People Are Who They Are!

Chewing My Nails

My baby brother is having surgery in the morning to repair a hernia he’s had for probably fifteen years. He’s known for a long time that he needed to get it fixed and then Tuesday while he was working he pulled something else in there and it scared him. I feel terrible for him because he’s gone back to Florida and he’s going to be in a hotel room and by himself afterwards.

I’ve been on the phone with him off and on all day and he’s been so brave. He went to the grocery store and got food and drinks and stuff so that he won’t have to leave the room for two or three days. He has a taxi lined up to pick him up in the morning and take him to the hospital and someone from the office that he works for is going to take him from the hospital to the room when he’s done. I’m so upset that I can’t just pick up and go down there and be with him. He acted like it wasn’t a big deal all day today but tonight he admitted that he was nervous about it. He has never had any kind of surgery or anything so he really doesn’t have any idea of what to expect.

The doctor talked to him like it wasn’t a big deal because they aren’t slicing him completely open and they do these procedures all day every day. They are still going to put him under anesthesia and then send him home (to a hotel) shortly afterwards.  It is a big deal and I’m upset. I’m going to be chewing my nails all day tomorrow and of all days I have to work. I’ll let you know how it goes.

5 responses

  1. Sorry I haven’t kept up much in touch, Deb… the move STILL is not completely finished, and my resolve is beginning to crack.

    June 17, 2011 at 2:57 am

    • That’s quite alright jak. I haven’t been on as much as I usually am either. I totally understand being busy! lol

      June 17, 2011 at 10:21 pm

  2. My Dad had hernia surgery over 10 years ago. He had key hole surgery, stayed overnight in hospital, went home and worked in his garden! Best wishes to your brother.

    June 17, 2011 at 10:00 pm

    • That’s great FD! My brother has never had any kind of surgery and this is a wide hernia the doctor said. The worst part about it is he’s down in Florida in a hotel room alone. That’s not cool after any kind of surgery. Just makes me nervous.

      June 17, 2011 at 10:23 pm

  3. Hi Debra, I know I’m about a week late in responding but I hope all went well with your brother. I can imagine how hard it must have been for you being so far away.

    June 24, 2011 at 9:38 am

Leave a Reply

