People Are Who They Are!

Ups and Downs

Well, one week I post about how good things are going and the next week they are down. This is my down week I guess. I spent the entire week dealing with my son. I’ve talked a lot about my daughter and her problems but not much about my son. He is also a drug addict. He’s kind of up and down with his addictions. He will do real good for a while but then fall back into it. He just had a new baby (you saw pictures of him) and he went back into the pain pill addiction. Sunday morning he went into rehab. I’m happy he’s going but it’s been a hell of a ride to get him there. There is so much drama involved that I don’t even want to rehash it all. I can just breathe a sigh of relief today. I pray that one day I can have both of my children healed from their addictions. I am so exhausted from it all.

9 responses

  1. “I pray that one day I can have both of my children healed . . .” I do believe that is the only solution. God”s will be done in your children’s lives.

    The older I get, the more people I see addicted to something that makes them ‘feel good’ – chocolate being no exception. Addiction crosses all segments of our society – once thought of as only those of lesser income or intelligence – I see those with very responsible jobs, people in power (think sex addiction there) and those with stardom and great wealth. And of course, the homeless are still self-medicating.

    What makes individuals so unhappy? What drives them to the bottle, the coke line or the use prescription drugs. Sadly, kids so young are doing so much experimentation that we have to wonder what this generation will accomplish. Test scores in our country are way behind, juvenile crime is on the rise, as is their addiction.

    Then we have that glorious. hedonistic trip called “Spring Break.”
    Our nation is at risk. We all need to be in prayer for our country.

    March 21, 2011 at 12:42 pm

  2. I know that you’ve been in my thoughts. I will certainly keep your son in my prayers. I hope he finds that the happiness of having a new son can replace any good feeling that drugs may give him. I hope he finds his way through this. (((HUGS)))

    March 21, 2011 at 2:01 pm

  3. Lots of bumps and up and downs happen before smoother rides… that’s been my experience with addiction, anyways.

    My thoughts, prayers, meditations are still with you and your son.

    March 21, 2011 at 4:28 pm

  4. I will keep him and you in my prayers, too, LW. Growing up around alcoholics I can certainly understand your exhaustion.

    March 21, 2011 at 4:39 pm

  5. Fingers crossed that rehab can help him. Having the new baby is the best incentive in the world for him to work at it and get well. I hope it works out for him.

    March 22, 2011 at 4:48 am

  6. How are things going? I often think of you and the load that you are carrying…. best wishes

    April 9, 2011 at 7:15 pm

  7. Hello..I come from a generation where drugs were anything from ‘experimented with’ to hard addiction..I found, as with any other thing that is not placed well, (IE it is next to impossible to use recreational drugs in this society without hurting someone’..(even Michael Jackson’s Dr. has to suffer for the mother loving fourth estate and politicos). Anyhoo..the only thing..and it is tough because one must maintain their own..just to live..if they are helping they must be strong..so there it is..love..direction and patience..they know anything you may tell them about the effects of the substance..it is with the day to day where the love and support..sometimes answers are needed..Peace Tony

    April 12, 2011 at 10:42 am

  8. louiseinskottorp

    My thoughts to you and yours. The way out of the addiction is all in their own hands. I understand it must be hard for you as a mother.

    April 13, 2011 at 3:50 pm

  9. Was just thinking of you today, hoping that all is well. Please let us know how you are doing when you get a moment. (((HUGS)))

    April 27, 2011 at 6:27 pm

Leave a Reply

