People Are Who They Are!

A Gift of Fall For You…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I decided this weekend that the girls and I needed a break from each other. My niece, who has two girls the same age as Hailey and Felicia said that she would be happy to have them come for the weekend, so I called my good friend Alice and I went to her house.

Alice and I decided that it was probably the last weekend to see the fall leaves, so we headed out Saturday morning to north Georgia. We went up around Blue Ridge and just rode the dirt roads and I took pictures. It was a gorgeous day and I haven’t relaxed and enjoyed myself like that in a long time. We were like two little girls that were getting away with something, laughing and giggling going down the road. After riding through beautiful country side all day, we rounded the evening out at a great Mexican restaurant with good food and a couple of Margaritas.

I picked the girls back up Sunday morning feeling totally renewed. The girls had enjoyed their weekend too. It was truly a wonderful day out and I couldn’t wait to get home and share it with you. I hope you enjoy this slide show. If you don’t live in an area where you get to see the beauty of the fall, here it is in all it’s glory!

31 responses

  1. These are wonderful. Thanks for sharing your day with us. I am glad you all had a refreshing weekend.

    November 15, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    • Thanks CC. I’m so glad you enjoyed it. I did have a great weekend!

      November 15, 2010 at 4:34 pm

  2. Mmmmm, margaritas!

    November 15, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    • Yes, the margaritas were good. I rarely drink but I do enjoy one every now and then.

      November 15, 2010 at 10:47 pm

  3. Freedom Smith

    Oh, Ladywise, your pictures are fantastic! I wish I could comment on many of them. The colors are glorious and the mountains, in all their glory! I could just sit and watch the slideshow for quite awhile!

    I am so happy that you got a break. So necessary! It sounds like you had a wonderful time with your friend and that is exactly what you needed. The fact that you felt totally renewed says it all! It will help you keep your sanity, while trying to mother (again) if you can have some breaks and renewal, like this. Yah for good friends, alone time, and a way to energize your batteries!

    November 15, 2010 at 2:30 pm

    • Thanks Freedom. It was wonderful to just relax and not have a specific agenda for the day. I really did enjoy myself. I’m so glad you enjoyed the pictures. I was so excited when I went through them. I took almost 300 pictures and I ended up with 75 true beauties. I loved it!

      November 15, 2010 at 10:50 pm

  4. Ah, it feels refreshing just seeing these pictures! 😀

    SO glad you were able to get away and get renewed!

    November 15, 2010 at 4:19 pm

    • Thanks Lauri. I was thinking as we were going down the road that I wished I had a camcorder instead of a still camera for once. It was just gorgeous every where we went. I felt great on my way home.

      November 15, 2010 at 10:51 pm

  5. These captures made me homesick for New England . . . one thing Southern California doesn’t have – a Fall as magnificent as yours. Thanks for letting us tag along. A little girl time in the mountains, I would love that.

    November 15, 2010 at 4:27 pm

    • Thanks TB. I’m so glad you enjoyed it. The girl time was awesome. We were like two little girls giggling and laughing all day.

      November 15, 2010 at 10:53 pm

  6. Just stunning!!! Thank you so much for sharing!

    November 15, 2010 at 5:10 pm

    • Thanks Kim. I’m glad you enjoyed them. What happened to your gravatar? I want to see YOU!

      November 15, 2010 at 10:54 pm

  7. These are really wonderful photos. I do miss my running water so much. I grew up with a river in the backyard and I sooo miss it. Sounds like everyone had a wonderful weekend away from things.

    November 15, 2010 at 7:22 pm

    • Thanks Kzinti. I miss living on the water too. My ex and I had a place on the river real close to where I live now and I miss the water, but not the rough way of life. We had such bad roads to deal with there it made it difficult. I thoroughly enjoyed my day Saturday though. The weather was gorgeous and so was the scenery. I really did need the break I got.

      November 15, 2010 at 10:57 pm

  8. Very nice! Thanks for sharing. I didn’t take time to go out and look for fall color this year. We didn’t have very much right where we live. A day out with a girl friend is a treasure, indeed.

    November 15, 2010 at 8:28 pm

    • You are very welcome CbD. I’m glad you enjoyed it. I came close to missing it myself. This was a very spur of the moment thought Friday afternoon and I was truly lucky that every thing worked out perfectly. Alice and I don’t get to spend that much time together any more and we do have fun when we do get together.

      November 15, 2010 at 10:59 pm

  9. That sounds like an absolutely divine day. I’m so happy for you! 😀

    November 16, 2010 at 3:51 am

    • Thanks LOM. It really was!

      November 16, 2010 at 8:58 am

  10. I’d love to drive along some dirt tracks just hanging out with a friend and finishing off with a couple of drinks. Sounds like you all had areally nice weekend.

    November 16, 2010 at 9:10 pm

  11. Alright Aussie May, next time we’ll call you to come join us! We had a blast just giggling and laughing.

    November 17, 2010 at 7:43 am

  12. Yes, you made it! Thank you for sharing these wonderful last breeze of autumn with us.

    November 17, 2010 at 11:02 am

    • Well you are so welcome RW! I’m glad you enjoyed it!

      November 17, 2010 at 12:27 pm

  13. Beautiful pictures! I loved the one of the barn and the cows. And good for you for taking some time just for you.

    November 17, 2010 at 1:13 pm

    • Thanks monsoon. I’m glad you enjoyed them! I’m so happy you came by to see me!

      November 17, 2010 at 1:52 pm

  14. Emmy

    Oh, north Georgia. How gorgeous, we’ll have to get down that way sometime. In my limited time as a naturalist I was convinced that families who got outdoors were less likely to bicker, LOL, that’s probably what kept my family sane. I love that you guys found such a rustic activity.

    November 17, 2010 at 2:09 pm

    • Oh, it was so much fun. We laughed about the idea that we must be getting old to choose this particular activity for a “day out!” lol

      I think you are very right about the bickering thing too though because that was something Alice and I talked about. Her and I grew up right down the street from each other, in the city of Atlanta, however, back then there was tons of woods and we stayed outside all day. Not like the children of today who almost never seem to want to go outside. I think in my family of five children we would have killed each other if we had stayed cooped up in the house all day every day.

      November 17, 2010 at 4:11 pm

  15. So glad to hear you had such a wonderful weekend. The photos are so beautiful. I can’t believe how similar the landscape looks to the woods around here.

    November 17, 2010 at 10:41 pm

  16. LOVED the slideshow!!

    November 20, 2010 at 11:39 am

    • Thanks Lori! I’m so glad you enjoyed it!

      November 21, 2010 at 10:17 am

  17. The pictures are beautiful! Where I live the leaves are gone weeks ago, and it’s snowing. The leaves have very nice colors, I want to go to north Georgia!:)

    November 20, 2010 at 3:46 pm

    • It was a wonderful day riding through there! Thanks Alexandra. I’m so glad you enjoyed it.

      November 21, 2010 at 10:18 am

Leave a Reply

