People Are Who They Are!

He Did It!

Well, my brother called me this afternoon and the first thing he said was, “I did it!” The doctor said that he had one real wide hernia and another smaller one. He did fine through the surgery but said he was extremely sore. That’s to be expected. The thing that worried me more than anything is that he’s in Florida, five hundred or so miles away and he’s alone in a hotel room tonight. He prepared himself for it, but still, I wouldn’t want to come home alone after any kind of surgery. I guess he’s been sleeping all evening because I haven’t heard anything else back from him since he got home today. That’s the hard part, not knowing anything…

9 responses

  1. When I had my gallbladder removed several years ago, they wouldn’t let me go home alone. I had to have someone who would stay with me all night. I was already married, so that worked out.

    June 18, 2011 at 12:39 pm

    • Well, they wouldn’t let him leave alone or take a taxi. One of his bosses picked him up and took him to get his prescriptions and then took him to the hotel. When he starts feeling better, he’s in a room on the beach in Daytona, so it isn’t quite as bad as it sounds! lol

      June 19, 2011 at 3:28 pm

      • That makes a LOT more sense… after my surgery, my father picked me up. Was a chore just trying to get into the vehicle. Then there was the walker and the wheelchair for a few weeks, and no driving ’til the serious painkillers were done.

        *sigh* As if I wanted to remember all that, but I am still glad I made the decision to have those vertebrae fused, even on days I still hurt.

        June 20, 2011 at 4:04 am

  2. I’m glad everything’s done and went well! He will probably be sleeping off the effects of the anesthetic for a couple of days, but he’ll be fine!

    June 19, 2011 at 5:23 am

    • Thanks Lauri. He’s happy he got it done and won’t have to deal with the hernia anymore. He’s a big strong healthy man otherwise so having that one thing hurting all the time or stopping him from doing stuff really bothered him.

      June 19, 2011 at 3:30 pm

  3. Good that he has done it now. Nothing to joke with and wait too long. Never know the consequences of postponing a surgery.
    I hope he’ll feel better soon!

    June 21, 2011 at 7:26 am

  4. So glad to hear it’s over. I know you were very worried.

    June 24, 2011 at 10:07 am

  5. That is wonderful that all has gone well. Too many men, especially single men, neglect their health, so it is terrific that he is caring for himself… and you!

    June 25, 2011 at 2:40 am

  6. I am glad that everything went ok – by now he’s probably enjoying that beach! My son had a double hernia operation (he had one each side) a couple of years ago – it took him a while to get it done because I think he thought is was just going to “go away” …… Eventually one popped out and he couldn’t push it back in (as he used to do) and so there was no choice but surgery. Men! 🙂

    July 3, 2011 at 7:44 am

Leave a Reply

