People Are Who They Are!

I’m a Mommy Again!

Well, you know how every now and then your life just changes completely without warning? Well, that happened to me this week. You all know the problems I’ve had with my kids. Well, I ended up with my two oldest grand daughters moving in with me today. I am happy to have them but very nervous about doing this after all these years. They have really had a crazy life between going back and forth between their mom and dad and then moving here and there. I have no idea how many different schools they have been in since they started. However, in spite of it all the oldest, who will be 14 this week is in all advanced classes and makes straight A’s. The youngest, who is 11 is an A and B student.

They were very happy to get here today and we mostly spent the day playing and talking and lounging around. We did go to the grocery store and get a few things to see what they like and don’t like. I told them that we would not eat junk food and they were fine with that. We got strawberries, plums, apples, grapes, carrot and celery sticks for snacks, lots of Juicy Juice and some vegetable lasagna for dinner tonight. Yum. I think we are going to do fine. I just have to teach them to be kids again because they think they are supposed to be adults at this point.

So, if you wonder where I’m at for a couple of days at the time, you’ll know I’m busy. Very busy! I’ll post pictures soon so that you can see them. They are beautiful girls even if I may say so myself! I at least know now that they are safe and sound and will have a peaceful steady household to live in.

28 responses

  1. Grannies make the best mommies. My mom and dad stepped in to help my sister and she ended up getting herself in order because the stress of the three kids wasn’t there. She went to school, got a degree, and now owns her own house. It wasn’t looking good at all for decades. They are all together now and she is doing much better. Mom and dad gave her the time to grow up that she missed out on by having three kids before she was 20.

    October 6, 2010 at 11:26 pm

  2. Oh that’s so good to have a happy ending. My daughter has been straight since our “problem”. She’s got 78 days clean. However, I told her there was no way she was strong enough to take these kids back on. She would end up relapsing. I’ve had two years of living alone and getting my nerves straightened out so I think we’ll be fine no matter how long they end up being here.

    October 6, 2010 at 11:35 pm

  3. Your the best grandma…I know this will be hard…you are doing the right thing!

    October 6, 2010 at 11:37 pm

  4. Thank you Maureen. I appreciate that. I needed to hear it too. I’ve got several people telling me I’m nuts but they are my grand children and they deserve a fighting chance in this world.

    October 6, 2010 at 11:38 pm

  5. Sounds like those kids are very lucky to have you. Good luck!

    October 6, 2010 at 11:57 pm

    • Thanks Scott. I appreciate that. I just want them to be happy.

      October 7, 2010 at 12:02 am

  6. There is nothing in the world more important than children and your grandchildren are the most important children. Bless you!

    October 6, 2010 at 11:58 pm

    • Thank you Maureen very much.

      October 7, 2010 at 12:02 am

  7. Oh my goodness. Life is changing for you!! I will be praying. What a blessing you are to those girls. Looking forward to many updates.

    October 7, 2010 at 1:02 am

  8. How wonderful! More good things 🙂 I wish you all the best of luck with them and lots and lots of energy.

    October 7, 2010 at 2:33 am

    • You know, I’ve been so amazed at how helpful they are. We get in there together and cook and they love to help and we do the dishes together. We do everything together so it hasn’t been difficult at all. I feel very blessed.

      October 7, 2010 at 9:11 pm

  9. Oh wow! Best of the best for everything that is to come! They ARE lucky to have you!

    October 7, 2010 at 5:39 am

    • Thank you Lauri but it’s really that I’m lucky to have them!

      October 7, 2010 at 9:11 pm

  10. How lovely for you – I’m sure it will help your daughter have peace of mind in knowing that they are with a person who really loves and cares for them (you) – it may make her continued recovery easier.

    Best wishes to you – I hope you have lots of energy! 🙂

    October 7, 2010 at 6:18 am

    • Thank you so much Aussie May. I’m the one feeling pretty lucky about now. They are such good girls. I think this is going to work out great.

      October 7, 2010 at 9:12 pm

  11. You will be fine. It is so good of you to open up your heart and your home to your grand daughters. Hope things work out so they can return to their parents, if that is what is best. Right now, they need unconditional love (with rules) and I know you are going to do that. I’m sure the road won’t always be easy, but having stability in their lives will mean a lot to them. Good luck to all of you.

    October 7, 2010 at 10:59 am

    • Thank you so much CbD. I really appreciate your support. I don’t expect it to always be easy. My brother told me today, “You know this isn’t like getting a new puppy.” I laughed like crazy at him. I have raised kids of my own. lol

      October 7, 2010 at 9:15 pm

  12. Well, that’s great! Will this be a permanent situation? How wonderful that they’ll have a stable household.

    October 7, 2010 at 12:38 pm

    • Yes this will definitely be permanent. It would take so long for either of the parents to get it together enough to take them that they would be grown by then anyway. I don’t want them to have to change schools again is one of the big things.

      October 7, 2010 at 9:17 pm

  13. Wow — good luck with the new additions. I’m sure you’ll do great!

    October 7, 2010 at 12:40 pm

    • Thanks Steve. I appreciate the vote of confidence!

      October 7, 2010 at 9:18 pm

  14. WOW! I’ve seen a lot of grandparents raising grandkids, in my profession, and I say that has to be THE most unselfish thing, ever. Praying for you!

    October 7, 2010 at 3:53 pm

  15. Thank you so much Kimber. I appreciate your prayers believe me. I’m praying too.

    October 7, 2010 at 9:19 pm

  16. Freedom Smith

    Oh, ladywise, that is the most wonderful thing. I am so surprised but happy too. Your granddaughters are fortunate and blessed to have you. I bet they will blossom in your care!! I cannot wait to see pictures!!

    I had such a bemused and excited look on my face, when Mr came in, that he asked what was going on and I told him about your granddaughters moving in 😀

    October 7, 2010 at 11:23 pm

  17. Wow….only missed one post….how quickly things change.

    October 9, 2010 at 1:47 am

    • Life changes quickly Lb. I was reminded of that real quick this past week. I was kind of nervous in the beginning but it has turned out to be a real blessing for me as much as them. We’ve gotten along great and things are really smooth so far.

      October 9, 2010 at 11:33 pm

  18. Emmi

    Oh, how wonderful! I am sympathetic to the challenge this will be but what a good thing for your granddaughters. I love that you care enough to feed them excellent food. I visited my Grandma often and she had a huge influence on my life, in fact my screen name is in her honor (it’s a variation of my middle name which is from her as well).

    You take care of yourself and make sure they help you with the chores. Many blessings and prayers for you.

    October 10, 2010 at 6:30 pm

    • Oh thank you so much Emmi. I was kind of nervous in the beginning but it has been so smooth so far. They are very happy to be here and we work together very well to get things done. They are a huge help. It really hasn’t been difficult at all.

      I was very close to my grandmother too.

      October 10, 2010 at 7:06 pm

Leave a Reply

