People Are Who They Are!

Virus

My computer has been sick. I got a bad virus on it last week and have fought with it since then. I have a free anti virus program on there and it just didn’t catch it I guess. I had to go to an older computer finally and reformat it to get it back and up and running to have something to use until I have the money to fix it. It’s very frustrating! I’m also very worried about that computer because it has about 20,000 pictures on it that I don’t want to loose. I know I’m going to get all the suggestions on how to fix it, but unless they are free, I can’t do anything except let it sit.

On the bright side, I may have a job. Yay! I talked to the district manager at the local dollar store last week for almost an hour. I just happened to catch him there when I was doing my American Greetings job. It was an impromptu discussion and I was able to tell him about all the retail experience I have along with the desperate need I have for a job now that I have the girls. He told me to call him back the Tuesday after Christmas and he would find something for me in a management position. That sounds pretty promising to me. I’m crossing my fingers. A management job would pay me what I need to make to live like a normal person again and allow me to begin the long and arduous process of getting out of the financial hole I’ve dug with friends and family. That one conversation has done wonders for my state of mind.

I hope things are going good for all of you. I know a lot of people are battling the weather today. I hope you are somewhere that you can stay safe and warm if you are.

8 responses

  1. I had the same thing happen with the free virus software last summer. What a pain!

    I do hope that job works out for you. I will have my fingers crossed that it does. My husband and I were in a similar situation this time last year so I completely understand how you feel.

    December 16, 2010 at 12:02 pm

  2. kerstin66

    I´m sorry to read this bad news.hope the best for good things.I have problems with my new GPS-I know this is no help for you, but I will say you bad things from here.

    December 16, 2010 at 12:48 pm

  3. Good luck with the new job prospect — that does sound really encouraging.

    Bummer about the virus — the last time that happened to me was the thing that drove me to Apple.

    December 16, 2010 at 12:58 pm

  4. I know I’m going to get all the suggestions on how to fix it, but unless they are free, I can’t do anything except let it sit.

    Why Deb, of course they are free. Totally free. I can walk you through this the best that I can, as I’ve been helping others with tech support for a little while now.

    I need to know what your anti-virus program is, first, so I have an idea what you are working with.

    Second, I suggest you run a Trend Micro Housecall scan:
    http://housecall.trendmicro.com/
    Yes, it is totally free, and totally safe. Please do a Full Scan with all options. Let me know if you need help with that.

    Please report back after you do that so I have an idea of what to do next. I have other resources but we need to narrow down what it is.

    December 16, 2010 at 1:10 pm

  5. Boo for the virus! Yay for the job!! Best of luck to you! I’ll be sending good vibes!

    December 16, 2010 at 4:23 pm

  6. Best of luck with the job!

    December 18, 2010 at 4:29 am

  7. OMGosh, you must be so excited about the opportunity. I really don’t think he would have said that if he didn’t mean it. It’s way too exact.

    I use AVG anti-virus software. It’s free and it seems to work really well. I’ve been using it for years and have never gotten a virus. I don’t know if you’re able to connect to the internet on the machine that has the virus, but if you can maybe you can download it and then run it. I’m pretty sure that it does a scan at the end of the first install. I did a quick search and found a link. I’m fairly sure it’s the genuine site, but you might want to take a closer look, just in case.

    Good luck!!

    December 18, 2010 at 2:25 pm

  8. I forgot to leave the link. AVG has a paid version too, but I’ve always used the free one and have had excellent results.

    http://free.avg.com/us-en/download-avg-anti-virus-free

    December 18, 2010 at 4:03 pm

Leave a Reply

