People Are Who They Are!

Gone Baby Gone

Well, baby brother is gone. I cried when he left today. He brings so much life to the household and he’s such a good boy. He just really believes in family and reminds me of where I came from. I wish he could find a job locally and make the money he makes on the road. The girls responded so well to him too. I would have a much smoother running household if he was here all the time.

One thing I realized while he was here is how bad the girls need a father figure in their lives. The fact that there is no man in the picture really poses a problem with them. They don’t want to impress me or do things for me where they couldn’t do enough to impress Joey while he was here. Their mother left them a long time ago and they’ve lived with their dad for years. It’s a man that they need, a father. They are girls, that’s typical anyway, but in this case, it applies even more.

The house seems empty tonight even with the three of us here. I talk to him every night on the phone, but I’ll miss his presence until he rolls back in again.

10 responses

  1. Male role models are important for girls just as much as boys. Hopefully, in time your brother may be able to give more time to the family.

    May 22, 2011 at 1:01 am

    • I agree. The girls were like different people while he was here. I do wish he was here all the time but he could never make the money here that he makes on the road.

      May 23, 2011 at 10:53 am

  2. They probably don’t try to impress you because they know you are safe. Which might feel disappointing but is a good thing 😉

    May 22, 2011 at 7:14 am

    • Yes I think you are right. It is definitely frustrating though.

      May 23, 2011 at 10:54 am

  3. I’ve always wondered, what does a father figure provide for daughters that they need? From one who has always dealt with boys, as sbilings and as a parent.

    May 23, 2011 at 6:10 am

    • Girls automatically feel insecure and daddy’s provide that sense of safety and security.

      May 23, 2011 at 10:51 am

      • That may be part of it.

        It is difficult for me to put into words the bond that my daughter and I have.

        May 23, 2011 at 3:41 pm

  4. It’s always hard when family that visits leaves. I find that, too. My family is 3,000 miles away and I always shed a few tears during our departure. You never know what the future holds though. Maybe your brother will end up a bit closer in time.

    May 23, 2011 at 4:09 pm

  5. Oh I know this feeling. It’s so exciting when family come to stay and then sorrowful when they leave. I hope the next visit is not far away.

    May 24, 2011 at 9:52 pm

  6. Cherish that bro time—it’s a precious thing.

    May 24, 2011 at 10:46 pm

Leave a Reply

