People Are Who They Are!

More WordPress Feedback

I wrote to Sheri at WordPress again and voiced our concerns about being able to keep up with each other better.

Hi Sheri,

Something else that is really getting to everyone. In our “neighborhood” setting at Vox, if you commented on a post of someone’s, and they replied to you, that was the only email notice you received from that post, as opposed to here, if you check the box that says notify me of comments on this post, you get an email for “every” comment that is added to it, which can cause you to be overwhelmed with emails that you don’t really want. Some of these people are very popular and have upwards of 50 friends that comment, so this is very frustrating. The only other alternative we seem to be able to find is to just go back and click on each post to see if the person answered our comment which is also frustrating. I’m hoping, if there isn’t already a way to do this in a more simple fashion, that your “guys” can add something.

Hi Debra,
Thanks so much for your feedback. I've forwarded it to our developers to be
considered for a future upgrade.
 --

 Sheri
12 responses

  1. I can’t believe they haven’t thought of adding this feature. The replies back from everyone is very overwhelming. I really hope they do this. It would make the whole WP experience so much better.

    September 12, 2010 at 1:36 pm

    • I agree. I hope they do it too. They know now that they have probably thousands of us from Vox and what kinds of features we really would like to see here, so they want to keep everyone here I’m sure.

      September 13, 2010 at 2:09 pm

  2. Freedom Smith

    THANK YOU, Ladywise. You will be our new Daisy (the one we went to, at Vox, who seemed to be able to get action from the higher ups there!!). I appreciate you writing about this. That would be awesome if they would add that feature. I look on manage comments for now, but that feature would be wonderful, as it was an easier way to follow comments. You go, girl!! 😀

    September 12, 2010 at 2:34 pm

    • You are welcome and thank you. I hope they go back and look at Vox and understand what I’m asking for here.

      September 13, 2010 at 2:10 pm

  3. Ladywise I think it is great that you are making a point to point these suggestions out to the WP people. Thanks for that.

    If they can not fix it so that we only get one email after we comment , then maybe they could just give us the option to choose to ‘stop’ receiving notifications once a post get too busy for us.

    It would also be nice if the selection boxes for the notifications was above the submit button, so that we do not accidentally forget to select them (like I have done a time or two) before we submit our comment

    September 13, 2010 at 2:56 am

    • You are welcome CC. I’m sure they can come up with a way to do this. Vox did. I agree about the selection boxes. I have forgotten to do it too sometimes and then I forget to go back and check to see if someone responded to my comment. lol

      September 13, 2010 at 2:12 pm

  4. Awesome! I hope it’ll be in an upgrade you don’t have to pay extra for. I love blogging, but I don’t want to have to pay for it!

    September 13, 2010 at 11:02 am

    • I don’t either Kim and I don’t think it would be something you would have to pay for. I think the main thing you have to pay for here is more space and I think instead of paying for more space I would just go to the end of my blogs and copy the ones I wanted to keep to my hard drive and then delete them off of here to free up some space. All of the photos I put on my blog at Vox I had on my hard drive already, so it wouldn’t be a big deal to delete them from the blog.

      September 13, 2010 at 2:16 pm

  5. That’s interesting…while most of us are struggling to determine which menu item to click on in order to do what we hope to do, you’re spending the time to find the right support staff you can click on so that all of us can do what we hope to do. That’s kinda cool Ladywise 🙂

    September 13, 2010 at 1:49 pm

    • Thanks Raymond. I appreciate you coming by. The staff here is more than willing to help. They want us to be here. I’ve been very impressed with the response I have been getting from them. I look forward to seeing more of your photography.

      September 13, 2010 at 2:07 pm

  6. Emmi

    Nice one. Sadly I tried to change the notifications to go to my fake Yahoo account instead of my primary one, but it won’t. Thanks for speaking up, the situation is a bit nutty!

    September 13, 2010 at 11:15 pm

  7. Have you spread the word to the VOX Diaspora blog/Yahoo group?

    September 14, 2010 at 12:13 am

Leave a Reply

