People Are Who They Are!

My Brother

Well, my brother blew in here like a storm on Friday. He travels for work and has been on the road for a solid year. He's been mostly all around Florida.

He's been driving a Ford F350 that he bought new in 2000. It has 370,000 miles on it, so it was time for a new one. He came in Friday afternoon and we went together to the Ford Dealership where he bought an F250. It's a 2008 with only 30,000 miles on it and a lot of extras added to it. It is a beautiful truck. He was very happy.

He spent yesterday with his kids and grand kids and came back here this morning. We went to breakfast, he changed everything out from the old truck to the new truck and just like that, he's gone again.  

I laughed more in that little time I spent with him this weekend than I have in months. Of course, I talk to him every day on the phone, but I'm still really going to miss him…again.

This is the truck he bought. He's very proud of it! I'm happy too because I don't have to worry about him driving that other truck all over the country any more! Happy trails Joey!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

12 responses

  1. I admire people who are so close to their family that they talk almost daily, either on the phone or otherwise.I love my parents, but if I had to talk to them every day I would strangle myself. (though I know my mum would looooove that *growling*)

    July 18, 2010 at 2:59 pm

  2. Would this be J***?

    July 18, 2010 at 4:51 pm

  3. Thank you Irony. My brother has a great sense of humor and it is really awesome to talk to him every day.

    July 18, 2010 at 5:26 pm

  4. Yeah, It's Joey. He and I talk every day. I miss the crap out of him and it was so good to see him. I haven't seen him in almost a year. I didn't get to spend much time with him and I cried when he left today.

    July 18, 2010 at 5:27 pm

  5. What did he do with the old truck?370,000 miles? Mines an '03 and I haven't even hit 40K yet! I never go anywhere, damn it! (except to work … sigh …)

    July 18, 2010 at 5:30 pm

  6. The old one is in my yard. lol He couldn't bare to part with it. He drove it up here to Alabama from Miami Friday for one last run and parked it. He always had a long drive to and from work, and he used to have a place on the lake that was a long drive. For the last three years he has traveled the country for work in it, so he racked up a lot of miles then. He's never had to do anything to that truck. He named off two things he's replaced in it over the years, one was a water pump, and I forget what the other was, nothing major though. It's still the same factory truck he bought. His shifter arm is about to come off though and the steering is real loose. He's just always taken good care of it. The interior will still even clean up like new because he's always kept seat covers on it and floor mats in it. He loved that truck. He's actually nervous about this new one. It has a different engine than his old one. He said he read an article a long time ago that Ford put out that they over built that 7.3 engine that is in his old one and they were loosing money because that engine lasted so long so they went to a 6.0. They had trouble with the 6.0's so he's been looking at used trucks but wouldn't have anything with that 6.0 in it. This one he bought has the 6.4.

    July 18, 2010 at 5:40 pm

  7. So glad your brother is making you happy – nice that you've had some laughter. And congrats on the writing, that's quite cool. Looking forward to hearing more.

    July 19, 2010 at 5:37 pm

  8. Glad you enjoyed your visit with your brother!!

    July 19, 2010 at 8:09 pm

  9. Thanks LBeeeze.

    July 19, 2010 at 8:24 pm

  10. It is great catching up once in a while. Those visits are the best, not very frequent but truly good. But one thing even better is the fact that you realize it and embrace it. Good for you.

    July 19, 2010 at 11:54 pm

  11. Thanks Louise. How are you? I haven't seen you in a while.

    July 20, 2010 at 5:06 am

  12. I am all well. Realized yesterday that I have not been on for some time but decided not to stress about that. When I have something to say, I will be back đŸ˜‰

    July 20, 2010 at 5:15 am

Leave a Reply

