People Are Who They Are!

How’s It Going?

So far everything is going great with the kids! They are awesome girls. We spent the first day or so kind of lounging around and talking in general about how I would like things to go. I didn’t want to throw a bunch of rules at them right away but there were some basic things we needed to talk about.

Yesterday we met up with their dad and got most of the rest of their stuff. I really wanted to get everything together so I knew what kind of shape their clothes and shoes were in that they did have so I would know what I needed to go get. We’ve gotten everything cleaned out today so we’re getting it all washed up and hung up and organized.

We’re going in a bit to make a drop off at the Good Will store and pick up a few personal things they needed from Walmart. We got the rooms cleaned out that will be theirs. I only used one bedroom and the other two had tools and materials where we’ve been working on the house for the past year so we moved it all to one room and they each have a room of their own and I temporarily live in the living room.

I have lots to get done but quite a few people have stepped up to the plate to help things along so we are going to be fine. The kids are very peaceful and happy and I am over joyed right now. We’ve had lots of fun and laughs. They are very entertaining, especially the youngest, Felicia. She came through this morning with her pajama bottoms rolled up  and pulled high on her waist and the shirt tucked in. I looked at her kind of funny and said “What are you doing Felicia?” She said I’m being a nerd and she started vocally mocking the comedian Steve Erckle. (I think that’s how you spell it.) I laughed so hard I almost choked. She is very comical.

Sometime this weekend they are going to get all dolled up so I can take pictures of them. Several people haven’t seen them in a long time and you guys have never seen them so we are going to have a photo shoot. They are very excited about it!

So things are going really well so far. Monday will be challenging I’m sure for them getting enrolled into a new school but they have both said that they would be fine because they are happy at home. I am so blessed to have them with me. One of my friends said today that I didn’t need to be out here alone anyway and I think they are right. God works in mysterious ways!

5 responses

  1. This is fantastic, LW! I am so happy for you and the girls!

    October 8, 2010 at 6:23 pm

  2. Wonderful news! You can be a blessing for them and they can be a blessing for you. Perfect!

    October 8, 2010 at 8:45 pm

  3. I have to learn more about this. What great news for everyone.

    October 9, 2010 at 1:42 am

  4. and she started vocally mocking the comedian Steve Erckle

    Well, technically, that would be “Steve Urkel, a humorous character portrayed by Jaleel White.”

    (go ahead, click on the link… see? he’s grown up now, but millions of viewers will probably still think of him as Urkel)

    I am glad to hear things are going well, and of course I wouldn’t tell you it’s not like getting a new puppy, hehe.

    October 9, 2010 at 1:00 pm

  5. Freedom Smith

    Fabulous!! I am sooooo happy for you and for your two very fortunate granddaughters who have you 😀 I imagine they must be elated to be somewhere stable, and to know how much you want them there and how much you love them. That is wonderful that they will each have a room.

    Do you have what you need to care for them? Are people helping with that kind of thing? Did you get the education thing taken care of (I cannot remember the name…a thing the parent has to sign so that you can make educational decisions for them…kind of like their educational guardianship). I hope that all goes well as they start a new school and as you deal with the day to day ups and downs of teenage girls.

    If anyone can do it, you can! I know this won’t be easy but may look back on it as one of the most worthwhile challenges that you ever took on! ((hugs))

    October 9, 2010 at 6:05 pm

Leave a Reply

