People Are Who They Are!

It’s Official!

Court went smooth this morning. I officially have full custody of the girls today! Tomorrow is my birthday, so what a nice birthday present! I am so glad all of the legal wrangling is over with. Now we can just concentrate on being a family here.

The girls have really settled in nicely and I think they are honestly relaxed here. I’m so happy about that. Felicia has her fun up at Ms. Donna’s with all of the animals and Hailey has started guitar lessons since she loves music so much so they both have things to occupy them.

I feel really good about this whole thing now. It has been good for me as well as for them. I feel like I have so much more purpose in life again and I’m genuinely happy with them here. Thank you so much to all of you who have been so supportive throughout this ordeal.

26 responses

  1. Hooray! Wonderful news! 😀

    November 22, 2010 at 3:50 pm

  2. Emmy

    Oh my goodness I am SOOO happy for you and the girls! They are fortunate to have you. Huge congrats and Happy Birthday tomorrow. Hugs for everyone!

    November 22, 2010 at 3:51 pm

    • Thanks Emmy. Hugs to you too!

      November 22, 2010 at 3:58 pm

  3. Big big big congratulations and happy hugs to all three of you!!!

    This was a huge hurdle to get over!

    There will still be bumpy spots (this is “life”, after all) but together you can do anything!

    November 22, 2010 at 3:53 pm

    • Thanks Lauri, and yes, you are so right! I know there will be bumps. They are after all headed straight for their teens! Lord help me! lol But we’ll get through it. I’m just so happy to be over the legal hurdle!

      November 22, 2010 at 4:00 pm

  4. YAYAYAY!!!!!!!! Happy Birthday!

    November 22, 2010 at 4:29 pm

  5. Oh, Happy Day! Wishing you and the girls and blessed and bountiful life together.

    November 22, 2010 at 4:37 pm

    • Thanks TB! I really appreciate that.

      November 22, 2010 at 11:39 pm

  6. Freedom Smith

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!! I am so happy for all three of you. Did you have to go get the parents so they would be at court?

    Happy Birthday too!! What a nice birthday present for you 🙂 Your granddaughters are fortunate young ladies to have you as their mother and to be able to live in a peaceful and safe home, and fun!! Good for you. Wow, won’t the holidays be different. Do either of the parents have visitation?

    (hugs) I am so happy that the legal stuff is over with.
    😀

    November 22, 2010 at 4:49 pm

    • Thanks Freedom. Yes the holidays will definitely be different and I am definitely glad all the legal stuff is over with.

      As for visitation, I would never try to keep the kids away from their parents. That wasn’t the purpose of any of this. The girls needed a stable home but like I’ve told both of the parents, they need their mother and father both. I’m most definitely not a replacement for them, I am still the girls’ grand mother and I am only providing a stable environment for them to finish growing up in. I really want the parents to visit regularly, I just wanted the girls to feel secure too.

      Thanks for the Happy Birthday too Freedom, this really is a happy birthday for me.

      November 22, 2010 at 11:45 pm

  7. Oh YAAAAAY! *Grabs Ladywise and spins around in a happy dance* Happy Birthday!!

    November 22, 2010 at 5:04 pm

    • Thanks LOM *Ladywise says trying to steady herself from being dizzy*

      November 22, 2010 at 11:46 pm

  8. Happy birthday one day in advance, and I am glad things are more legally secure for you and the girls now.

    November 22, 2010 at 7:51 pm

  9. What great news for all of you!

    November 22, 2010 at 8:15 pm

    • Thanks Steve. Yes it is great news!

      November 22, 2010 at 11:47 pm

  10. Excellent news indeed. I think this will alleviate a lot of the fears the girls may have been having about not knowing where they would be living. Now they have a new place to call home. Congratulations and Happy Birthday as well!

    November 22, 2010 at 11:11 pm

  11. Thanks K and you make a great point because yes, they did have a lot of fears about that. They were both very happy today themselves! It is definitely a Happy Birthday for me! Thanks again.

    November 22, 2010 at 11:48 pm

  12. Congrats. That’s wonderful. Happy birthday, again! Wishing you a big ole mug of normalcy from now on.

    November 23, 2010 at 8:55 pm

    • Thanks Kim! Normalcy? I’m not sure I even know what that is! 🙂

      November 24, 2010 at 12:04 am

  13. good news! and happy birthday!

    November 23, 2010 at 11:24 pm

  14. That is really fantastic! Well done – all that perseverance paid off!

    November 24, 2010 at 7:48 pm

  15. Congrat’s Ladywise, I’m so happy for your and for your granddaughters!

    November 26, 2010 at 7:58 pm

Leave a Reply

