People Are Who They Are!

I Might Have a Job!

All of you know I have been in a financial mess for quite a while. I work part time for American Greetings, merchandising cards now, but I am lucky if I get forty hours a month. Over the past month, I’ve gotten forty seven hours. Whooo hooo! At eight dollars an hour, that doesn’t go very far. I merchandise cards in seven different Dollar General stores and I am always talking to the managers trying to get hired. I could probably have gotten hired as a seven dollar an hour cashier a long time ago, but I would have been stuck in that position because most of the managers do not understand the significance of training someone that would eventually qualify as a store manager. They see those people as threats to their own jobs.

One of the newer managers in the store closest to my house came from Walmart and has a totally different perspective than most of the other managers. He has talked to me at great length about my past experience and highly recommended me to the district manager who currently has two stores with openings for a store manager. I finally got “the call” last Friday and was invited for an interview this morning. The district manager liked me and said that he would recommend me for the position of store manager. I begin the “hiring process” in the morning. Now this is where it gets sticky. lol

The first thing that you have to do is pass the mental aptitude test. I have failed this test before, apparently because I over assessed it, according to blogs I have read this morning. From everything I’ve read so far, it’s an easier test to fail than it is to pass. Thanks! I’m just going to take it and hope for the best.

If I get this job, it will be close to home (which is a big deal out here where I live), it will be good money (for out here where I live), it will whip me back in to shape physically real quick (something I need desperately), and it will get me back on track mentally (something I need more than desperately).

Please cross your fingers and toes and anything else you can find that can be crossed for me. I’m praying and holding my breath at the same time…can that be done? lol

8 responses

  1. Rooting for you! Good luck! 🙂

    July 5, 2011 at 2:44 pm

  2. Praying, crossing, holding….I’m doing it all!

    July 5, 2011 at 5:33 pm

  3. Good luck!

    July 5, 2011 at 6:27 pm

  4. Best of luck!

    July 5, 2011 at 7:01 pm

  5. Good luck!

    July 5, 2011 at 10:02 pm

  6. Oh that’s very much possibly. But don’t hold you breath for too long. Take a deep one inbetween otherwise you might turn blue 😉
    Keeping my fingers crossed for you and that things will work out!

    July 6, 2011 at 10:35 am

  7. Emmy

    Ooh, congratulations! I’m sending out good vibes your way (I’ll have our cats do so as well – they’re extra good luck)! I’m surprised they make you take such a test, I lead trail walks with the public and sometimes work with kids, and even we did not have to do that!

    July 7, 2011 at 1:35 pm

  8. I never liked any sort of psychological tests employers used, for about the same reasons.

    Looking back, it seemed like more of an exercise of me figuring out what to tell them what they wanted to hear.

    July 7, 2011 at 7:04 pm

Leave a Reply

