People Are Who They Are!

UP

I get a lot of stuff in emails but I got this one today and it is just too funny. I've never thought about this, so I thought you might enjoy it!

Hummmm what a useful little two lettered word..bet you never gave this a second thought, I know I didn’t realize this little word had so many different meanings.  I am sure this isn’t all either…
 

 Think about it.   

                 UP  

This two-letter word in English has more meanings than any other two-letter word, and that word is 'UP.'  It is listed in the dictionary as an [adv], [prep], [adj], [n] or [v].
It's easy to understand UP, meaning toward the sky or at the top of the list, but when we awaken in the morning, why do we wake UP  

At a meeting, why does a topic come UP? Why do 
we speak
 UP, and why are the 
officers 
UP for 
election
 and why is it UP  to the secretary to
write 
UP a report?

We call UP our friends, 
brighten 
UP a room, polish UP the 
silver, warm UP the leftovers and clean UP the kitchen.

We lock UP the house and  
fix 
UP the old car.   

At other times this little word has real special 
meaning. People stir 
UP trouble, line UP for 
tickets, work 
UP an appetite, and think UP excuses. 
To be dressed is one 
thing but to be dressed 
UP is special.  

And this UP is confusing:  A 
drain must be opened 
UP because

it is stopped  UP.

We open UP a store in the morning

but we close it UP at night.

 We seem to be pretty mixed 
UP about UP ! 
To be 
knowledgeable about the proper uses of 
UP, look UP the word UP in the dictionary.. In a desk-sized 
dictionary, it takes 
UP almost 1/4 of the page and can add UP to about thirty definitions.
If you are 
UP to it, you might try building UP a list of the many ways UP is used.

 It will take UP a lot of your time,

but if you don't give UP, you may 
wind 
UP with a hundred or more. 
When it threatens to rain, we say it is 
clouding 
UP . When the sun comes out
we say it is clearing 
UP. When it rains, it 
soaks 
UP the earth.

When it does not rain for awhile, things dry UP. One could go on & on, but I'll wrap 
it UP, for now  ……..my time is UP !  

Oh….one more thing: 
What is the first thing you 
do in the morning & the last thing you do at 
night? 

U  
   P !  


  
 

Did that one crack you UP?  


 
 Now I'll shut UP 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

8 responses

  1. A very versatile word! Now I'm used up; about to pack up and put my feet up. 🙂

    July 21, 2010 at 6:38 pm

  2. lol…you crack me up Emjay!

    July 21, 2010 at 6:50 pm

  3. Maybe heat up some food. Look up some posts. Free up some space. Oh, I give up.

    July 21, 2010 at 7:07 pm

  4. lol LBeeeze! But you were just starting up!

    July 21, 2010 at 7:15 pm

  5. Who am I kidding…..I really never give up. I'm likely to beat the thing up before I let it go. Hehehehehehehe….

    July 21, 2010 at 7:19 pm

  6. Hello..Imaginative and amusing..I still think 'if' is the largest word in the English language..: )..Peace Tony

    July 22, 2010 at 9:55 am

  7. One more thing..the first I do in the morning is wake 'up'..not a critique just a comment..please don't say 'up' yours..Peace Tony

    July 22, 2010 at 9:58 am

  8. That is so funny….I had no idea that "up" was such a great word!

    July 25, 2010 at 8:38 pm

Leave a Reply

