People Are Who They Are!

Traveling

A couple of years ago I had a great job that I was able to travel for. I went to North Carolina, Tennessee, Massachusetts, Vermont, Utah, Arkansas, and Oklahoma in about a year and a half. I loved being able to travel. I took lots of pictures during these travels. A lot of them are taken going down the road because the couple I traveled with were not interested in photography the way I was so I usually couldn’t get them to stop any where. Such is life. I still ended up with a lot of great photos and they have for the most part just sat in my computer and no one has really seen them. So…I decided to break them out and start sharing them with all of you.

So our first stop is Boston, Massachusetts. We went to several different areas of Boston during our travels. The one thing I can really say about Boston is it is a huge city and very spread out. It has wonderful old and new architecture everywhere you look. One of the cool things about the city is that there are a lot of tunnels as you drive through it.

24 responses

  1. Apparently you cannot reply to a reply on this thing–I tried on your last comment–Yeah, I tried the sit thing on several dogs. Some sit. Some don’t. The ones that chase you, I’m guessing, don’t have any discipline to start with.

    September 21, 2010 at 4:58 pm

    • Oh well. It was worth a try anyway. I don’t know what else to suggest.

      September 21, 2010 at 5:12 pm

  2. I hope to visit Boston someday, a friend lives there and he said we can crash in his living room. 🙂

    September 21, 2010 at 8:08 pm

    • You won’t regret it. There is no shortage of things to do and see there. I really didn’t do it justice at all with these few pictures. It really is a huge city.

      September 22, 2010 at 5:40 am

  3. Wow! I’d heard that Boston had some amazing architecture. Great photos.

    September 21, 2010 at 10:08 pm

    • Even the houses there are full of great architecture. I was in awe the whole time I was there. There are no two houses alike anywhere. Lots of color and very cool. I wish I had been able to take way more pictures and that more of them had come out good.

      September 22, 2010 at 5:43 am

  4. Freedom Smith

    Wonderful pictures, ladywise. You have been holding out on us! I love the picture of the bridge. I wish I could favorite a few of your pictures. I miss that feature that Vox had.

    I have been to Boston and I had a great time. It is an interesting city and there is much to do. I cannot believe you took these while in a car moving! Good job 🙂

    September 21, 2010 at 10:18 pm

    • Yes, I was trying to think of something to post and thought I’ve got all these traveling pictures that no one has ever really seen but me. I enjoyed going through them. I’ve got many more to come. I’m glad you enjoyed them.

      September 22, 2010 at 5:45 am

  5. Its skyline is more modern than I envisioned.

    September 21, 2010 at 11:59 pm

    • Not all of it is modern. It’s actually a great mixture of old and new. It depends on what part of the city you are in.

      September 22, 2010 at 5:46 am

      • oh, I know; just surprised by the modern skyline is all.

        September 23, 2010 at 1:26 am

  6. What awesome photos!! I’m so glad you’re sharing them. I love to look into other people’s worlds, even if the photos were taken awhile ago.

    The building in the second photo looks like a cake. How cool!!

    I’m looking forward to more!!

    September 22, 2010 at 12:22 am

    • Thanks LB. I don’t know why I haven’t thought to get them out before. I liked the cake building too. I have plenty more!

      September 22, 2010 at 5:48 am

  7. Some of these photos are fantastic! They are all quite good, really, but some especially stand out.

    I am sorry your traveling companions were not interested in photography. As the saying goes, “a picture is worth a thousand words”, and I would add that pictures help us maintain our memories of things. They are not bound by language. They are not necessarily bound by culture or convention. Though the spoken word and written text be lauded by philosophers, scholars, and intellectuals, pictures let an audience discern a scene for themselves.

    September 22, 2010 at 1:31 am

    • They were always on a mission to get to the job and get back to the room. Then we would just sit and I would think, wow, at all the pictures I could be taking. Of course they wanted copies of the photos I did get. If I had the money to travel, that’s what I would do. There are so many beautiful places in this country to see.

      September 22, 2010 at 5:51 am

  8. Great idea! Thanks for sharing. Boston is still on my to-do-list. Sad that this couple wouldn’t give you a few seconds here or there to take a picture that’s not on the go LOL
    That’s really all it takes 😉

    September 22, 2010 at 2:21 am

    • Oh I agree. It doesn’t take long at all to snap a few pictures. The heavy traffic there was the reason I was able to get a lot of the ones I did get. lol I would highly recommend going to Boston. There really is a lot to see there.

      September 22, 2010 at 5:53 am

  9. I would like to go to Boston, but your photos are probably about as close as I’ll ever get. Thanks for sharing. Looks like a terrific city.

    September 22, 2010 at 12:17 pm

    • Thank you CbD. I hope you do get to go one day. It is an amazing city. There is so much there. I always thought Atlanta was big but I believe Boston is bigger and has so much to offer in the way of architecture and history. What I really liked there was there are no two houses alike. They are all so different. Where Atlanta has so many subdivisions full of houses that are all the same, I don’t remember even seeing any subdivisions there. Every house is different and so is every building in the city. Very unique city.

      September 22, 2010 at 12:53 pm

  10. Great photos and it was so nice to see Boston from your point of view. I’ve never been there so it was fun to see your photos.

    September 22, 2010 at 3:37 pm

    • Thank you Maureen! I’m glad you enjoyed it. I wish I had been able to do more actual sight seeing while I was there because there is so much to see.

      September 23, 2010 at 1:55 pm

  11. Emmi

    You did a nice job capturing the odd beauty of Boston. It’s a fun town, I like Cambridge too.

    September 23, 2010 at 1:46 pm

    • Thank you Emmi and that’s a good description of it, there is an oddity to the beauty of it. I think because there is such a good mixture of old and new there. And yes, we were all over the place and it’s been two years, so I had photos from all over, Boston, Cambridge, Salem, all mixed in that I never really named specific areas of. Shame on me. I still wanted to share some of these photos I have from different parts of the country though because no one has really ever seen them except for me. I have quite a few more to go from different places.

      September 23, 2010 at 1:59 pm

  12. Great shots Lady. And, sorry I’m behind in commenting. I went to Boston for a long w/end once and found the most helpful people were other tourists! LOL…

    September 24, 2010 at 7:22 am

Leave a Reply

