People Are Who They Are!

He’s Baaack!

Baby brother slid back in again tonight. He had been sent to Kansas to work and then to Missouri, and then to Kentucky and then to D.C. and he told his boss this morning that he was done and was headed to the house. I’m so excited. He cruised in about 9:30 tonight and he was exhausted after a thirteen hour drive. I had him a good dinner cooked, some cold beer on ice and he stuffed his belly, made it through two Bud Light’s and he was out….like a light!

He is such a hard worker both on the job and when he gets here at home. He’s going to put new windows in the trailer while he’s here which will help my electric bill tremendously. This is an old trailer that we bought and only paid $2000 for. He has gradually over three years time put money into it and remodeled it. It’s actually really nice now. He doesn’t hand me money to pay my bills or anything, although he will help me if I get desperate, but we own this place together, so he considers it an investment to fix it up. There are still things that need to be done, but everything is paid for, so it’s worth waiting for the improvements. The really nice thing is that he works on this place for me to have and plans to build him a place on the other end of the property one day.

So I will have a busy week this week. He keeps everyone hopping while he’s here. Last time he was home he kept the girls working the whole three days he was here. They were exhausted when he left. I loved it because I have such a hard time getting them to do what I want them to do.

Felicia still is working on adjusting. Being the youngest there are just so many things she doesn’t understand. Hailey on the other hand see’s everything very clearly, she is 14 going on 40 after all. She and I get closer every day. They spent last week with their aunt (their dad’s sister) and I picked them up Sunday morning. I told them that we were going to go home and open up the sofa bed and lay around and watch movies all day that day because we were really going to get busy and do some deep cleaning the rest of the week. (I didn’t know Joey was coming home then either.) So that’s what we did and it was fun. They had cousins to play and interact with all week at their aunt’s house and of course got way off of the schedules and routines that I normally keep them on. They were genuinely happy to be back home though and this morning got right up and we stayed busy all day today. The entire house is cleaned and we got clothes cleaned out of their bedrooms and hauled to the Christian Thrift store this evening. Their rooms look like different rooms tonight and the house smells of Pine-sol. I’ll sleep well tonight. Speaking of which….I hope you all have sweet dreams.

4 responses

  1. How nice that he is back. It sounds like the girls enjoyed some time with their cousins too. I also love the smell of Pine-sol. I’m sure you will sleep very well tonight. ๐Ÿ™‚ Sweet dreams to you too!

    June 7, 2011 at 5:03 pm

  2. Yippee! I hope he can stay awhile. I don’t think I know what Pine-sol smells like……. but it sounds as though everything was sparkling clean and forest fresh!

    June 7, 2011 at 8:02 pm

  3. How lovely that you are all becoming such a tight family unit. Nice too that you get some adult company when your brother comes. Best wished.

    June 9, 2011 at 9:30 pm

  4. Belated spring cleaning? ๐Ÿ˜› I love those times when you really can see a difference and things actually look super good.

    June 13, 2011 at 2:47 pm

Leave a Reply

