People Are Who They Are!

Mortality

We tend to go through life thinking we are both invincible and immortal. We just think that nothing is ever going to happen to us and we are going to be around forever.
 
Tonight I was surfing the net. I don't even remember now what I was looking for originally but quite by accident I came across a page called Notable Deaths in 2009 and 2010. I thought, well, you know, I don't have cable so I don't watch television and though I do have the Internet, I don't tend to follow the news. It's usually depressing and unless it's something that affects me directly I really don't want to know any more than I have to.

I've heard about several notable deaths, especially the recent deaths of Michael Jackson, Patrick Swayze, Gary Coleman and a couple of others. So I thought, well, I'll run through this page and see who, if anyone I've missed. As I started through it, I cried. Not so much over particular deaths, although there were several that really got to me I must admit, but the totality of it hit me hard. To see them altogether was a bit overwhelming.

It seems that we watch the news regularly and read the papers and we really become almost desensitized to it all. I mean you hear one person dies. Your reaction is "Oh that's sad" and you continue on about your day. But as I went through these deaths, I realized that a lot of the older actors represented an entire lifetime of entertainment for me and anyone else over forty and if they are dying off, well then I'm surely not too awfully far behind them.

Some of these wonderful actors had been retired for years I'm sure, and yet their names are forever etched in my mind as I'm sure they are yours. People like Jimmy Dean, John Forsythe, Robert Culp, Fess Parker, Pernell Roberts, Soupy Sales, Karl Malden, Art Linkletter and Ed McMahon just to name a few. If you've watched television all of your life and most all of us have, these names are not only familiar, they bring to life a vivid image in your mind as soon as you hear them. Two of the Golden Girls have passed away in the last year or so, Rue McClanahan and Bea Arthur. Who doesn't know who the Golden Girls are without even saying that it's a television show. 

A couple of them that really got to me, and I had never really even heard their actual names before were Mickey Carroll who was one of the original munchkins in The Wizard of Oz and Wayne Allwine who was the voice of Mickey Mouse.

I won't even talk about all the musicians and politicians and athletes that were included on this page. It's not like I'm depressed now and think I'm dying or anything, but seeing them all together on this page just reminded me of my own mortality for sure. It definitely made me stop and realize that I really need to spend more time smelling the roses. I'm thinking I might go buy me a rose bush this weekend and plant it in my yard as a reminder.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

17 responses

  1. Mortality is a difficult subject. I don't want to think about it so much that I throw my hands up and say what's the use, but I do want to be mindful that I have to make the best of the time I have to help to do good and make things better.
    I wish I was better at all of it.

    July 6, 2010 at 9:37 pm

  2. [c’est top]

    July 6, 2010 at 11:11 pm

  3. Even if it [is] forgotten,
    about [religions] …
    reveals to [us] that they are not Gods [but] priests …

    July 6, 2010 at 11:14 pm

  4. I absolutely know what you mean. I do the same thing – stopping up for a moment, thinking how sad it is and then moving on.Though I think if we have only half of a fulfilled life like those people had (the majority seems to be in their 80's and up) we can be thankful. No matter how old we might get .

    July 7, 2010 at 1:40 am

  5. I agree with you LB. I definitely wish I was better at all of it. That was the point of my post. Thinking about your own mortality brings those things to light.

    July 7, 2010 at 7:37 am

  6. We do tend to have a great fascination with the arts and the people who bring them alive for us. That was my point exactly, that their deaths remind us of our own mortality and in this case seeing a multitude of them together was powerful and extremely overwhelming.

    July 7, 2010 at 7:47 am

  7. I think that therein lies the fascination with them Irony. They seem to have a much more fulfilled life than we do even though it is not always true. Yes, these were all actors who had lived into their 70's, 80's and even 90's so as I said, I am not feeling as though I am going to die next week or anything, however, it makes you stand up and take notice that time is slipping by and there are many things to be accomplished in this life still.

    July 7, 2010 at 8:20 am

  8. *sigh*Where to begin? I've had a few close personal friends that died much too soon, childhood friends, even. It would be easy for me to say that celebrity deaths don't compare, but I won't deny many have had a real impact on my life. I was especially sad when Paul Winchell (the voice of the Disney version of Tigger) and Jim Henson died. The projects they worked on have continued on, but it's just not quite the same. Jim Cummings has done an admirable job, but… he's not Paul Winchell. Brian and Lisa are carrying on their dad's business well, but neither of them do the baseline, hands-on work anymore that I am aware of (Brian was Huggle in Labyrinth, but I can't think of any other characters he has done); other Muppeteers have taken on Jim's characters and they are different in demeanor now, somehow. I wouldn't be too surprised if Brian still resents the partnership his father made before he died that gave the Muppets a home with Disney.As to Michael Jackson and Gary Coleman– I don't think they'll be the last of the entertainers who have had their childhood wounded by a very bright spotlight.

    July 7, 2010 at 9:25 am

  9. I had such a crush on Pernell Roberts when he was on 'Bonanza'…

    July 7, 2010 at 10:52 am

  10. I have been sad about some of the deaths that were accidental overdoses. So very sad. Some of the people were very young and had a lot of life left to live!

    July 7, 2010 at 2:27 pm

  11. I sometimes think of all the things I want to do and wonder how I'm going to fit them all into the little time I have left! That's when I worry about mortality. I'm not scared of dying – I'm just scared of doing so too early!

    July 8, 2010 at 6:34 am

  12. I understand jak. I was impacted by the individual deaths for sure, but more by the totality of seeing all of them at once.

    July 8, 2010 at 6:51 am

  13. Yes, I liked him too.

    July 8, 2010 at 6:53 am

  14. I agree Freedom. There were deaths of several young people on there that were very heartbreaking.

    July 8, 2010 at 6:54 am

  15. ahh, my point exactly Emjay. Life is much shorter than we think about it being as we're going through day to day. It's not death I fear so much either as not being finished or fulfilled before I die.

    July 8, 2010 at 6:59 am

  16. I don't think God will let you go before you have fulfilled what it is you are here to fulfill. (just my beliefs….I hope that does not offend you).

    July 8, 2010 at 9:39 am

  17. No offense taken Freedom. Good point. I think he puts things in front of us like that page I came across to remind us to get busy though.

    July 8, 2010 at 10:05 am

Leave a Reply

