People Are Who They Are!

My Poem

So, I told you guys about being at another site writing competitively. They have a rating system there so that when you write something, people can view it and comment on it and rate it. The rating system is from one star (pretty bad) up to six stars (exceptional). If you get 16 reviews that are excellent or exceptional, your writing gets a “Recognized Status” ribbon beside it. Once you get passed 26 of these excellent reviews, you get an “All Time Best” ribbon beside your poem.

Yesterday my poem “The Old Man” got the “All Time Best” ribbon. I’m so excited! It is still entered into a contest that doesn’t get judged for another month or so, but it reached that status already. I’m very happy today!

I had to come back and add this in. I did the link to my post that had the poem in it. When I went back to that post and was rereading the comments on it, at the end of the comments there is a new thing now that links back to here. Pretty cool.

25 responses

  1. Freedom Smith

    That is fantastic!!! I am so thrilled for you and proud 🙂 You are on the road to realizing a dream. You are inspiring!!

    September 9, 2010 at 1:35 pm

    • Thanks Freedom! I was so happy about it.

      September 9, 2010 at 2:14 pm

  2. Congratulations! You certainly deserve recognition for your talent.
    That thing at the end is a “pingback.”

    September 9, 2010 at 1:38 pm

    • Thanks Kim. I appreciate that.

      Well, I guess we know what a pingback is now! lol Thanks, I thought it was cool when I saw it.

      I am beginning to think that Vox did us a big favor by closing. I’ve learned so much in the past week. I think we’re catching up with the world around us now that we are out of our Vox Box!

      September 9, 2010 at 2:17 pm

  3. That is Truly exciting news!!! YAY!!!!

    September 9, 2010 at 3:14 pm

    • Thanks Lav! I appreciate that!

      September 9, 2010 at 3:52 pm

  4. Congratulations! That’s great! 🙂

    September 9, 2010 at 4:15 pm

    • Thanks Steve. I was very excited about it.

      September 9, 2010 at 5:39 pm

  5. I am thrilled for you too! Am keeping my fingers crossed for that contest.

    September 9, 2010 at 4:16 pm

    • Thanks Irony. I am thrilled too! I hope your fingers don’t get sore! lol

      September 9, 2010 at 5:40 pm

  6. What a great feeling to have your hard work and talent acknowledged!
    It IS a great poem! 🙂

    September 9, 2010 at 5:12 pm

    • Thanks Lauri. I somehow missed your comment here and didn’t mean to. This is so cumbersome to keep up with comments like this. Anyway, thank you so much for your encouragement!

      September 13, 2010 at 2:21 pm

  7. Great to have readers, eh? Well done.

    September 9, 2010 at 5:17 pm

    • Yeah Doug. It is nice. I really like this site. You get reviewed by other people that write as well, so you can actually learn a lot from them. I have already.

      September 9, 2010 at 5:41 pm

  8. Great news Lady! Fingers crossed for the competition.

    September 9, 2010 at 5:57 pm

    • Thanks Aussie May! I appreciate that!

      September 9, 2010 at 9:36 pm

  9. You must be floating! Congrats and you go girl!

    September 9, 2010 at 8:12 pm

    • Thanks Maureen. I am kind of floating actually!

      September 9, 2010 at 9:36 pm

  10. Emmi

    Wow. Congrats, although I read the poem and I’m not surprised. It was a real gem.

    September 9, 2010 at 9:24 pm

    • Thanks Emmi. I really appreciate that.

      September 9, 2010 at 9:37 pm

  11. littleoddme

    Yay, congrats! 🙂

    September 10, 2010 at 9:10 pm

    • Thanks LOM! I’m so glad to see you here!

      September 11, 2010 at 2:45 am

  12. Congrats! Glad to see you (and many other former voxers) at WordPress!

    September 11, 2010 at 2:20 pm

  13. Wow!

    But wait…does wow really consitute a comment? Does it communicate that sense of respect for a thing well and truly done? Probably not, and a wordsmith I’m not, so I hope you will be kind and forgive me for not being able to fashion nor format a satisfactory comment. Save Wow! 🙂

    September 13, 2010 at 1:59 pm

    • Hey, Wow is great to me! I am humbled that you read it and liked it.

      September 13, 2010 at 2:28 pm

Leave a Reply

