People Are Who They Are!

Update

I thought I would just update you guys since I've been kind of quiet for the last couple of weeks.

Since I joined the writing group, I've started two different books. One is a memoir about my mother. Anyone that has been in my hood for a while, knows a lot of my writing evolves around her anyway, so I've started putting it all together. I've written 22,000 words towards this book in a short period of time. It isn't difficult though because all of this stuff has been swimming around in my head for a long time now so it's just kind of diving out!

The other book is a mystery novel and right now I am learning to write a synopsis in order to lay it out, so it's not very far along but it does have a start. I have several other ideas that I would like to work on eventually so it has gotten me busy and kept my mind off of my daughter and her problems somewhat.

As for my daughter, when the phone calls and texts failed she started emailing. That was good because I reiterated everything I said on the phone in writing. So she can't say she was high and doesn't remember what I said. It's there in black and white. I was actually tougher in the email than I was on the phone because I could take more time to think about my response. I have cut those off too now. So, unless she writes me a letter and it shows up in my mailbox I think she is out of ways to contact me. I just hope one day that she will get straight again and will know that this was a difficult choice for me to make. It is hard. I can't begin to tell you how hard it is to have your daughter beg you to just talk to her and not do it.

Anyway, other than that I'm working and writing and loving the writing part. I like to write anyway and to have someone encourage me and guide me along the way is wonderful. I can get over everything else by doing this. My spirits are good and I'm moving right along.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

14 responses

  1. That is so exciting, about you writing!! Just think….I might be able to say, "I knew her when…"!!!!

    July 8, 2010 at 5:33 pm

  2. Thanks Freedom. I really appreciate that. I guess they call it tough love for a reason huh.

    July 8, 2010 at 7:43 pm

  3. Dang! I've been working on my memoir for months now, and it's still only 11,000 words. You're amazing!I'm glad to hear your writing has been a positive distraction.

    July 8, 2010 at 7:58 pm

  4. Thanks Kimmers. Yes it has been a great way to let out frustrations. I just dove into it head on. I'm only working part time, and I live alone so it makes a big difference.

    July 8, 2010 at 8:17 pm

  5. Glad to hear you're writing — it's so very good for one's soul. The best kind of self therapy, huh?My heart breaks for you and your daughter. I can only imagine how hard it is. My little bit of advice, if you don't mind, is that probably the worst thing you could do for her now would be to relent. Best of luck ….

    July 8, 2010 at 8:26 pm

  6. If I don't mind, are you kidding? If I could afford it I would pay for advice right now. I'm petrified every step of the way. I have no idea if I'm doing the right thing or the wrong thing or what to do or say next or don't say anything. Writing is definitely great therapy and the best thing about it is it's free! lol

    July 8, 2010 at 8:33 pm

  7. Did you see my collage thingy?I don't do many 'art' things, but I like cutting up magazines and making journal pages and cards to send people. The journal pages (like this one I posted) often seem 'deep' — thought provoking and putting the little pics together leads to thinking about things a different way.

    July 8, 2010 at 8:40 pm

  8. Yes. I have found that tough love seems so much harder on the parent! At least, that was my experience but sometimes it is the only way. ((hugs))

    July 9, 2010 at 10:55 am

  9. You have been prolific haven't you !! đŸ™‚ That's a lot of words. I'm so glad to read that you are enjoying that so much and that you are "moving right along"

    July 9, 2010 at 5:51 pm

  10. Thanks Emjay. I am enjoying this and it is such a good distraction. I believe had I not started this that I would be extremely depressed about now. Instead, I am productive and happy.

    July 9, 2010 at 6:05 pm

  11. Writing is such an excellent way to excavate and help heal psychic wounds. Good for you….good luck!!
    How are the goats??

    July 9, 2010 at 11:32 pm

  12. Thanks LB. The goats are great. Charlie Mae has delivered but I haven't been up yet to get photos.

    July 10, 2010 at 3:57 am

  13. I haven't been following you, Ladywise. But I can see you are a writer! Good for you!

    July 16, 2010 at 10:05 am

  14. Thanks Marilyn. I haven't seen anything from you in a while. I added you a long time ago because you were a writer and I was interested. What kind of stuff do you write? I've been working on a Memoir about my mom. I've got it to a readable point, about 30,000 words if you're interested in reading it let me know. I'd love it if you would.

    July 16, 2010 at 10:52 am

Leave a Reply

