    [isto Γ© bom]

    June 19, 2010 at 3:32 pm

  43. I like Donna's thinking and I agree with you. They are nice animals in general but I learned from adults around me that the simple rule of safety is to be overly cautious if one is not positive about the situation.

    June 20, 2010 at 2:05 pm

  44. Yes it could get smelly if there are a lot of goats there. I hope she keeps the pens clean as that will help with the smell. I know my horses can be smelly so we clean the pens and turn out every day.

    June 20, 2010 at 9:08 pm

  45. Yes, I like that she keeps the kids out too. I was always that way about dogs too. Animals are animals and you never know what they might do. They react differently to different situations and you never know what might set them off. She's very good with her animals.

    June 20, 2010 at 9:25 pm

  46. She has different types of goats. Some of them are show quality and some are not. She says that even the show goats can have what she calls culls. I don't know exactly what that means, but they are not high quality and she won't get but about $300 or so for those. I haven't spent enough time up there yet to learn a whole lot. I've picked up bits and pieces but haven't really put it all together. I'm interested, just for the sake of learning, but I would never be interested in raising animals. I did well to raise my kids. lol I'm spoiled to my life of living alone, no men, no kids, no pets. I very much like it that way.

    June 20, 2010 at 9:29 pm

  47. I have raised my children and don't really want to raise any animals…our are all neutered…but I don't think I could live without some animals in my life..I so enjoy having them around me.

    June 20, 2010 at 9:38 pm

Leave a Reply

