People Are Who They Are!

Burlington, Vermont

Today, we head north to Burlington, Vermont, a city located on the edge of Lake Champlain. It was a beautiful little town surrounded by gorgeous mountainous country side. Once again it was go to work and come home except for one day I begged and pleaded to go down to the lake and see what the waterfront area was like. We thoroughly enjoyed the day. We ended up taking a luncheon cruise out on the lake. It was a two hour cruise and we were served a wonderful lunch included with the tour.

Our luncheon cruise boat.

After the cruise, we walked around the city of Burlington. It was a Saturday and they were having a street fair that day and it was wonderful.

These last few pictures were taken on a couple of different mornings heading to work. The countryside there is just gorgeous and I was able to capture a few really great photos at 60 mph! lol

If you ever get a chance, I would highly recommend visiting Burlington, Vermont. The towns are quaint, the countryside is full of mountains and absolutely spectacular and the people were extremely friendly there. It was one of my favorite places that we went.

26 responses

  1. Emmi

    Hey, Chica, you’re getting closer to where we are. Do you have my email?

    elliesparrow@ymail.com

    You should contact us if you get closer to Brattleboro at some point.

    Gorgeous and seasonal photos. What Ales You…..lol. That’s cute. I like the signs and markets in these places as well, definetly part of the flavor.

    Beautiful flowers and mmmm, maple syrup!

    September 23, 2010 at 1:48 pm

    • Oh I wish! These were taken a couple of years ago when I had my job traveling. I was laid off after about a year and a half. I absolutely loved my job. I had all of these photos just sitting and no one had ever really seen them so I thought I would bring them out and have someone besides me enjoy them.

      This particular day was just wonderful. The weather was perfect, the cruise across the lake was wonderful and then to have the local market fair going on in town after that was just a perfect ending to great day.

      September 23, 2010 at 2:07 pm

      • Emmi

        Haa, you tricked me! LOL (just kidding). I am thoroughly enjoying the montage – you’ve done well representing these regions. I think this one is my favorite although I love seeing my state of Mass appreciated as well. The flowers are so pretty.

        September 23, 2010 at 2:12 pm

  2. Great pictures. I love especially the on of the flowers in glasses placed in a “Jaffa” box. 7th from the bottom. 🙂

    September 23, 2010 at 3:09 pm

    • Thanks Irony. I like that one too. I think I had a couple of different shots of that setup because it was so colorful.

      September 23, 2010 at 3:53 pm

  3. Wow that does look like a great place to visit…and I thought all they did was make coats! lol

    September 23, 2010 at 4:14 pm

    • lol Maureen. It is a beautiful little town and it sits on a beautiful lake. The people there were great too. I absolutely loved it.

      September 23, 2010 at 5:35 pm

  4. After so many great pictures, I have to ask:

    Are you on Flickr, and may I add you as a contact?

    September 23, 2010 at 5:01 pm

    • No, I’m really not on Flicker. I think I have one or two family photos on there that I used when I was on My Space or something. All of these are just sitting on my hard drive never being seen. That’s why I’ve been bringing them out here. I have plenty more still to come.

      I appreciate you asking though. I may set them up in an account there so I can have some of them on my sidebar here since we have that option. Thanks Jak. I’m glad you are enjoying them.

      September 23, 2010 at 5:37 pm

  5. I can’t look at muddy waters without thinking of the musician!

    September 23, 2010 at 7:51 pm

    • Me either Ally. That was one reason I photographed that sign. I’m a big blues fan.

      September 25, 2010 at 9:26 am

  6. I would love to tour the northeast. Your photographs are wonderful. In my ideal world, I would live in a camper and travel around the country taking pictures. When I win the lottery, right? LOL

    September 23, 2010 at 8:42 pm

    • That is exactly what I would like to do, just travel the country and visit all the little small towns as well as the big cities. There are so many hidden treasures in small towns around the country that you never hear about. Let me know when you win the lottery and I’ll go with you! lol

      September 25, 2010 at 9:28 am

  7. Very charming! I loved the “What Ales You” sign.

    September 23, 2010 at 10:33 pm

    • Thanks Kim. Yeah, I liked that too. There were a lot of places to drink in that small town. I guess it is so far north that when it gets cold they need something to warm them up! lol

      September 25, 2010 at 9:29 am

  8. These are all just lovely!!! I’m so glad you’re sharing such beautiful photos with us. They need to be seen.

    September 25, 2010 at 1:37 am

    • Thank you LB. I am really enjoying going through them again. It’s been a shame for them to just sit and not be seen. I’m so glad you are enjoying them.

