People Are Who They Are!

Can’t Catch Up!

Ok everyone, like Freedom, I’m behind on reading posts and leaving comments and as of this minute have 296 emails in my inbox. Lots of them are new posts. There is no way I can get to them all so I’m going to delete all of them and move forward from today. If I haven’t commented on a post it is not intentional. I’m sorry!

I got to see two of my grand daughters this weekend that I haven’t seen in almost three years because they have been living in Ohio. They are 11 and 13 and have blossomed so beautifully. Hailey the oldest is now taller than I am and I was just astounded. It’s one thing when your kids get taller than you, but when your grand children do it, well, it’s really a funny feeling is all I can say.

You all know about the incident I had with my daughter a few months ago and I also saw her for the first time this weekend. She has been straight for 76 days and you could tell it. For the first time in years I had both of my children together and both of them were straight and all three of my grand daughters at one time. It was such a wonderful feeling and I was so overwhelmed. I thanked God many times on Saturday for allowing me that time. I have three gorgeous grand daughters and I now have my first grand son on the way. I’m so excited! Of course, being excited I forgot to take my camera with me so I got zero pictures of the big event. Well you can’t win them all. I have some wonderful pictures in my mind!

I hope everyone is having a great day and a wonderful life. Mine seems to be making some changes for the better finally.

35 responses

  1. I got rid of all my WP subscriptions, and just use Google Reader to follow new posts. That way, I can see at a glance who’s posted how many new posts, and can pick and choose from there. I’ve also learned to be careful how often I click “Notify me of follow-up comments via email,” especially if I’ve only left a throw-away comment that doesn’t require a reply, or if it’s a blog that gets loads of comments, like LBreeze’s, for instance.
    That’s great news about your daughter! So glad to hear it.

    October 4, 2010 at 11:34 am

    • Thanks Kim. I appreciate your support.

      Yes, I have to figure out a better way to keep up with everyone. I don’t want to loose friends because I’m not keeping up with them.

      October 4, 2010 at 12:40 pm

    • Beat me to the punch, she did. I was going to say, “Two words: feed reader.”

      Read Margy’s post about RSS. No, seriously, read it!

      October 5, 2010 at 11:31 pm

  2. No worries about not catching up on posts Dear, It sounds like your life has been full and beautiful! That is SO wonderful! YAY!

    October 4, 2010 at 11:45 am

    • Thank you Lav. It’s definitely getting better!

      October 4, 2010 at 12:41 pm

  3. Hi there, I’m right with you on this one…I can’t get my inbox under 100 emails and they come in as fast as I read/delete them. I’ve tried changing the settings but they done save…I guess I need to spend some time on figuring out WP.

    I’m so excited for you that you got to see your granddaughters and your children are doing so well. I know it is hard to stand back and watch your children fail but to now see that they are doing so good must give you great joy!

    You don’t need to answer this email it is OK with me not to get an answer from you.

    October 4, 2010 at 11:57 am

    • Thank you so much Maureen. I am so happy today after a great weekend. It’s amazing what it did for me.

      October 4, 2010 at 12:42 pm

    • MK let me know if you need some help with your settings. We could even try making me an administrator on your personal blog for just a little bit to help get your settings the way you want, and then you can delete me as a user when we get it set the way you want.

      October 4, 2010 at 3:44 pm

  4. Oh that’s so fantastic to hear that your daughter has been good for such a long stretch of time. I guess the tough love has worked so far πŸ™‚ I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you and your daughter that things only will go up now!

    October 4, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    • Thank you so much Irony. Yes the tough love did work. She said that herself. She said that my cutting her off was the worst thing by far that had ever happened to her. Having me and her children together this weekend did a lot for her too. She hasn’t had custody of them for years because of the drugs so the four of us haven’t all been together in a long time. It really was a wonderful weekend. Please keep your fingers crossed for me. I really appreciate your thoughts!

      October 4, 2010 at 12:45 pm

  5. I figured out very early that email subscriptions were not the way to go unless you care to spend your entire lifetime reading emails/comments and I do not. I get comments via Google Reader and usually only scanbecause I don’t need or care to know what everyone has to sas at X, Y and Z blogs. A select handful of blogs I keep on email subscriptions.

    October 4, 2010 at 2:49 pm

  6. *insert space between “scan” and “because”* and correct typo “…everyone has to *say* at …”

    October 4, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    • Hey no problem. I find typos all the time in my comments after I’ve already submitted them. Drives me nuts! I normally do alright because I had gotten down to where I wasn’t getting the comments any more just the new posts. But with 35 or 40 people in your subscriptions if you ever get behind a couple of days which I did, it’s difficult to catch back up! lol

      I’m so glad you stopped by Alleycat!

      October 4, 2010 at 10:25 pm

  7. Like Kimkiminy and AllyCat, I rely on my Google Reader the most to keep me caught up. I did not delete my subscriptions like Kimkiminy did but I have them set to not send me any emails. I found right off that I liked using the Google reader better than the subscriptions page on WP, because on GR I can see pretty much the whole post. That way I can stay in one place and scroll thru all the post and just click on the ones I want to comment on.

    Like AllyCat I rarely email subscribe to the comments because I would just end up with way too many emails.

    The ones I do subscribe to I monitor as to if I want to unsubscribe later when I do not want to read any more of the ongoing replies.

