People Are Who They Are!

It’s a “No Go”

I am so disappointed. I talked to this man two weeks before Christmas about this job. He told me to call him back the week after Christmas and I did. At that point, he was snowed in up in New York and told me to call him back the next week. I did and he was behind schedule after the bad weather and told me to call him back the next week. I did and he had been called out of town unexpectedly for a business meeting. He told me to call him back this week and I did and then he told me yesterday that he really didn’t have anything for me but he would keep my number. Are you kidding me?

I was so upset yesterday. I am so tired of being broke and struggling to get by, especially since I have these girls. I feel like I am just depriving them of so much. I was talking to my brother about it yesterday and he was very comforting. He said, “Just don’t worry about it sis, it wasn’t meant to be. Something will come about that will work out better for you. In the meantime, you have a home that’s paid for and it’s clean and warm and you have food on the table and two beautiful girls to keep you company. What more could you ask for!” Since when did my baby brother get so calm and comforting? I know he’s right but still, I need a job!

I do have my part time job and am getting a little help from the state but we barely scrape by every month and I still have to get help from my brother to get through. I was just really excited about the prospect of this job because it would have been decent money. I guess, like he said, it just wasn’t meant to be, but I’m still very disappointed.

14 responses

  1. Oh Lady! I’m so sorry that you seem to have been strung along! That’s so disappointing. I do hope that something way better comes along soon.

    January 27, 2011 at 12:56 pm

    • Thanks Emjay. I hope so too.

      January 27, 2011 at 1:27 pm

  2. I’m so sorry you were strung along like that. 😦 Maybe you could apply at a temp agency? They sometimes have temp to permanent jobs available. I bet you are just meant for something better and thats why this one didn’t work out.

    January 27, 2011 at 1:16 pm

    • I live in a super small town in backwoods Alabama. There are no temp agencies and very few job opportunities. That’s why this was so devastating. Hopefully something else will come along. Opportunities are few and far between here though.

      January 27, 2011 at 1:28 pm

  3. As your brother said (is this my favorite one? the hothead in the hospital?), it wasn’t meant to be. The thing that will come up will be much better, and you’ll be so glad you were free to grab it. Keep the faith!

    January 27, 2011 at 4:37 pm

    • yep, that would be the one Kim. lol

      January 27, 2011 at 11:07 pm

  4. Gosh, I hope your brother is right. I feel so bad for you, especially after they led you to believe that it was just a matter of time. How disappointing!

    I know better things are coming to you and the girls. Keep the faith, and don’t feel too bad if you have to ask others to help. I know you want to prove that you can do it by yourself, but in the meantime, take advantage of the time you have to spend with the girls. Maybe that is why you didn’t get the job. Perhaps God wants you to be home for them for a while longer.

    January 27, 2011 at 11:27 pm

  5. Dang, it sure does seem incredibly self important of him to have you keep calling him back like that.

    I’m so sorry. I know this is so disappointing. Take care. I know it’s hard to keep at it, but don’t give up hope.

    January 28, 2011 at 2:57 am

  6. Hmm this perosn sounds like someone you wouldn’t be a good boss…the right job will come your way…right now you have a big job of taking care of your grandchildren.

    You are doing the right thing and just keep on doing that and things will get better.

    January 28, 2011 at 2:59 am

  7. I totally understand your frustration! Especially when you are asked to call back so many times and it almost could seem like a done deal.
    Your brother is right. Who knows what it was good for. But I still will keep my fingers crossed for you that something will show up very very soon. I remember too well how it feels to barely make it through the month and wonder every time how you actually made it.

    January 31, 2011 at 3:36 pm

  8. I am so sorry to hear that you did not get the job. It is awful that he strung you along like that for so many weeks.

    I agree with Maureen, I do not think this would have been a good boss to work for. And I think your brother is also right, this job was not meant for you, the right thing will come along.

    January 31, 2011 at 6:42 pm

  9. This boss was not serious at all … Something was wrong with him … I’m sure you’ll find another opportunity. You are so brave. Keep hope ! and don’t stop your fight to achieve what you want. Have a nice day.

    February 2, 2011 at 5:56 am

  10. geocacherinkerstin

    sorry about this shit-but all will be better soon.Hugs

    February 2, 2011 at 3:59 pm

  11. I had a guy tell me to call him back later to set up an interview. When I did, he was completely confused and said he’d already hired someone. Some people. Sorry this guy jerked you around.

    February 6, 2011 at 10:32 pm

Leave a Reply

