People Are Who They Are!

A “Brand” New Look

I stopped on my way to work today at a quaint shop in downtown Wedowee. I've been there a couple of times, but never had my camera with me. It's in an older building and it's fairly big. The lady that owns it has it divided into rooms, and each room is set up different. She has a little bit of everything in there, some of it old and some of it new. I love stores like this that are different so that you have no idea what treasures you might find once inside. Take a look for yourself.

 

I probably could have taken a hundred photos in there but I did have to get to work. It was fun though!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

24 responses

  1. A lot of really neat stuff. Hope her shop does really well. She's got such a variety of things.

    June 12, 2010 at 10:24 pm

  2. Oh, I'm sure it does LBreeze. She's been there for a long time. I showed a very small part of the store and it is packed full. This is where Lake Wedowee is and there is plenty of money around there. She carries a lot of "Lake" related stuff.

    June 12, 2010 at 10:30 pm

  3. Seems like a very charming place indeed. Absolutely gorgeous items for sale and all very eye-catching and full of expression and culture.I wish our downtown had more of this, but the downtown business association seems to be fighting a losing battle against urban decay.

    June 13, 2010 at 2:31 am

  4. Wow, it could take several trips to this store to see everything…what a great find. Thanks for sharing this treasure.

    June 13, 2010 at 8:59 am

  5. Nice collection of photos-the shop is nice-lots of interesting things-I love this.

    June 13, 2010 at 10:55 am

  6. Thanks Kerstin! I did too. You can spend hours in this shop and still not see everything in it. I like places like that.

    June 13, 2010 at 11:08 am

  7. 🙂 full of lots of things-I love this shops-we have some here and everytime I go in.

    June 13, 2010 at 11:30 am

  8. You are welcome Maureen. Yes, I walked through twice and noticed all kinds of things the second time that I didn't see the first time through. I get tired of places like Walmart where you know exactly what you are going to see on every isle.

    June 13, 2010 at 11:38 am

  9. Thanks jak. Charming is a very good description of it. I like the way she displays everything. She uses the furniture that she has for sale and sets up like a bedroom full of stuff or a living room setting full of stuff. Of course, I'd hate to see what she has to go through when she sells a piece of that furniture and has to rearrange everything!

    June 13, 2010 at 11:41 am

  10. Well maybe the things at this store aren't all from China.

    June 13, 2010 at 12:29 pm

  11. How lovely. The owner has to be an artist the way she put it all together.

    June 13, 2010 at 12:49 pm

  12. One day when I go in I will spend the time to talk to her. It was a busy Saturday there so I didn't get a chance. She was very sweet about me taking pictures.

    June 13, 2010 at 12:59 pm

  13. Oh, I read too fast. For some reason I thought the shop was fairly new. I bet it's a lot of work to dust!!

    June 13, 2010 at 5:06 pm

  14. Oh my! I hadn't even thought about that. Horrible job! I hate to dust!

    June 13, 2010 at 5:31 pm

  15. Of course, I'd hate to see what she has to go through when she sells a
    piece of that furniture and has to rearrange everything!Indeed– I'm sure that's a good chunk of her work, though 😉

    June 13, 2010 at 5:36 pm

  16. Great pictures, Ladywise. I love the pamphlet on "The South," and would like to read it, out of curiosity.

    June 13, 2010 at 10:23 pm

  17. It's a sign you can hang on the wall. It says "The South" (and shows a southern pronunciation of it).The place where…1.) Tea is sweet and accents are sweeter. 2.) Summer starts in April. 3.) Macaroni and Cheese is a vegetable. 4.) Front porches are wide and words are long. 5.) Pecan pie is a staple. 6.) Y'all is the only proper noun. 7.) Chicken is fried and biscuits come with gravy. 8.) Everything is Darlin'. 9.) Someone's heart is always being blessed.Isn't that great. I loved it. I really enjoyed this store and yes it would take a couple of trips to see it all. I went through it twice taking pictures and saw lots more the second time that I missed the first.I'll try not to worry when you aren't here for a day.

    June 13, 2010 at 10:42 pm

  18. That is such a great way to describe the South. I love that it is humorous without being snarky!! I would buy that sign!

    June 14, 2010 at 9:01 am

  19. Jan

    I love places like this and can easily spend ages (make that age$$) in them. I'll make at least two rounds, going up and down every aisle, then the same but in the opposite direction, and I almost always see things on the second pass that I'd missed on the first.There was a wonderful place like that near my home until the flood last month. They'd been in business for years but the flood completely wiped them out, destroyed everything. I'm hoping they'll be able to come back.I would have to have one of those "The South" signs for my house!

    June 14, 2010 at 12:42 pm

  20. I love them too Jan. This place is set up in rooms instead of isles so it's very different than a typical store.I hate that the place near you was wiped out by the flood. That's so heartbreaking. I hope they can make a comeback too.The South sign was one of my favorites as well. It definitely hits home with me! Thanks for reading!

    June 14, 2010 at 1:26 pm

  21. Ooh. I want the bike! I have the perfect place for it!

    June 15, 2010 at 9:55 am

  22. I think I've just found your next vocation for you – catalog photography. Not everything in the store is to my taste but your photos would sell me something! A few "somethings" actually 🙂

    June 15, 2010 at 7:00 pm

  23. This would be a day long experience for me. Every shop like that in our area has closed. I miss that kind of "shopping". Thank you so much!

    June 17, 2010 at 11:16 am

  24. I like the garden tools and the bird on the plate is really sweet. Thank you for sharing these photos!

    June 20, 2010 at 2:07 pm

Leave a Reply