    Even with all of that I still find it easy to get behind. I think it is because everyone has recently become more active in their blogging and commenting, because of the move and all the posting about what they are learning here on WP.

    We all know life trumps blogs and understand when there is a spell where someone is not around.

    October 4, 2010 at 3:42 pm

    • “The ones I do subscribe to I monitor as to if I want to unsubscribe later when I do not want to read any more of the ongoing replies.”

      Oh! How do you do that?!?

      October 4, 2010 at 5:57 pm

      • There are two ways that I know about.

        One way is to scroll to the bottom of one of the emails, for the particular post’s comments, and click on the ‘unsubscribe’ link. This immediately unsubscribe you from that post’s comment emails, and it will open up your WordPress>Dashboard>subscriptions management page with a notice telling you it has been done.

        The other way is by going to that page yourself from WP instead of from your email.

        When I first discovered how to do this I created a post about it.
        http://countrycinderella.wordpress.com/2010/09/23/subscribing-to-comments-and-then-unsubscribing-later/

        Let me know if it makes sense, if not I can try to explain it again, more clearly.

        October 4, 2010 at 7:23 pm

    • Fabulous. Thank you so much!

      October 4, 2010 at 7:37 pm

    • Thanks CC. Yes life does trump blogging but I don’t usually have much going on so I have had people think something was wrong with me if they don’t hear from me for a while because they know I live alone, so I try real hard to keep up. I don’t want them to stop thinking about me! lol

      October 4, 2010 at 10:28 pm

    • @countryc – “… because on GR I can see pretty much the whole post.” — you can also do this using Blog Surfer.

      October 5, 2010 at 2:36 pm

      • You are right AllyCat, but I also like the fact that I can sort my feeds any way I want in GR, Blog Surfer does not have that option.

        I can also rename the feeds on GR so that if I remember someone by their VOX name and not their new WP name, I can change it.

        I also find that using GR is my own personal control measure, because when I am using Blog Surfer or even My Subscriptions, I often get sidetracked doing something within my dashboard. By having my feeds in my GR I leave it open in a separate window and know where I left off in reading post. When I bring my focus back to reading posts I just go back to my GR and pick up where I left off.

        October 5, 2010 at 8:27 pm

  8. Such wonderful news and wonderful memories, even without pictures. I’m so happy for you. Families are priceless.

    October 4, 2010 at 8:06 pm

    • Thanks CbD. Families are priceless and I’ve missed having mine like it should be for a long time.

      October 4, 2010 at 10:20 pm

  9. Imagine how I am scrambling after a month away! πŸ™‚
    I’m glad you had such a happy family get-together and hope that your daughter can stay straight.

    October 4, 2010 at 9:40 pm

    • Oh I imagine you are really behind. Thanks. I really enjoyed having them all together especially straight. It’s been a long time!

      October 4, 2010 at 10:21 pm

  10. I find it harder to get around WP than I did on Vox. My inbox is choked. I’m scared to even look…..I got behind a few weeks ago and I still haven’t gotten caught up.

    I’m so glad you had such a lovely weekend with your family. How special beyond words.

    October 4, 2010 at 11:25 pm

    • Thank you so much LBeeze. It was very special. Very very special.

      October 4, 2010 at 11:55 pm

  11. Freedom Smith

    Fantastic!! I am so happy for you, ladywise! Sounds like your daughter is finally getting straight! How fun, getting to see your granddaughters. Sounds like you had a fun and special family gathering. What a blessing!

    October 5, 2010 at 2:03 am

  12. A friend sent me an email. It got lost in the 361 emails. That’s so not cool. Its embarassing. I’ve only a couple hours to use a computer, but the Internet is somewhat larger than a Yahoo box. Heck, if I wanted to stay in a box, I wouldn’t need to leave my cardboard castle.

    October 5, 2010 at 7:57 pm

    • Raymond you should be able to create filters in your email.

      I did that in my email to help me keep personal email from getting lost in my blog notifications. I just created a totally separate folder for my blog notifications. Then when I look at my email box I can see if I have a personal email I want to read first or if I want to go thru my blog notifications.

      Also do not forget you can go back and unsubscribe to any blog comments that you are no longer interested in reading anymore. That way you can stop they emails that are still coming from those posts.

      October 5, 2010 at 8:36 pm

    • That’s ok hon, I think you found it!

      October 5, 2010 at 9:59 pm

    • Raymond – CountryC is right, you can create email filters. Alternatively, you can create an email account strictly for WP emails. That’s what I did – turned over a rarely-used email addy to WP. Can’t stand clutter and certainly don’t want it in my regular in-box so find using a second email account for WP mails only helpful in clutter management.

      October 6, 2010 at 10:10 pm

      • Thanks for mentioning that AllyCat, I forgot to mention that option. I did something similar, I created a separate email for my contact form messages.

        October 6, 2010 at 10:45 pm

  13. Ladywise – May I make a helpful suggestion. Increase your threaded comments from the default 3 to say 6, 7 or 8. That way, we can respond to one another as a thread instead of as a new comment. Thanks

    October 6, 2010 at 10:20 pm

  14. Wow. What a great update.

    October 7, 2010 at 1:00 am

  15. Freedom Smith

    I am soooo happy for you, ladywise. Your tough love helped your daughter clean up her act! You did the right thing. I am thrilled that you had that time with all of them together ❀

    October 7, 2010 at 11:25 pm

Leave a Reply

