People Are Who They Are!

What I’ve Been Doing

I was gone from Vox for a few weeks because I found a site that I could write on and be critiqued and critique other people’s writing as well. I have learned a ton of stuff about writing in general just by reading other people’s writing. They do contests where you can win “site” money or you can win real cash money. I’ve actually spent most of my time writing poetry which I have really learned a lot about, things I never knew because I never studied it. So, this is a poem I wrote that is entered into a contest.

The contest was: Write a poem about “faith”, any kind of faith, whether it be religious, political or whatever as long as faith is clearly shown. It can be any type of poetry and any length. This is my entry.

The Old Man

A little old man
with a sad wrinkled face,
sat out on a bench
staring off into space.

For a minute I watched,
but then worried about him,
I sat down on the bench
for he seemed rather grim.

“Are you alright sir?”
I asked with a smile,
“I’ve got some free time,
I can sit for a while.”

“I’ve seen better days,”
he finally said,
and I saw a tear fall,
as he hung down his head.

“My wife passed away,
more than ten years ago,
and I just never thought
that I would get this old.”

“The days go by slowly,
and the nights slower still,
and I forget to eat
or to take all my pills.”

“We never had children,
so I’m left all alone.
All the friends I once had,
are now dead and gone.”

“Sir, what can I do,
I don’t know what to say.”
He took hold of my hand
and said, “Just help me pray.”

“It’s been so many years
since I could get on my knees
and thank the good Lord
for all he’s given to me.”

I helped the old man to
get down on his knees,
and he prayed for a while
then he looked back at me.

“If you’ll get me up now,
you won’t have to wait,
for it’s time for my walk
through those great pearly gates.”

I was stunned by the words
he was saying to me,
but I saw he was beaming
and now filled with glee.

Seated back on the bench,
he took off his hat,
then he reached for my hand,
and for a while we just sat.

I could feel as the life
slowly drained out of him,
and I was filled with sadness,
until I noticed his grin.

He must have asked God
to please take him home.
He could do it no more,
living here all alone.

I was sad, yet happy,
both at the same time.
He got what he’d asked for,
He was ready to die.

He must have prayed to leave,
but not do it alone,
and then God chose me
to help that old man get home.

Now I pass by that bench,
almost every day,
and I remember that man,
but with the grin on his face.

27 responses

  1. What a sweet poem. I am sure it’s going to be between the top 10

    September 3, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    • Thank you irony. I’m so glad I’m finding everyone. I’m glad you came to wordpress too.

      September 3, 2010 at 2:44 pm

  2. freedomsmith5

    Wow, what a moving poem. It is wonderful. Such depth. You are a wonderful write, ladywise. Just beautiful!

    September 3, 2010 at 3:08 pm

    • Thanks freedom. I’m so glad you liked it. I’ve been trying to go to work all day but I’ve been so busy trying to get everyone’s new site addresses listed and get this wordpress site set up, that I can’t make myself get out of here! lol I guess I’ll have to work tomorrow instead! Oh well. All my Vox friends are much more important than going to work. lol

      September 3, 2010 at 3:11 pm

  3. Emmi

    This flows really well, Ladywise. What an exciting venture, that other site you’ve been on! I am envious of all you author / writer-type folks. It is a cool skill.

    Glad to see you here, this will be a new frontier for us all, I think.

    September 3, 2010 at 6:36 pm

    • Thanks Emmi. The writing site is really exciting to me. I’ve really enjoyed it. I also like the fact that I can possibly win real money on it. This poem is in a contest that pays $100 Visa card. So cross your fingers for me!

      September 3, 2010 at 6:39 pm

  4. Emmi

    **Fingers crossed** I’m sure they’ll love the poem!

    September 3, 2010 at 7:32 pm

  5. I really like it Lady. It would be wonderful if you won the Visa card!

    September 3, 2010 at 10:52 pm

    • Thank you Emjay. I’m glad you like it. I would love to win the money!

      September 3, 2010 at 11:42 pm

    • Well Emjay, I thought for sure I replied to your comment earlier but I must not have saved it or something. So many new ways of doing things here! Sorry. Thank you so much. I’m so glad you liked the poem, and yes, it really would be wonderful if I could win the Visa card!

      September 4, 2010 at 3:47 am

  6. Great Poem! Good luck with the writing.

    September 4, 2010 at 5:48 am

    • Thank you FD. I’m so glad you liked it! How is Mr. FD this morning?

      September 4, 2010 at 11:53 am

  7. I’m glad your writing endeavors are still going well.

    September 4, 2010 at 4:18 pm

    • Thanks Jak. I’m really enjoying it and actually doing pretty well on there.

      September 4, 2010 at 11:18 pm

  8. Hi there,
    OK I set up a blog on worldpress, come on by and take a look at my new blog.
    http://mkirkd.wordpress.com/

    September 4, 2010 at 7:23 pm

  9. Absolutely beautiful. You are so talented.

    September 5, 2010 at 2:06 am

    • Thank you Kim. You are so sweet. I appreciate that.

      September 5, 2010 at 10:40 am

  10. Hi, Ladywise!
    This is a wonderful poem. It has given me goosebumps!

    Thank you for sharing!

    September 5, 2010 at 12:03 pm

    • Thank you so much Lauri. I’m so glad you liked it. I have really enjoyed this new site that I’m on and it has helped my writing tremendously already. Are you starting to like WordPress a little bit? I think I actually like it better than Vox. It really has a whole lot to offer. Thanks for stopping by.

      September 5, 2010 at 12:13 pm

  11. Pingback: My Poem « Ladywise's Blog

  12. Awesome! I’m so glad you’re having fun on that site because ours is really slow moving, isn’t it?

    September 13, 2010 at 2:56 pm

    • Yes. You would like this site too probably. You can write poems (which I know you don’t like), short stories, or put books on their chapter by chapter and get reviews on them. I really like the site.

      September 13, 2010 at 3:01 pm

  13. What a lovely poem.

    September 14, 2010 at 2:04 am

    • Thank you so much CC. I really appreciate that!

      September 14, 2010 at 2:17 am

  14. Not religious, nor one for poetry, but I came across this and felt myself wrong to leave without giving you kudos for that.

    Really fantastic stuff, very movin’.

    September 19, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    • Thank you so much Brady. I am even more impressed that someone who isn’t religious and doesn’t care for poetry would like it. A very high compliment in my book. Thank you very much and thanks for stopping by!

      September 19, 2010 at 4:55 pm

  15. Freedom Smith

    Congratulations for the award you got on the poem. Do you mind email me the information about where the sight is and how I can find it? Thank you! freedomsmith5@wordpress.com

    September 19, 2010 at 5:16 pm

Leave a Reply

