People Are Who They Are!

Officially Employed!

I was officially offered a job as a store manager on Friday. I am so excited I am beside myself! It is a lot of responsibility to run one of these stores but I know I can do it. I’ve got the experience and the knowledge and I definitely have the drive. The money is really good and I’ll get benefits. I went to the store I am getting on Saturday and it is a fairly new store. It’s really nice and it’s only about thirty minutes from the house.

I am a bit nervous about how out of shape I am. It’s been more than three years since I worked full time so my body is really going to scream at me for a while. I’ll survive it though. I told the District Manager that hired me that I had heard that there was a minimum requirement of fifty hours a week and his response was, “You are a salaried employee and your requirement is to make that store run smooth. I have managers that run a great store working forty hours and managers that work seventy hours and still have problems. How many hours you work a week will depend on you.” I loved that!

When I went to the store on Saturday, I didn’t tell anyone who I was, I just shopped and studied it while I was there. It is way behind. There were a lot of areas empty and unfinished projects all over the store. I could tell that I am going to have my work cut out for me for a while. However, I know that the company spends a lot of time and money figuring out the best ways to do things and if you follow the guidelines that they lay out for everyone, you can have a nice store without killing yourself to do it. So, I will have to work really hard in the beginning to get it caught up and learn the Company ways, and then it should go smooth. I am definitely going to keep positive thoughts about it.

So, if you don’t hear from me much, you’ll know I’m really busy for a while, but also know that I am happy and feeling human again. It will be so nice to be able to pay my bills on time without borrowing money, start paying people back that have helped me and be in a position to actually help someone else along the way!

10 responses

  1. [this is good]

    July 11, 2011 at 2:47 pm

    • Thanks Steve! I miss seeing those [this is good] replies.

      July 11, 2011 at 10:19 pm

  2. After you whip that store into shape, move here and do the same to the local store!

    And that answer – basically that your hours depend on you and on how good of a manager you are – was a good one.

    July 11, 2011 at 5:13 pm

    • I know, right. I thought it was great. I felt very comfortable talking to him which is a great feeling to have about your boss, and he really is a sharp guy. Is yours a Dollar General and is it new and just a mess or an older store? The new ones are really nice.

      July 11, 2011 at 10:23 pm

      • It’s a Dollar General. I think their biggest problem is that it’s a small store and they try to cram too much stuff into it. It’s not really messy, just cluttered.

        July 12, 2011 at 4:43 pm

  3. I think you’ll be a great manager– it seems you’ve already sized up what needs to be done and you want to do it by the book.

    July 12, 2011 at 12:44 am

    • Thanks Jak! I appreciate that. I need all the encouragement I can get at this point. I’m excited and nervous at the same time after being out of work for so long.

      July 13, 2011 at 11:21 am

  4. This is great! Sounds like you’ll straighten those folks out in no time. 🙂 Good luck!

    July 12, 2011 at 11:07 pm

  5. Thanks Scott. I’m so excited to be employed again. I’m hoping that everything goes really smooth.

    July 13, 2011 at 11:22 am

  6. Boy am I glad to hear that you might not have to do your 70 hours.
    Am keeping my fingers crossed that with efficient working (which I am sure you are very capable of 😉 )you will be able to have a 40 hour week.

    July 21, 2011 at 10:02 am

Leave a Reply

