People Are Who They Are!

Still Here, Kind Of…

Hey everyone. Just thought I would update you since I haven't been posting. I've been here, in that I read what everyone's up to pretty much every day and I have left comments here and there, just haven't been posting.

Things have been quiet with my daughter. I'm still hanging in there with the tough love and have not given in. She has emailed me and said she has been clean for a couple of weeks. I still haven't responded though. Trust me when I say that tough love is as difficult if not more so on the parent than it is on the child. I do miss her.

Over the last several weeks I wrote a 30,000 word memoir that is about my mother's life as well as parts of mine. I finished the first writing and it is in the hands of several people who have already finished or are in the process of reading and critiquing it. I am awaiting responses from a couple more of those people before I begin to edit it. The entire process has pretty much consumed me, but then that was the original intention in the first place.

I'll be back soon though and hopefully with some happy news and fun stuff to write about. Until then, I'm reading what you write and it keeps my spirits up.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

12 responses

  1. Glad your're still hanging in there. Tough love is the toughest love of all.
    Be kind to yourself.

    August 6, 2010 at 10:39 pm

  2. Hello..There you are..it is a wonderful thing..a painful, puzzling situation and you write a constructive piece..and may sell it..kudos and good..sounds as if your daughter may be hitting pitches in life also..Good for you both..good to you both..Peace Tony

    August 7, 2010 at 8:25 am

  3. I'd love to read your memoir again after your next edit…

    August 7, 2010 at 8:40 am

  4. Thanks LB. Thank you very much.

    August 7, 2010 at 8:57 am

  5. Thanks Tony. I'm hoping my daughter is truly getting straight. Time will tell.

    August 7, 2010 at 8:58 am

  6. Thanks Kimmers. You will be one of the first I send it to. Have you worked on yours?

    August 7, 2010 at 8:59 am

  7. Not really. I've added to it a bit, but no work in terms of re-organizing. I have another friend reading it right now. Been ridiculously busy lately.

    August 7, 2010 at 6:01 pm

  8. Well, "ridiculously busy" I hope means you are working, which is a really good thing these days! I wish I was busy at all. I wish I had a good job period. I'm so tired of being broke! Joey did order satellite for me and pay for it for a year up front so I can watch tv now. I'm so excited! I haven't had tv for a year and a half, so I am spending lots of time in front of it. He's such a good brother!

    August 7, 2010 at 6:05 pm

  9. Tough love is the hardest love to give but usually ends up meaning more than any other kind. Hang in there. Don't forget a little time for you. Take some pictures or a nice walk.

    August 7, 2010 at 8:16 pm

  10. Thanks DB. Those are good ideas. Maybe it won't be so hot tomorrow and I can get out and take a walk and take some pictures.

    August 7, 2010 at 9:54 pm

  11. You finished the book already? My goodness, that is amazing!!

    August 8, 2010 at 10:18 pm

  12. Whoo Hoo I found Ladywise! I am glad ot hear you are still working with your daughter in what sounds like a positive way. It is pretty difficult to be the one doing the tough love. Added you to my blog surfer (which is I suppose my new neighbourhood!) slowly getting it. I do like this better though it is not as intuitive!

    September 5, 2010 at 3:25 pm

Leave a Reply

