People Are Who They Are!

Flipping a Bird

It’s funny how different memories creep into your mind for no apparent reason sometimes. I was sitting here having my coffee this morning and for some reason I thought about an incident that happened when my son was little.He had started playing football and he thought he was the coolest thing since dirt. Actually he was, but when he started playing the part at school it was no longer very cool. The teacher had them all lined up out in the hall for something and he got out of line so she got on to him and that embarrassed him. When she turned around he flipped her a bird. Well, she might have turned around but like all good teachers, she had eyes in the back of her head and saw what he did.

Of course he got in serious trouble and I got a phone call. When he came home that afternoon he was hanging that little head, he wasn’t so cool anymore. I never spanked or whipped my children and at times they probably wished I had because I could be very creative when it came to punishments for problems incurred. I had time to think about this one before he got home and I was ready for him when he walked in the door. He came in apologizing and trying to explain himself and I didn’t say anything except “sit down”.

I had pulled out a brand new empty composition notebook and a pencil and had it laying on the table. I told him he was going to write “I will not shoot birds” until he filled that notebook. He really thought I had lost it. Of course he continued to try to defend himself and apologize and tell me all the reasons why he couldn’t fill the entire notebook but all I would say was “write”.

For three afternoons he spent the evening other than doing homework and eating dinner at the kitchen table writing sentences. Every so often I would look at that middle finger. After the third evening he had a blister on it. “Mamma, my finger hurts really bad,” he told me. “Do you think you are going to stick it up in the air at someone again?” I asked “No mamma, I won’t ever do it again, I promise. I mean it, I won’t ever shoot nobody a bird again.”

Too my knowledge he never did either. I don’t know what made me think about that this morning, but I had to laugh. He was a very dramatic child anyway and I kept that notebook for a long time because it not only contained the sentences, but it contained a valuable lesson about respect and a lot of his tears.

22 responses

  1. Awww. What a sweet story. And what darling kids!

    October 2, 2010 at 11:44 am

    • Thank you Lauri. I always smile when I think about it. It was funny because he was so dramatic about it! lol

      October 3, 2010 at 9:46 pm

  2. Love it!!! very creative punishment Dear.

    October 2, 2010 at 11:47 am

    • Thank you Lav. You never know how people are going to react to things like that. I was creative with punishments and the kids never knew what to expect when they were in trouble. That one definitely made him do some serious thinking. lol

      October 3, 2010 at 9:47 pm

  3. How cool. Okay if I ever need advise in parenting I’ll come to you.

    October 2, 2010 at 12:00 pm

    • I didn’t know you had kids Irony. I’m so glad you thought it was cool. I have lots of tricks up my sleeve when it comes to creative punishments. They were always much better than hitting.

      October 3, 2010 at 9:48 pm

  4. They look like little models. Very beautiful children.

    Wow….what a great way to make an impression.

    October 2, 2010 at 12:06 pm

    • Thanks LBeeze. They were cute. The little girl was a cheerleader that was just in love with my son. It was really cute. I’m glad you agreed with the punishment. You never know how people are going to react, especially today. I always thought it was funny. He does too now.

      October 3, 2010 at 9:51 pm

    • 😉 I don’t – yet. But am always on the outlook for good ideas should the day come.
      Because I am apparently a bit too…strict when it comes to child education. Or my ideas of how it suppose to be. But I love it when I see others that do the same.

      And to be honest – I have been taking take of a two set of kids of 2 and of 3 over the period of 2 years. My way worked very well, whereas the parents were struggling a good portion at times – so I am not really doubting my thoughts.

      October 4, 2010 at 2:25 am

      • Yes, I’ve kept other peoples kids over the years and they do tend to push the parents where they won’t push someone else as much. I always just tried to make the punishment fit the crime in my kids case. One thing parents tend to do with their own kids is threaten to punish and not follow through. I didn’t threaten, I just acted immediately when something happened.

        My two children were very different personalities so I had to treat them very different when it came to punishments. My daughter was actually the stronger tougher personality of the two and she required much stronger punishments otherwise she would just look at me like I was stupid and go right back to whatever she was doing.

        My son on the other hand was a more gentle personality and got his feelings hurt very easily so it really was much easier to deal with him. Writing those sentences for three days was probably one of the harshest things I ever did with him because he didn’t normally require such harshness.

        Every child is different and every parent is different. I just never believed that hitting was appropriate for any thing so as they got older I just had to get more creative.

        October 4, 2010 at 10:18 am

  5. Good picture and story. Isn’t it odd how things from the past will just jump into your mind for no apparent reason?

    October 2, 2010 at 3:07 pm

    • It really is and it was so funny that that particular story popped into my head this morning.

      October 3, 2010 at 9:52 pm

  6. Emmi

    It’s so great to hear from parents who care enough to enforce rules. I love this story and I wish there were more people who share effective discipline anecdotes.

    October 2, 2010 at 6:53 pm

    • Thank you so much Emmi. I’m so glad you appreciated it. I have all sorts of things I did to avoid hitting. I never hit my children for anything so you have to do something though.

      October 3, 2010 at 9:53 pm

  7. Look at those two. I had a few run ins with teachers. Mine were nuns. Never a bird but a few choice mumbles that got me to Monsignor Ryan’s office. I was scared of him because he didn’t have eyebrows and was like 95 years old. That was punishment enough. I had to sit in his office and he scared me.

    October 2, 2010 at 8:06 pm

    • Poor baby, that sounds scary! lol

      Poor little Christopher got in trouble one day at school and they still paddled then. The teacher paddled him and then sent him to the office and he got paddled again and when he got home his daddy paddled him again. I had no idea he had already been paddled twice at school until that night talking to him about what he had done he told me. He was funny, he was only in kindergarten or first grade and his little lip trembled and he said “Momma, I got paddled three times today. I promise I won’t ever do it again.” I ended up crying myself and just hugging him and apologizing. I felt so bad.

      October 6, 2010 at 11:25 pm

  8. Erin Michel

    I LOVE that punishment! Totally creative and effective!

    October 2, 2010 at 9:48 pm

    • Thanks Erin. I always thought it was a funny story to tell. He’s almost 30 now and he hates for me to tell stories about him when he was little. He had a fit when he found out I blogged about it! lol

      October 6, 2010 at 11:26 pm

  9. Freedom Smith

    Awwww……that is such a cute story and I LOVE the picture. Too cute for words. What a great punishment. You were a good mommy 😀

    October 3, 2010 at 2:52 pm

    • Thank you Freedom, that means a lot coming from you. You can’t see it but the popular style was the spiked hair on top and a tail of hair hanging down in the back. It was almost to his waist. lol It was adorable though.

      October 3, 2010 at 9:55 pm

  10. Great story Lady! And that photo is fantastic.

    October 3, 2010 at 9:11 pm

    • Thanks Aussie May! I’m so glad you are home! I missed you so bad!

      October 3, 2010 at 9:56 pm

Leave a Reply

