People Are Who They Are!

For Flamingo Dancer

I have been watching all the Vintage photos FD posts and today I happened to think about one that I have myself. Years ago I took care of my husbands grandmother. She was 97 when she moved in with me. She brought with her all of her photos and we used to spend hours going through them. My favorite is this one and it was taken on her wedding day, February 24th, 1914. Anna Beatrice Carruthers was an only child from a wealthy family. Although the quality of the photo is not great, you can see the style from then.  I thought that you would enjoy this FD.

26 responses

  1. Oh what a wonderful picture!
    1914!
    I love the dress….and she is so happy! 🙂

    September 27, 2010 at 4:11 pm

    • Thanks Lauri. She stayed a beautiful woman all of her life. At 97 she still got up every morning and put on a dress and stockings and heels and her make up and did her hair. She was a very interesting woman to be around and I learned so much from her. I loved having her there.

      September 27, 2010 at 4:23 pm

  2. Emmi

    What an absolutely beautiful woman. And look at that dress! The stitching! The details! That level of craftsmanship is just plain rare these days. Gorgeous photo.

    September 27, 2010 at 5:00 pm

    • Thank you Emmi. She was a beautiful woman and always dressed to the hilt.

      September 27, 2010 at 10:47 pm

  3. she is quite lovely! It is kind of rare to find a photo of that age with a nice big smile like that. So Joyful!

    September 27, 2010 at 6:30 pm

    • It was her wedding day and I think she was always a happy woman anyway. Thank you so much Lav.

      September 27, 2010 at 10:48 pm

  4. Most photos of that age are so sober. This one is beautiful. You are blessed to have known her. I can’t remember the last time to got up and put on a dress and stockings. Somebody’s wedding, I’m sure. Wow, have times changed.

    September 27, 2010 at 9:10 pm

    • I agree. It actually bothers me to see women today never wearing stockings. I guess because of the age I grew up in and my mother always wore stockings and heels when she worked or went anywhere that they were appropriate for. Ms Anna however, never wore a pair of pants in her life. She was a very prim and proper lady until the end.

      September 27, 2010 at 10:50 pm

  5. Wonderful photo! It’s great that you were able to go through photos with her. We’ve got photos in the family where no one can identify the people…good to write it down while somebody remembers!

    September 27, 2010 at 10:14 pm

    • Yes, we did that with a lot of photos that the grand kids and great grand kids will have one day. We did have a wonderful time going through them as she was still very spry at 97 and very entertaining. She had many great stories to tell. Thank you so much Scott. I’m glad you liked it.

      September 27, 2010 at 10:52 pm

  6. That is the most wonderful photograph! It is rare that people smiled so this is even more precious! Thank you for sharing, it is the most beautiful photo and she was a very beautiful woman.

    September 28, 2010 at 12:35 am

    • Thank you FD. I couldn’t wait for you to see it and hear what you would have to say. I’m so glad you liked it. I’ve been like a little kid all day waiting for you to see it and comment on it! lol She was a very special lady, very prim and proper right up to the end.

      September 28, 2010 at 12:41 am

  7. Reminds me that my parents have a photo album back home which is filled with really old pictures. I think some of them might even date back to late 1800. No one knows who those people are, besides one picture which is my dads grandfather.

    September 28, 2010 at 1:40 am

    • Oh that is sad. I go to flea markets and stuff and see old photos that people are selling and they have no idea who the person is. I think it is very sad when I see that. My ex was from a very big Catholic family and I loved looking at the old photos and being able to see the resemblance of different ones of the kids to the older photos of grandmothers and great grandmothers and such.

      September 28, 2010 at 11:34 am

      • When I go to flea market I look specifically for photos of lovely ladies who have lost their stories and are looking to me to discover a brand new one.

        This photo is a marvelous one – there is such joy in her face.

        September 28, 2010 at 8:22 pm

      • Thank you Aubrey. She was an incredible lady. I went to your site and read a couple of your stories and I was very impressed. I would be interested to see what you would come up with for Ms. Anna without knowing much of anything about her.

        September 29, 2010 at 12:23 pm

  8. Freedom Smith

    Her hair is amazing! I am surprised by the fringe on her wedding dress. I have never seen that before.

    September 28, 2010 at 12:16 pm

    • I hadn’t either. But then she was always one to be different as a way to show off the money she had. I have often wondered about that as well, but I never questioned her about it as the times were so different then and I would have been afraid that I would offend her. I’ve never actually seen a wedding dress from those days so I wouldn’t know what to expect anyway. You know what I mean?

      September 28, 2010 at 12:19 pm

  9. Wow, her waist is so tiny! She must have been wearing a corset?

    September 28, 2010 at 1:23 pm

    • Maybe. She always watched her weight even at 97. She was very particular about what she ate and absolutely would not eat after 6:00 p.m. However, she did still have girdles and such. I’m sure she probably wore corsets when she was younger. She did give birth to three sons.

      September 28, 2010 at 5:42 pm

  10. I also noticed her waist. That’s the classic two handed waist isn’t it? The only time I ever see women dress up is when a fat, overbearing boss determines what a woman should look like at work. These days, not even a husband has the right to suggest what a woman might wear. I’ve never figured out why they would let a fat, key jangling idiot tell ’em what to wear, and then be offended if a loved one requested they dress up more. The pride of being femine is as dead as the American Dream.

    September 28, 2010 at 5:14 pm

    • I agree Raymond. I said in an earlier comment that it still bothers me to see women without stockings on today. You see female attorneys and corporate women in business suits with no stockings and that truly bothers me. I love the feel and look of stockings and I think they are extremely sexy. (I owned a lingerie store for a while and sold lots of them.)

      September 28, 2010 at 5:44 pm

      • I think that’s what bothers me the most. Growing older. I miss seeing the flowers all dressed up and sparkling. Just nothing like a woman dressed up, where you can’t see anything else but her. And you know that’s she’s friend, a sister, a goddess, a mother, and just all kinds of symbols of how creation might come together in one package.
        Stockings, yeah, I remember those days. Whenever we would go to the drive in, and all the touching and kissing would simply happen, we knew there were limits. Nothing like it really…you slide your hand under her dress, and you experience a wild rush of something amazing…but you knew that it was a border of respect, I mean, you knew you must not go any farther. It was somehow mutually understood, we all knew the limits and we respected the boundaries.
        I guess times are different now, but when we said we’d be back by ten o’clock, it meant ten o’clock. We knew the folks would still be waiting up.
        Back then, a girls reputation was an important part of it. You didn’t talk about what happened at the drive in and you didn’t brag about what may or may not have happened.
        But I guess times are really different. Growing old sucks. But I remember, and I just don’t see the flowers dressing up nowadays. Its kinda sad, I think.

        September 29, 2010 at 3:09 pm

  11. Well Raymond that’s what I miss in the men is the true unstated respect.

    You left me a very nice comment on the Burlington, Vermont post I did and I replied and I don’t think you read it. There is no way to do a link to it in this comment, but I would like for you to go back and read it if you have time.

    September 29, 2010 at 4:21 pm

  12. Wow, look at all that hair and that tiny, tiny waist.

    Wonderful photo!

    September 30, 2010 at 12:38 am

  13. A beautiful lady she was – and an enviable waist and the dress is gorgeous. What a wonderful photo to have – so valuable in so many ways.

    October 3, 2010 at 9:15 pm

Leave a Reply