      September 25, 2010 at 9:30 am

  9. This little comment box just isn’t big enough to tell you all that I found interesting in your photos. I liked the Pepsi case, haven’t seen one in years, I liked the Muddy Waters sign, because I also like the blues, and still feel the wailing, crying, railroad riding sound of the Mississippi sax. But, you know…all these pictures of yesterday might well find you catching a train, riding the rails just to find out what else you missed. You seem to have the dream of wanderlust… 🙂

    September 25, 2010 at 5:11 pm

  10. Sorry, the library’s computer timed out.

    I guess what I was trying to say is that you seem larger than the box you’re in. What type of work were you doing that made you so happy? Well, just wondering, if its uncomfortable, its okay, you don’t have to answer. Just that when you write about traveling, you read differently. Anywho, have a good weekend 🙂

    September 25, 2010 at 5:38 pm

    • Sorry I didn’t respond all weekend. My sister came to visit and we were like little girls all weekend.

      The job I had wasn’t great, I did merchandising for a company and we traveled around doing cosmetic (makeup) resets in different drug store and grocery store chains. I liked the work alright because it gave you that sense of immediate gratification to go in and take a wall of makeup that was a mess and full of old stuff and redo it and make it all pretty again.

      What I really enjoyed though was getting to travel and get paid for it. I’m not a photographer, per say, but I love to take pictures and edit them. It was a bit frustrating with the couple I traveled with because they never wanted to stop or visit anywhere. There were so many times that we were very close to some place really cool and they didn’t want to go and since we were in their vehicle, I wouldn’t get to go.

      I am confined to a “box” any more because of financial problems. Like they say, you have to have money to make money. Having been laid off in this economy and at my age was a bit devastating to say the least. I’m one of those “jack of all trades and master of none” type of people. There is a lot of different stuff that I can do, but I look terrible on paper when I go to apply for a job because the “artistic personality” in me keeps me from staying with anything for very long. I’ve always been that way.

      Anyway, that’s a little bit about me. I live alone out in the country and I really enjoy the peace and solitude. I love my online friends and I’m so happy to be getting to know you!

      September 27, 2010 at 3:57 pm

      • Figured you to be multi-talented. Little things, reading here and there, indicates you’ve been down the road. I read that you’ve not only survived the experiences, but you’ve grown in depth. Speaks well of you 🙂

        Oh, I always check my email. Sometimes you find surprises, its not always from some Nigerian person wanting you to claim a ten digit bank fund for a nine digit reward. Its nice to find surprises 🙂

        September 30, 2010 at 6:27 pm

  11. Freedom Smith

    Wow, fantastic pictures!! I want to be there NOW. I love the boat and water pictures. The shops and the town look equally appealing. How did you ever leave?

    September 28, 2010 at 12:32 pm

  12. Oh it was a beautiful little town. Our hotel overlooked the Lake and I woke up to a beautiful sight every morning. I hated to leave but it was summer time when we were there. As soon as winter hit there (it is very close to the Canadian border) I would have been running out of there! lol

    September 28, 2010 at 12:46 pm

  13. Love the photos. They remind me of my time spent in Claremont Hew Hampshire!
    I love seeing the things they had for sale.

    September 29, 2010 at 6:15 pm

    • Thanks Katie. I’m glad you enjoyed them. I loved it there!

      September 29, 2010 at 9:50 pm

  14. kerstin66

    looks like a wonderful day…..I love the colourful shots.

    October 10, 2010 at 11:14 am

Leave a Reply

