People Are Who They Are!

Word Press Help

I contacted Word Press help and let them know that Vox was closing and that they had thousands of refugees flocking to their site! lol I told them that I thought one of the big concerns for most was that we didn’t want to loose our “neighborhood” feel.

I received a response today from Sheri in Support:

Hi Debra,
The current best way to link to each others’ sites is using a Blogroll:
http://en.support.wordpress.com/blogroll/

Thanks for your note about this. We are also passing your feedback along to our developers to see if any future improvements can be made in this area.

If anyone needs help importing, they should definitely use http://en.support.wordpress.com/contact/ and ask for help!!

Sheri

I was very impressed to get this response. I feel better already about being here.

21 responses

  1. Good for them! I’m glad that you got a good response. I’ve been pretty happy setting up mine. It was a good Labor Day weekend project.

    September 6, 2010 at 7:33 pm

    • I was very impressed to get a response on a holiday weekend at all and I thought it was nice that they are passing it on. We might find a new “Neighborhood” thing one day. I have been pretty happy here too. There are definitely way more capabilities here and I think a higher quality for the photo buffs as well. All in all my transition has been smooth and this response made it even better!

      September 6, 2010 at 7:47 pm

  2. That is great news…I haven’t had time to check out all the new functions etc..had some fun yesterday playing around but today I had work to do…maybe later in the week I can do more on my site.

    I tried to move the photo quest over but it won’t move…I think it is because it was a private group.

    September 6, 2010 at 10:40 pm

    • I don’t know about that Maureen. Click on the link in my post and ask them about it. They know now that we are all here and are going to need help. They are very willing to help in any way they can it seems.

      September 6, 2010 at 11:09 pm

  3. WOWOWOWOWOWOWOWOWOW…..that’s awesome!!

    I’m also using Blog Surfer. I really lke the feature. It’s in the Dashboard menu. You can enter the WP URL of any blog you want to follow and it pulls them in. It isn’t perfect…..there are some blogs that haven’t been pulled in, but most are and it’s very easy to surf that way.

    September 6, 2010 at 11:58 pm

    • Yeah, I’m using Blog Surfer but I liked the Blog roll being on there too. So I’m using both. The nice thing about the blog roll is you can put people from any site on it, so if there is anyone who went to other sites, you can put links for them on the blog roll. But I do like being able to roll through everyone’s blogs on Blog Surfer.

      I was super impressed with the response from WordPress though.

      September 7, 2010 at 12:55 am

  4. Bless you for asking Dear!! I am going to try to make the blog roll thingy again… maybe this time it will work.

    September 7, 2010 at 12:31 pm

    • Let me know if I can help Lav.

      September 7, 2010 at 12:55 pm

  5. Very encouraging that you got a response from a human being!

    September 7, 2010 at 1:22 pm

  6. I like Blog Surfer, too, but Blog Roll will be a nice way to stay connected to those that choose different paths. I just wish there was a way to keep our Photo Quest group. M, perhaps you should write to them and see what they suggest.

    September 7, 2010 at 5:16 pm

  7. I don’t think you’ve lost your neighborhood, just moved into a bigger one.

    September 7, 2010 at 7:20 pm

    • I agree Doug. Most everyone I am friends with moved over here too. The couple that didn’t I have on my blogroll so I can still check in on them. I actually am beginning to like it here better in some ways. I’m just so happy to have everyone else here. I’m adding you to my blog roll. Thanks for stopping by!

      September 8, 2010 at 12:17 am

  8. Freedom Smith

    Great job, Ladywise. That is very encouraging, that they replied at all and so quickly. Nice that they know we are here. Surely they have noticed that “something” is going on 🙂 Thanks for being pro-active!!

    Love you!

    September 7, 2010 at 10:22 pm

  9. How proactive! Good on you!

    September 8, 2010 at 4:44 am

  10. kerstin66

    Thank you if I have any questions I will ask:-))
    nice to see you here-and thank you for your lovely comment of my side and your help.

    September 8, 2010 at 4:21 pm

  11. Emmi

    This was quite a learning curve for me (relative to how much time I have to spend on, yaknow, blogging….) but in the end I’m happy with the service.

    Great you got a response, I bet they appreciated the heads up. They probably got what, dozens, hundreds maybe from Vox??

    September 8, 2010 at 5:38 pm

    • Oh no, I would think it was more like thousands. We’re all having a learning curve here. But we’ll get it!!

      September 8, 2010 at 5:58 pm

  12. I tried WP support and there was a message that they were gone until 9/18 or so….I can’t get my photo quest imported and there isn’t anyone to help me…darn.

    I think since the photo quest was a private group it just won’t import…I’ve tried numberous times and no luck.

    September 8, 2010 at 7:10 pm

  13. That’s encouraging. I had initially tried to move to TypePad as suggested but could never get past error messages. As I wanted to have something in place before I left the US I used WordPress and had no issue at all.

    Last night when I had some time to spare I wrote to TypePad complaining that I couldn’t get their import wizard to work. They were really quick to respond and really helpful. So … now I have a back-up on TypePad as well.

    I have the BlogRoll but also use the Readomattic to see who has posted. I still need to collect a few URL’s of the old ‘hood.

    September 9, 2010 at 1:13 am

  14. Hi, I tried your link and got the same message they are goine until 9/18 or so.

    September 9, 2010 at 11:16 pm

  15. Two days ago WP introduced the Subscriptions feature, which is basically an online feed reader within WordPress. You might want to check it out.

    Readomattic, I think, still looks the most like the old Neighborhood updates.

    The blogroll is not the same, in my opinion. It simply shows visitors what blogs you like to read. I suppose it’s the same as the old VOX Neighborhood widget but… see what I said for Readomattic.

    I have been writing on TechsWrite: The Helpful Techie about feed readers: Keeping up with News & Blogs: Feed readers because some have been using Google Reader and Feed Demon to keep up with everyone.

    Your feedback would be greatly appreciated.

    September 12, 2010 at 3:45 am

Leave a Reply

