People Are Who They Are!

A Beautiful Mural

On Tuesday, I went to Grove Hill, a small town in southern Alabama with a friend of mine who was doing some work there. We had to go to the courthouse to look up some records. When we pulled in the parking lot, there was a huge mural on a brick wall across the street. I just had to go take pictures of it to share with you all. It was unbelievable.

The mural was painted by local artists Johnna Bush and and Sharon Dozier. They run a local arts council there. This mural had so much detail in it, I was amazed.

29 responses

  1. Wow! It is one of those pieces kids are going to love growing up with, there is so much there to discover! It is SO sweet and beautifully done.

    September 16, 2010 at 9:46 am

    • Isn’t it wonderful! I was just in awe looking at it. It is huge and there is so much detail in it, little things that you don’t see unless you get up close to it.

      September 16, 2010 at 10:04 am

  2. Hah — I love all the little critters — though I have to say that the turkeys might be my favorite! πŸ™‚

    September 16, 2010 at 10:31 am

    • I just loved the whole thing but I think the raccoon is my favorite. Glad you liked it Steve. Thanks for stopping by!

      September 16, 2010 at 3:18 pm

  3. Stunning. It’s so wonderful to see good public art!

    September 16, 2010 at 12:42 pm

    • This was just awesome and so big. I don’t think I’ve ever seen anything like it. I’m so glad you enjoyed it.

      September 16, 2010 at 3:19 pm

  4. Freedom Smith

    That is beautiful!! I love outside painted murals. They add so much beauty to an area with building and pavement. I love the pictures you took because I can see the details so well!! Thank you for sharing this with us, ladywise!

    September 16, 2010 at 1:41 pm

    • You are welcome Freedom. I just couldn’t believe it when I saw it. It was beautiful. I had to get out and go up to it and take the close ups because from where we were parked you really couldn’t see a lot of the details in it. I was very impressed with the artwork. I’m so glad you enjoyed it.

      September 16, 2010 at 3:21 pm

  5. Wow! That is wonderful. The details are amazing. Thanks for sharing all the little critters.

    September 16, 2010 at 2:32 pm

    • You are so welcome CbD. I just thought it was incredible. I couldn’t wait to get back home so I could post it. lol

      September 16, 2010 at 3:21 pm

  6. I love it when a public space can be made special, and when art is right out there for everyone.

    September 16, 2010 at 4:58 pm

    • Me too Doug. I was just in awe of this. When you are standing in front of it and see the immensity of it, it is truly inspiring.

      September 16, 2010 at 7:43 pm

  7. Nice article Ladywise. And isn’t it always the out of towners that notice things like this…

    September 16, 2010 at 5:59 pm

    • Thanks Raymond. Yes. My friend that I was with has been there several times and hadn’t noticed it before. I’m always on the lookout for stuff to take pictures of, so I noticed it immediately.

      September 16, 2010 at 7:50 pm

  8. That is so beautiful!
    I love every single detail! (and furry tail!) πŸ˜‰

    Someone really put their heart into this one!

    September 16, 2010 at 6:07 pm

    • Thanks Lauri. I’m so glad you enjoyed it. Yes, someone did really put a lot of time and a lot of heart into this.

      September 16, 2010 at 7:51 pm

  9. Much as I admire the artistry of the mural (thanks for the photos and the detail), I can’t help thinking someone’s going to want to drive or walk into the picture… as they do/did in certain cartoons! — JG

    September 17, 2010 at 3:46 pm

    • lol James. It definitely makes you want to get out of your car and walk up to it to see all the detail. It’s on a brick wall though so I hope no one tries to drive or walk in to it! lol

      September 18, 2010 at 9:23 am

  10. That is so cool!

    September 18, 2010 at 5:58 am

    • Thanks FD. I thought so too.

      September 18, 2010 at 9:25 am

  11. Emmi

    I absolutely love the blue jay and the dogwood, the cherry tree and oppossum. Great photos. I’m glad you had close-ups. I always appreciate it when a town cares enough to make buildings pretty.

    September 18, 2010 at 3:51 pm

    • Thanks Emmi. I’m so glad you liked it. It was so pretty standing there looking at it. The two artists that painted it give classes at the Arts Council right around the corner from it. I think it is a great advertisement for them.

      September 18, 2010 at 5:36 pm

  12. Wow!!! It’s beautiful and so interesting too. All sorts of tiny treasures to discover. I bet you find something new every time you look at it.

    September 19, 2010 at 4:48 pm

    • I sat in the car where we parked and looked at it for a minute and you really couldn’t see much detail. I told my friend that I was with that I had to get out and take some pictures of it. When I got up close to it and started looking at some of the detail, I was amazed. There was actually a ladybug on a limb and I took a close up of it, but the picture didn’t come out very clear. The details are just amazing especially to be on an outside painting.

      September 19, 2010 at 5:41 pm

  13. How beautiful. Did you feel like shoving those cars out of the way? πŸ™‚

    September 20, 2010 at 6:49 pm

    • Yes, actually I did. I wanted to go inside the building and say “Hey, would all of you mind coming out and moving your vehicles so I can take pictures of this beautiful mural you are parked in front of!”

      September 21, 2010 at 5:03 pm

  14. By the way–I love your banner, too.

    September 21, 2010 at 2:44 pm

    • Thanks Kimber. I liked it myself. I’m so ready for fall this year after such a long hot summer!

      September 21, 2010 at 5:03 pm

  15. Wow what a beautiful mural! We have some in Tucson but they are more Mexican with bright colors etc…love them but this is so realistic.

    September 24, 2010 at 1:18 pm

Leave a Reply

