People Are Who They Are!

100 Strangers

Laid out in Lav is starting on a photography project called “100 Strangers.” I was curious about it and so I looked it up. This is what it says:

The challenge: Take 100 photographs of at least 100 people you don’t know. Approach a person or group of people and ask for permission to both take a photo of them and to post it to this group. Get to know your subjects. Who are they? What is their life like?

Try to tell a small story with each photo you take. This may be a story about the person or how you felt approaching that particular individual. You may have, for example, tried a new approach or used a new photographic technique. Try to learn something from every encounter you make.

I spent a couple of hours last night and another hour this morning going through the photographs that people have taken. It is absolutely wonderful! People are doing this project all over the world and some of the portraits are just awe inspiring. There are so many interesting looking people everywhere and the quality of some of the photographers work is just wonderful. I have really enjoyed just going through the photographs, not to mention learning a lot.

There are rules and recommendations for the project and they can be found here: 100 strangers rules and there are 1000’s of portraits already done that you can go through. Whether you are interested in doing the project or not, if you take pictures, you can learn something just by going through all the portraits. I am pondering the idea of doing the project just for the learning experience, not to mention that meeting 100 new people over the course of the next year or so would be a good thing to do.

7 responses

  1. 😀 Some of the portraits totally blow me away. SO inspiring, I know that I am going to learn SO much from this challenge

    January 12, 2011 at 12:43 pm

    • I’m so glad you are the first to comment on this. I was so curious after seeing your post and have literally spent hours since last night just going through the photos. I can’t wait to see your work on this. Send me a link please to your Flickr site so I can comment there for you too.

      January 12, 2011 at 12:59 pm

  2. Emmy

    We had a similar assignment in a high school photography class. Cool that they’re doing this around the world – approaching people was awkward at first but if I let them pose any way that they wanted to the spontenaity still came through. You’d enjoy it, I’m sure.

    January 12, 2011 at 7:36 pm

  3. I don’t think I’d be confident enough to approach people and ask if I could take their photo. I don’t like being told to f***k off! 🙂

    January 13, 2011 at 9:32 pm

  4. Wow! What an amazing idea. If I wouldn’t live in a country where people look at you like you should be locked up in the loony bin if you try to ask for the time… I might even consider the challenge. Even if it only was to push my own limits.

    January 14, 2011 at 6:36 am

  5. I first heard of the project from Lav, but I’m so glad you wrote about it too. The whole idea of the project is very, very exciting and inspiring. I really want to do this. I really want to have the courage to do it.

    January 16, 2011 at 12:40 pm

  6. What a great idea! I wish I was out and about more. I feel like I live in a little bubble of kids and diapers sometimes…

    January 26, 2011 at 4:20 pm

Leave a Reply

